what our clients say about Deb Boswell

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Deb

December 5 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Cloee improved a lot after the very first visit. She knew what we meant and did much better. We still have work to do but with Deb's help and instruction we hope to turn Cloee into a wonderful, happy and obedient companion.


Ellen E.
Urbandale, Iowa

November 11 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of Todd B.'s dog

Training was great! 20 minutes working with Ajax and he was walking on a leash without pulling. Deb's training was amazing. You have to keep practicing with your dog all the time and like all good dog training we are really being trained to communicate with our dog. I would recommend and have recommended this training to others. Bark Busters is awesome.


Todd B.
Des Moines, Iowa

November 5 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Today was a very enlightening & hopeful day. Following 2 hours of informational instruction regarding canines, we worked with my dog. In 50 minutes he was responding extremely well to everything Debra 'trained' me, as the leader, to do. It was quite obvious that success is up to me. Consistency & practice are the key factors.

Debra is a wealth of knowledge. Her ability to prep an owner, prior to involving the pet, is amazing. She started me off with the comfort level needed & results were a dog so willing to please.

I am looking forward to creating a sound pattern of behavior & happier existence within our home for canine & humans.

THANK YOU DEBRA!!!


Cindy P.
Urbandale, Iowa

October 6 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Debra was wonderful! She helped me understand just how simple dogs can be as I over thought their list of emotions. Bark Busters is a great home training. Deb was very willing to repeatedly show me techniques until I completely understood them. I greatly enjoyed her company and patience with my pups.


Carla Z.
Windsor Heights, Iowa

August 22 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Other

We are very pleased to see improvement in both our dogs already in regards to barking inside and outside, jumping on people, sitting and staying. They respond to the "BAH" command quite quickly and stop the negative behavior. We will work on these habits exclusively for at least a week and then add teaching them to go down the stairs and to ride in the car without howling.

Trainer note from Deb:
This testimonial came in the day after the initial training lesson! The number one issue with these cuties was BARKING so we tackled that first! As adult dogs they can go up the stairs but have always had mom and dad "airlift" them down the stairs… We'll be taking baby steps with teaching them that they CAN do the stairs on their own.

Janice and David P.
Des Moines, Iowa

August 6 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

Debra Boswell came by and she did a great job. I

learned a lot about my dog and why he acts the way he does and how to

correct it. I am noticing changes already, and exactly like she described.

We have done the training now for two days, and it is going well. I emailed

her tonight with a question, and she got right back to me. I had one dog

trainer before, and I was not satisfied. I have had a great experience with

Debra and Bark Busters so far. - Heidi Kroner


Heidi K.
johnston, Iowa

July 20 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Pam P.'s dog

Deb is absolutely amazing. There was so much that we had been doing wrong -- really, letting Max train us in many ways. She was funny, and kind, and gently showed me ways to redirect my behavior to improve Max's. And within an hour he was already standing back from a wide-open front door! And stopped barking at people walking past on the sidewalk!

It's an amazing program -- it takes work, and practice, and I'm still making mistakes -- but in time I know this will really improve my relationship with Max, and will make him a happier, less stressed dog.


Pam P.
Des Moines, Iowa

June 16 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Working with Deborah has really helped us to understand how to train our dog. The first day we made a list of the numerous issues we were having with Bogey and she took the time to review and address each one of them, and help us more on the ones we found we were struggling with the most. She took a lot of time to consider what we wanted and needed to get out of the training and Bogey has responded very well. We have received a number of comments from friends and family members (and even a plumber on a return visit!) on how much calmer and better behaved Bogey is since we began the training. We still have some work to do but so far the training has helped tremendously!


Katie C.
Des Moines, Iowa

June 16 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I was very pleased with first session....my dogs are 5 & 4...the older one has a little attitude and definitely struggles more with the training. They do know when I use the vocal command that they need to do something. We still have a ways to go...especially with getting to door.


Barb J.
Waukee, Iowa

April 27 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We would definitely recommend Bark Busters and Deb! We adopted BJ from a shelter, not knowing all the issues we would be dealing with. We chose Bark Busters because they would come to our home to do the training. We knew BJ would not do well in a group dog training class because of his extreme fear of people and other dogs. After our first session with Deb, we noticed a big improvement in his behavior, it has continued with the lessons Deb gave us to work on with him. We are confident the improvements will continue and we will have a very happy little dog.

Trainer note from Deb:
It has been heartwarming to see the change in BJ! His owners have done a wonderful job in giving him the security he deserves by being strong, loving pack leaders!

Janna C.
Des Moines, Iowa

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Ackworth, Adel, Alleman, Altoona, Ames, Anita, Ankeny, Bevington, Bondurant, Booneville, Cambridge, Carlisle, Clive, Colfax, Cumming, Dallas Center, De Soto, Des Moines, Dexter, Earlham, Granger, Grimes, Hartford, Huxley, Indianola, Johnston, Kelley, Knoxville, Linden, Madrid, Martensdale, Milo, Mitchellville, Nevada, Newton, Norwalk, Otley, Panora, Patterson, Pella, Pleasant Hill, Pleasantville, Polk City, Prairie City, Prole, Runnells, Saint Charles, Saint Marys, Sheldahl, Slater, Swan, Urbandale, Van Meter, Waukee, West Des Moines, Windsor Heights, Winterset, Woodward

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC