what our clients say about James & Michelle Rodriguez

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about James & Michelle

January 22 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting Other
Photo of Jenny Benjamin & R.'s dog

I was referred to Bark Busters by both my vet and Charleston Animal Society. When we rescued our Lab/Golden "puppy", Rupp, he was a 70 pound stray with absolutely ZERO social skills or domestication. He was basically a wild animal.

Rupp didn't know a single command (not even SIT), had never worn a leash, and had no exposure to other dogs. He also had EXTREME separation anxiety, and could not be left alone for any period of time. To say I was desperate when I called James is an understatement! Walks were virtually impossible, and we couldn't let him out of our sight for a second....admittedly, I was almost in tears daily.

This service is worth every penny. In my opinion, the most valuable part is that James trained ME to train my dog. He has an awesome understanding of dog behavior and psychology, which is really the most important part of training. James is also SUPER patient. Rupp is an EXTREMELY hyper, energetic, "spirited" dog, and he requires A LOT of discipline & consistency. James has worked with us for hours, and never seems to get irritated or frustrated (like I do). Most importantly, his tips and training tools WORK, and he truly seems to care about Rupp's progress. He also doesn't use treats as training tools, which is awesome and unique.

The other thing I like so much about James is that he is realistic and honest, which helps me manage my expectations for Rupp. He asked me to make a list of things I wanted to work on, and it was three pages long. Instead of cramming everything into one session, we took baby steps and the results have been AMAZING. Rupp is now crate trained, walks effortlessly on the leash (with his leader), goes to his bed on command, stays off the furniture, and has even started walking past other dogs without reacting. The list goes on and on.

It has been less than three months, and we have had three sessions with James. Rupp is like a completely different dog. His progress has been unbelievable, and there is literally no way we could have gotten to this point without James. Which reminds me I need to book session #4. I would 100% recommend Bark Busters to anyone and everyone!


Jenny Benjamin & R.
Charleston, South Carolina

January 12 2015

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Toileting
Photo of Shannon F.'s dog

James has been awesome!! We adopted Hunter 4 months ago and didn't know he had aggression. After having him bite us numerous times, and knowing we were his only hope at a happy life, we contacted James and Michelle. After just one visit, we learned ways to handle Hunter, and no one has been bit in 5 weeks! James taught us how to be leaders to Hunter, and now everyone is feeling more comfortable. We also worked on barking, and housebreaking! I don't know where we'd be without James! We are so grateful!


Shannon F.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

November 11 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called

James did a wonderful job of explaining why dogs do what they do. His training method is clear and easy to implement. My 1 year old shih tzu showed improvement within one day -- no more demanding barking or nipping at me when she wants something. Training takes time and patience and if you're willing to put in the effort you'll see results using Bark Busters training methods.


Katherine D.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

November 6 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Puppy Management Other
Photo of Kristen F.'s dog

James and Michelle are amazing! James came to our home and we saw an improvement in our 7 yr old dog and 10 month old puppy within 30 mins! They teach you the fundamentals in the beginning to take control of your canine family members using words, sounds, and commands, it's awesome! We just had a newborn so we've only had one session so far, but once we get settled in at home we will definitely be contacting Bark Busters again for further training!!


Kristen F.
Charleston, South Carolina

November 3 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Jalane & Bill K.'s dog

James and Bark Busters have made it where we can truly enjoy our dogs! We got a new rescue lab puppy in July and she was driving us crazy...counter surfing, chewing, biting, jumping etc. After our initial meeting with James and the training provided, we started seeing results. The methods are logical and easy to implement...and we learned that consistency on our part is the secret. We'd had other training in the past with our other dog but had seen mixed results...we're truly sold on the Bark Busters method and recommend it to anyone who wants to control their dog rather than the other way around.


Jalane & Bill K.
Charleston, South Carolina

October 24 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Mairin V.'s dog

Thank you James and Michelle! I have noticed a tremendous difference in Chase already. I especially appreciate your willingness to work with Chase despite the fact that we started her training in Washington, DC and recently relocated to Mt. Pleasant. Bark Busters truly delivers on their lifetime guarantee. I will definitely recommend your services to friends and look forward to practicing the exercises with Chase. Thanks again.


Mairin V.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

September 6 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of Brandy W.'s dog

It's only been 2 sessions, but I can't thank you enough for your help with my fur-babies!! I am especially thankful for this last session on leash walking. Since we no longer have a yard, our walks are extremely important and being able to do so with no pulling is a welcomed gift. It's so EASY now and I still don't know why I waited until they were 9.5yrs old!!!! Thanks again!!


Brandy W.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

September 4 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Lily S.'s dog

After one visit from Michelle we saw a huge improvement in our 2yr old 73lb boxer mix, Wally. She showed us that we have to be the pack leaders in our home and out. Wally now looks to us for direction instead of leading the way. After one session, we had already seen an improvement in our walks, and in his attentiveness to us. Wally is no longer dragging me through our apartment complex, and no longer rushing people at the door! Bark Busters methods are easy and non-physical. I look forward to the day that Wally is able to walk on an "invisible leash" and I feel confident that we will reach that goal someday, with Bark Busters' training and our own diligence and determination. I work in the veterinary field and will continue to recommend Bark Busters to patients with confidence, knowing that their simple, non-physical methods are both easy, and effective. We are truly grateful to Michelle for her expertise and her obvious love of her job!


Lily S.
Charleston, South Carolina

August 26 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Ryan K.'s dog

Bark Busters has been incredible. I love how they train without any reward incentives. I have seen huge improvements with my stubborn pup and gained tons of valuable knowledge. They give you the tools to help raise the perfect companion and are truly there to help. You can tell they love their job and care about getting results for their clients. I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone who wants long lasting results for their dog.


Ryan K.
North Charleston, South Carolina

June 11 2014

James & Michelle Rodriguez dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Amy J.'s dog

Bark Busters Works!! Having had multiple pets for all of our adult lives, when we adopted a ten month old Rhodesian Ridgeback mix to join our family we thought we were prepared. However, after she jumped over the back of the couch, ignored commands outside and wanted to be rambunctious play pals with our senior miniature dachshund we knew we needed help immediately. After Bark Busters training, the difference is like night and day. Following our initial visit with James, we felt much more confident and optimistic with a plan in place. After training ourselves to be pack leaders, we are definitely better pet owners and our dogs are much happier knowing their place in the pack. Our 50lb Rhodesian Ridgeback mix walks better on a leash than our 13 year old 13lb miniature dachschund. She doesn't pull, walks along at our side and follows our lead. It is an awesome feeling knowing the walks will be enjoyable for everyone. As long as you follow the training and instructions provided, you start to see a difference within the first few weeks. Now that we have our rules and training in place, a simple "BAH" now and then works like a charm and life is great in our multiple animal household. We highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone that needs help with any type of behavior issue or just needs some basic obedience training.


Amy J.
Charleston, South Carolina

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Awendaw, Charleston, Edisto Island, Folly Beach, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Hollywood, Huger, Isle Of Palms, Johns Island, Ladson, Mc Clellanville, Moncks Corner, Mount Pleasant, North Charleston, Ravenel, Sullivans Island, Summerville, Wadmalaw Island

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC