what our clients say about Deb Boswell

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Deb

April 28 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Kelly R.'s dog

The information and first training session with Deb was very informative and helpful. We are working hard at using all the great advice and training techniques that she taught us and beginning to see results within the first week. We are excited to see how much this is improving our relationship with our sweet puppy as well!!

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you for taking the time to review your first week of training. I'm glad you feel the relationship has been enhanced as well! Looking forward to our second lesson!

Kelly R.
West Des Moines, Iowa

April 19 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of Kristel S.'s dog

My husband and I were very satisfied with our first training session. We noticed behavior changes during the first session and continue to notice changes just two days after... We look forward to seeing continued progress and working closely with Deb!

Trainer note from Deb:
I am so glad that Maci is doing well! She's a smart dog and is going to be calmer and happier in her world.

Kristel S.
Ankeny, Iowa

April 8 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of Dane W.'s dog

We adopted Sophie, who is a 2 year old Shepard/husky mix about 5 months prior to using Bark Busters. Sophie had been abused and had been adopted and taken back multiple times. She was sweet to us but had aggression issues to every other person and animal that came upon her. She also had bad separation anxiety. Everyone who met Sophie would tell us to take her back as she was "unfixable"

We had complete confidence Sophie could be a great dog however we didn't know how to bring it out of her. That is when we found Deb

After our first session, we could see a tremendous improvement. She listened and became a happier dog overall as Deb taught us how to be the leader of the pack. That allowed Sophie to relax and not be stressed when outsiders would come around.

We are very happy with the service and are glad that Sophie has found her forever home with us. I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone who needs any help with their dog.

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you for your kind words. It is dogs like Sophie that make me love what I do. She is a great dog and you have both done awesome in helping her be okay in her world!

Dane W.
Urbandale, Iowa

March 3 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management
Photo of Jessa S.'s dog

When we contacted Bark Busters we were at our breaking point with our 1 year old Bernese Mountain Dog, Kato. He had dragged me across the yard in the snow, and we were constantly scolding him for his obnoxious behavior. At times we could honestly say we didn't like him, and that made me feel terrible. At the first session I was amazed at how responsive Kato was to the training. Deb pointed out things we were doing that were encouraging Kato's behavior. The solutions to some of the behavior problems seemed so simple, but they work. Kato still has a lot of puppy in him, so training is definitely a work in progress, but his behavior is a night and day difference from a couple months ago.

Trainer note from Deb:
I am so pleased that you are now able to ENJOY Kato and that he is becoming the dog you wanted.

Jessa S.
Clive, Iowa

February 22 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

Deb did a nice job of explaining the bark buster philosophy and why it works so well. We have been very pleased with Maizy's response to the training. She is much more loving and responsive to my husband since we've followed Deb's suggestions.

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you for you kind words! That Maizy stopped biting your family after our first lesson makes me happy for you all! You've done a great job with her!

Joanne R.
Newton, Iowa

February 3 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Judy J.'s dog

Deb is an excellent trainer and Bark Busters a great training method. In less than a month we have seen significant improvement in Willie's behaviors and in ours too. We have 3 other dogs, 2 being seniors, and they love that he is no longer constantly biting and snapping at their ears and tails. I have done lots of different training over the years and can honestly say that I am very impressed with Bark Busters methods. Deb is wonderful to work with! I highly recommend Deb and Bark Busters!

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you for your kind words. I commend you for working with Willie and teaching him boundaries while still a puppy. He's going to be a great dog!

Judy J.
Clive, Iowa

January 11 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Melissa H.'s dog

I have a soft coated wheaten terrier puppy that is about 7 months old now. As many know, she is a hyper breed with lots of energy to burn! She loves to greet people by jumping up on them and licking them to death! Deb was great with, Mia. Once we started working with her it was easy to see that this was going to work! The very day that Deb came we saw great improvements in her jumping and lunging out the door to greet whatever awaits. At a recent holiday visit my dad even commented that Mia's jumping has greatly improved!! I love my puppy and want her to be well mannered! Deb is helping me achieve that goal!

Trainer note from Deb:
Oh, that is great! Thank you for your kind words - I am glad that you are continuing to see positive improvements. Mia IS going to be the well-mannered dog you want!

Melissa H.
des Moines, Iowa

January 8 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Training with Debra Boswell had made life easier with Thor. He was totally out of control and with puppy classes and obedience 101 at various locations within the city, it just wasn't working. At 10 months, Thor is happier and so are we. Deb teaches "us" how to make the verbal commands and corrections and it works, like she told us, we started out with a dog that ran our lives, he was just one big juvenile delinquent. We are getting there, the investment made, was money well spent. Thank you Deb!

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you so much for your kind words! I give both of you much credit for working with Thor - you've done an awesome job.

Steven B.
Urbandale, Iowa

January 2 2016

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other

Our trainer spent a lot of time training us during the first lesson before working with our dog. There was marked improvement before she even left the house. Our dog came to us with a few bad habits and oftentimes we had only reinforced that unwanted behavior. He had already learned sit, stay, etc. using treats but that didn't stop the unnecessary barking. Most of what other trainers taught us were not working and they were so arrogant about insisting their methods would work.

Trainer note from Deb:
I am so glad that you are seeing results so soon - it makes me happy for you!

Joyce T.
Des Moines, Iowa

December 17 2015

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Sarah C.'s dog

Deb was great! She had a ton of information for me, was very patient with myself and Rupert, and gave me a lot of great tools for the road ahead. I feel like we have already taken several steps in the right direction....and we just started today! Because of Deb and her techniques, I feel that Rupert's full potential will be recognized through training. Now we can show everyone that there's a good dog under the mischievous outside!

Trainer note from Deb:
Thank you, Sarah! Rupert is a smart boy and so worth the time and effort you put into the training!

Sarah C.
Prairie City, Iowa

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Ackworth, Adel, Alleman, Altoona, Ames, Anita, Ankeny, Bevington, Bondurant, Booneville, Cambridge, Carlisle, Clive, Colfax, Cumming, Dallas Center, De Soto, Des Moines, Dexter, Earlham, Granger, Grimes, Hartford, Huxley, Indianola, Johnston, Kelley, Knoxville, Linden, Madrid, Martensdale, Milo, Mitchellville, Nevada, Newton, Norwalk, Otley, Panora, Patterson, Pella, Pleasant Hill, Pleasantville, Polk City, Prairie City, Prole, Runnells, Saint Charles, Saint Marys, Sheldahl, Slater, Swan, Urbandale, Van Meter, Waukee, West Des Moines, Windsor Heights, Winterset, Woodward

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC