what our clients say about Deb Boswell

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Deb

October 6 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Debra was wonderful! She helped me understand just how simple dogs can be as I over thought their list of emotions. Bark Busters is a great home training. Deb was very willing to repeatedly show me techniques until I completely understood them. I greatly enjoyed her company and patience with my pups.


Carla Z.
Windsor Heights, Iowa

September 25 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We are so impressed with Debra and the methods she's taught us. Our 3 year old Border Collie mix was barking wildly at the doorbell and dogs passing by as well as jumping on guests, among other annoying behaviors. He would bark and jump up on guests even after they were in the house and generally make a nuisance of himself. After Deb's first visit I noticed an immediate difference in Georgie--he was calmer and quieter. After employing her techniques for just two days we had 40 people over at our house and I couldn't believe the difference in him. I needed to correct him at times, of course, but he was calm and quiet during the party. Guests commented on his good behavior. Despite having a misbehaving dog, I'm actually no stranger to dog training. I've been through classes and read about training techniques, but Deb was able to pull it all together for me and offer me clear direction on what to do and when. The methods she teaches are actually extremely workable for a busy family with kids. I don't have to have treats in my pocket at all times to get my dog's attention! I love that I can email Deb whenever I have a question about the training techniques I'm using, and she helps me get it right. I'm so pleased with the results I'm getting so far, it's very motivating for me to continue working with my dog to improve his behavior even more.


Caroline H.
West Des Moines, Iowa

August 22 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Other

We are very pleased to see improvement in both our dogs already in regards to barking inside and outside, jumping on people, sitting and staying. They respond to the "BAH" command quite quickly and stop the negative behavior. We will work on these habits exclusively for at least a week and then add teaching them to go down the stairs and to ride in the car without howling.

Trainer note from Deb:
This testimonial came in the day after the initial training lesson! The number one issue with these cuties was BARKING so we tackled that first! As adult dogs they can go up the stairs but have always had mom and dad "airlift" them down the stairs… We'll be taking baby steps with teaching them that they CAN do the stairs on their own.

Janice and David P.
Des Moines, Iowa

August 6 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

Debra Boswell came by and she did a great job. I

learned a lot about my dog and why he acts the way he does and how to

correct it. I am noticing changes already, and exactly like she described.

We have done the training now for two days, and it is going well. I emailed

her tonight with a question, and she got right back to me. I had one dog

trainer before, and I was not satisfied. I have had a great experience with

Debra and Bark Busters so far. - Heidi Kroner


Heidi K.
johnston, Iowa

July 20 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Pam P.'s dog

Deb is absolutely amazing. There was so much that we had been doing wrong -- really, letting Max train us in many ways. She was funny, and kind, and gently showed me ways to redirect my behavior to improve Max's. And within an hour he was already standing back from a wide-open front door! And stopped barking at people walking past on the sidewalk!

It's an amazing program -- it takes work, and practice, and I'm still making mistakes -- but in time I know this will really improve my relationship with Max, and will make him a happier, less stressed dog.


Pam P.
Des Moines, Iowa

June 16 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Working with Deborah has really helped us to understand how to train our dog. The first day we made a list of the numerous issues we were having with Bogey and she took the time to review and address each one of them, and help us more on the ones we found we were struggling with the most. She took a lot of time to consider what we wanted and needed to get out of the training and Bogey has responded very well. We have received a number of comments from friends and family members (and even a plumber on a return visit!) on how much calmer and better behaved Bogey is since we began the training. We still have some work to do but so far the training has helped tremendously!


Katie C.
Des Moines, Iowa

June 16 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I was very pleased with first session....my dogs are 5 & 4...the older one has a little attitude and definitely struggles more with the training. They do know when I use the vocal command that they need to do something. We still have a ways to go...especially with getting to door.


Barb J.
Waukee, Iowa

April 27 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We would definitely recommend Bark Busters and Deb! We adopted BJ from a shelter, not knowing all the issues we would be dealing with. We chose Bark Busters because they would come to our home to do the training. We knew BJ would not do well in a group dog training class because of his extreme fear of people and other dogs. After our first session with Deb, we noticed a big improvement in his behavior, it has continued with the lessons Deb gave us to work on with him. We are confident the improvements will continue and we will have a very happy little dog.

Trainer note from Deb:
It has been heartwarming to see the change in BJ! His owners have done a wonderful job in giving him the security he deserves by being strong, loving pack leaders!

Janna C.
Des Moines, Iowa

April 23 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

I'm so glad we called Bark Busters! Our dog has had number of issues (not his fault) due to family circumstances, including anxiety, jumping up, barking, and some aggression. We wanted to do everything we could to help him. Deb really gave us something to think about after that first meeting and that really put things into perspective for us. Learning to think like a dog has really helped us to understand what our dog is going through. After a year of support from Deb I'm happy to say that things have improved so much. She helped us work on barking, jumping up, not pulling on walks, doorbell manners, and some aggressive situations. We are so grateful for her help! We realize we are not perfect and neither is our dog but we have valuable tools we can use going forward. And, I really appreciate that the methods are not aggressive or harmful to the dog. The lifetime support is a great value and we are glad to know our trainer is only a phone call or email away. Thanks again for everything!


Robbyn I.
Ankeny, Iowa

April 16 2014

Deb Boswell dealt with: Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Julie S.'s dog

Deb did an excellent job with our dog. She was experiencing separation anxiety. I spent a lot of time on Google trying to figure out how to help Maya, to no avail. Deb came in, explained ways of helping Maya cope with the separation, thunderstorms, etc. We are still working on a few issues, but she is a changed dog and will only get better with more training with Deb.


Julie S.
Ankeny, Iowa

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Ackworth, Adel, Alleman, Altoona, Ames, Anita, Ankeny, Bevington, Bondurant, Booneville, Cambridge, Carlisle, Clive, Colfax, Cumming, Dallas Center, De Soto, Des Moines, Dexter, Earlham, Granger, Grimes, Hartford, Huxley, Indianola, Johnston, Kelley, Knoxville, Linden, Madrid, Martensdale, Milo, Mitchellville, Nevada, Newton, Norwalk, Otley, Panora, Patterson, Pella, Pleasant Hill, Pleasantville, Polk City, Prairie City, Prole, Runnells, Saint Charles, Saint Marys, Sheldahl, Slater, Swan, Urbandale, Van Meter, Waukee, West Des Moines, Windsor Heights, Winterset, Woodward

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC