what our clients say about James & Michelle Rodriguez

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about James & Michelle

March 10 2016

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of Robin A.'s dog

James is amazing! From the moment he stepped through our door, his presence exuded calmness and confidence. James thoroughly explained the methods, tools and techniques to help us create that same sense of calm in our home.

Our 6lb Chihuahua, Rey, was exhibiting extreme aggression and had bitten both of us multiple times. James gave us greater insight into why Rey was so aggressive. In a word; Fear. The tools that James taught us how to use, have proven to be very effective. Rey is guarding less, and is much calmer, and far less aggressive.

Our big boy, Little Man, is a nervous and anxious guy who was demanding and super hyper. Now, Little Man has stopped his barking for attention, and is a calm and quite guy in the house.

We are so grateful for James and Michele. Without Bark Busters, we would have been forced to make a very difficult decision. Now, we are a very happy family, with calm, well-behaved dogs.

Thanks for giving us the knowledge to be better pet owners!

Robin & Iza


Robin A.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

February 29 2016

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Toileting Other
Photo of Patricia N.'s dog

My boyfriend and I had had enough of our dogs running our lives. After the first session I saw the light at the end of the tunnel! James is very knowledgeable and great at explaining the reasoning behind their behaviors. We still have a lot more practice to do with Brady but we are definitely on our way! I work in the veterinary industry and now recommend Bark Buster's to anyone having any issues with their dog's behavior, big or small.


Patricia N.
Hanahan, South Carolina

January 27 2016

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Michele L.'s dog

I have a four year-old rescued Staffie, Mona. Mona is a beautiful, loving, very smart dog, but she has two problems: she has a very strong prey drive, and she enjoyed dragging me along on her leash. After a lot of research and consulting with my vet, I called Bark Busters. James came to my house for our first lesson. I realized that he was training me to train HER. After my lesson, Mona and I had a little homework - a few exercises that took less than 10 minutes a day. When we had those down pat, our second lesson involved teaching me how to walk with her and deal with any issues that arose. I'm going to paste an email that I wrote to James last week:

"Good morning!I had to report that during our morning walk, Mona and I hit the absolute sweet spot for a little while. It was right after a dog crossed our path, and all she did was whimper a little bit and keep walking. Then for a good minute or so, we were walking in perfect harmony - I didn't even feel the leash in my hand! I didn't have to look at her; she was in the perfect spot and our walking was perfectly coordinated. Even when we saw Smokey the cul-de-sac cat (the killing of whom is Mona's primary mission in life), again, all she did was whimper and keep walking. It was great!! I thought you'd like to know. Thanks! Michele"


Michele L.
Charleston, South Carolina

November 23 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Other
Photo of Andrea C.'s dog

I called James at my wits end. I was seriously considering giving back my 80 lb, 8 month old Bernedoodle, River. I had come to regret getting another dog, well puppy that is. River and I had not learned to communicate with each other. He decided that biting me was the best way to get my attention. Biting me to go out, biting me to eat, biting me for attention. He also was quite the destructive mutt. I had to put him in day camp 6 days a week and the few hours I had him at home were miserable. I knew all dogs are innately good dogs, so how do I become his leader and gain his respect? This I could not figure out. As a last ditch effort, I called James. I immediately signed up for a year because I knew there would be several training sessions. Well after just ONE session, my bad, destructive, biting puppy, became an angel. No kidding. A complete angel. James has literally turned my bad pup into a great dog. I now no longer need to take him to day camp, he is not destructive, he does not bite me, he comes when called, he does not try to trip me down the stairs.... And the list goes on and on. I was able to put out all of my pillows, rugs and valuables that I had put away for safe keeping and River doesn't even notice them. I can't believe the change in just one training session. I am so grateful for James. He has worked miracles on a dog that I didn't think would respond. Thank you!


Andrea C.
Johns Island, South Carolina

October 21 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

This is the 'training fit' that I have been looking for. I have tried other training, both individual lessons and group classes. They helped to a degree, but this program, and James' direction finally made things click. It's a program that is 'client friendly'. I didn't feel overwhelmed. James explained it all so well, and I knew I had finally found the program that I could work with. My dogs, ages two and three, both are good students and they are happier girls because of our work with Bark Busters. James is such a super teacher. He makes the training fun, and we look forward to his visits. If a problem behavior comes up he is only a phone call away, and always responds quickly and calmly. I can't give Bark Busters, and James teaching a high enough rating. I would not hesitate to recommend Bark Busters to anyone regardless of any previous training they might have tried. If you are about to give up, DON'T. Call Bark Busters!


Nancy R.
Charleston, South Carolina

September 30 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Puppy Management Other
Photo of Cheryl & Gary L.'s dog

We highly recommend James with Bark Busters. He came to our home and provided valuable insight into our situation. He reinforced the good things we were doing and offered wisdom and advice on managing life with our wonderful and energetic golden retriever puppy! What we particularly appreciate was his willingness and enthusiasm to customize a plan that made sense for our family. Thank You, James!


Cheryl & Gary L.
Goose Creek, South Carolina

September 3 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of Marsha Z.'s dog

I am an Office Manager at a Veterinary Clinic and I can say it is totally worth the money!!!!!! Michelle came to my home and it was a transforming experience. Blackberrie is doing an amazing job. It really is training you to train your baby. Thank you Bark Busters - she is a different girl already!


Marsha Z.
Hanahan, South Carolina

August 28 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of Yvonne T.'s dog

I couldn't believe the immediate improvement my pooch showed during our first session! I am positively thrilled with the initial results. The time that my dog and I spend practicing are really fun. I can't thank "Bark Busters" enough!


Yvonne T.
Goose Creek, South Carolina

July 25 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Priscilla H.'s dog

We rescued a boxer mix named Kailo when she was about 6 months old (that was about 4 yrs ago). She had tremendous separation anxiety and we thought we tried EVERYTHING. She was fine as long as we were home, but as soon as we left...she created havoc. Chewing, barking, crying, etc. We used a thunder shirt, kenneled her, didn't kennel her, and eventually put her in daycare for her safety and the safety of our home. Last fall she escaped out of the house after we left for the movies, fortunately, my husband forgot his wallet and we found her in the front yard upon our return for the wallet. It was then that we reached out to James and Michelle for help.

Michelle spoke with me at length on the telephone and James came out to the house to train the owners. It was not "easy" at first to do our homework, but WOW what a difference! Fast forward 6 months, and our little girl is now staying home alone (in the company of her little brother, which was a great suggestion from James), she does not need the kennel, is better behaved when walking and overall, shows much more confidence than she did in the past.

Kailo is by no means the poster pup, but she is a much happier canine and our home is much more peaceful from her perspective. We are admittedly still working with the little brother (he is 6 mos old), but I am confident that with the skills that James has taught us and the continued support via email and telephone that we are on our way!

Honestly...I wish we would contacted Bark Busters 3 1/2 years ago...the initial deterrent was the upfront cost, but had we done this before, we would have saved a LOT of money and grief and anxiety on both the human family members and the canine one.

Thank you Bark Busters!


Priscilla H.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

July 22 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of Catherine & Greg S.'s dog

We are so happy with Bark Busters. They have been so helpful and so effective in helping us to train our dog Sebastian. He was acting aggressive on walks around the neighborhood to the point that we were avoiding taking him out. He also would always charge the door whenever a visitor came by. We worked on both of these things with James and were given specific tools/tips to use to continue training him and very quickly we saw improvement in both. We have really been impressed with our experience with Bark Busters. We completed dog training in the past with another trainer and it was never this effective! Now our dog is more obedient and seems happier and more at ease.


Catherine & Greg S.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Awendaw, Charleston, Edisto Island, Folly Beach, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Hollywood, Huger, Isle Of Palms, Johns Island, Ladson, Mc Clellanville, Moncks Corner, Mount Pleasant, North Charleston, Ravenel, Sullivans Island, Summerville, Wadmalaw Island

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC