what our clients say about James & Michelle Rodriguez

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about James & Michelle

November 16 2012

Photo of Mary Schnabel's dog

I had 2 wild and uncontrollable yorkies, and I say "had" because it's no longer true. I had a really bad case of sibling fighting. It had gotten so bad, one of my yorkies had to have surgery due to his ear being torn open by his brother during a dog fight. I thought there was no solution but my vet recommended Bark Busters. They explained to me BB is more than a basic dog trainer but specialized in my situations. James came out in the beginning of 2012. After the FIRST visit they both showed improvement. This is not dog training, this is human training. James observed, diagnosed, and then fixed me! Don't get me wrong, we've had challenges and set backs and it's a lot of hard work but James gives you the tools on how to become the leader of your pack and it's worth all the hard work now that I have a peaceful home. Now 11 months after our first session (our last session was April) my dogs are awesome. Absolutely no fighting, the best leash walkers, great in crowds, and no longer have melt downs when someone knocks. If you are considering a dog trainer/behaviorist, go with Bark Busters, it is worth every penny!


Mary Schnabel
Charleston

October 11 2012

Photo of Arline Grove's dog

In my opinion, Michelle is like a "dog whisperer". Such small changes, such HUGE results!


Arline Grove
Goose Creek

October 4 2012

I'm so glad my veterinarian recommended Bark Busters to me for my 3-year-old dog's aggression and fear issues. James is fantastic at what he does and my dog, Honey, has really benefited from our training sessions (as have I). It was such a relief to realize that I actually CAN be in control of my dog and that she is looking to me to lead her. The immediate results of the training were a happy surprise and, by keeping up with our "homework", things are going better than ever. I highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone who wants to help their dog become happier and more well-adjusted. Thank you, James!


Eliza J.
Charleston, SC

October 2 2012

Photo of Janice Ransi's dog

Bark Busters works. Michelle taught me that I needed to step up as the pack leader. I thought that I knew what that meant but I did not. By the end of the first session we were doing what I thought was impossible. My dogs are on their way to being a joy to walk. We are all now much calmer and walks are enjoyable for all of us. Before Bark Busters, my yorkie was tugging on the leash and attacking all dogs on our walk. My silky was joining in. It would just escalate. I was embarrased to walk them. After just 3 days of following the training plan that Michelle set for my dogs, I can walk the silky to heel without pulling. I can walk the yorkie and get him under control without escalating. We are still training and I feel we will succeed. The silky looks to me as the leader. The yorkie seems more relaxed and will soon be relieved to hand over the job of leader to me. We are enjoying our walks and everyone is much happier. I am no longer embarrased to walk them. Priceless...


Janice Ransi
West Ashley

August 6 2012

Being a first time dog owner, Bark Busters really gave me the confidence I needed to manage our new puppy. I'm so glad we started working with James when our cockapoo, Hudson, was three months old. The Bark Busters training system has helped us avoid the development of unwanted behaviors, while encouraging positive traits in our puppy. James has been great to work with, and Hudson responds immediately to his training techniques. We feel fortunate that we contacted Bark Busters, and Hudson is now a fun, "well-behaved" member of our family.


Kimberly Ethridge
Daniel Island

July 27 2012

Photo of Sonia McCutcheon's dog

We are the proud parents of two Newfoundland pups, they are lovely and bring us much joy but they also had a few bad habits. Counter surfing, leash pulling, digging Huge craters in the yard and barking in the middle of the night were in their bag of tricks. Our vet recommended Bark Busters to us and we could not be happier!!! James came out and his advice, techniques and skill have been invaluable. Our girls manners improved with the first visit!! We are extremely grateful to James for helping us be better dog owners and how best to communicate with our girls. Bark Busters has made all our lives better and we couldn't be more pleased! Clarabelle, Clementine and The McCutcheon's Thank you!


Sonia McCutcheon
CHARLESTON

July 9 2012

Photo of Vera Jennings's dog

Bark Busters has made a major difference in our household. Thanks to James, my husband and I have gained control of our two diverse rescues. I highly recommend this program. Totally worth the investment!!


Vera Jennings
Mt. Pleasant

July 9 2012

Photo of Christine Van Buren's dog

Wow, what a difference a day makes! Our dog has gone from being a great dog to an amazing dog in only 1 visit! Our practice with her has only made her even better. James was very thorough and available for any questions. My whole family was involved in the training and we couldn t be happier with the results. Even my 3 year old niece has picked up on my commands with my dog and she can get my dog to obey! Just amazing! This training is well worth the cost and I would highly recommend it. Now...if only I could get my neighbors to do the same training with their dogs!


Christine Van Buren
Mt. Pleasant

July 9 2012

Our experience with Bark Busters was outstanding. I was very skeptical at first because our dog Karma is over 8 years old. She has always struggled with separation anxiety and it has gotten worse as she has gotten older. We also moved to Charleston about a year ago and she was obviously very anxious after the move. One of Karma s most anxious moments is not just when we leave but during thunderstorms and combine that with being gone during a thunderstorm and I literally have thought she would have a heart attack! She has hurt herself before when crated so we were leaving her out free to roam the house which seemed to be working great until one day when we came home and found the door frame around our side door completely chewed up and destroyed (not a cheap fix either!!). At that point we decided it was time to invest in Bark Busters after hearing some positive things from someone at our vet. James came in and worked with us and immediately his style of teaching and coaching us clicked. He explained things in a way that made a lot of sense and gave us simple and effective things to do with Karma. I finally felt there was hope and that we would be able to leave to go places without her without being stressed the whole time wondering if she (and our house) was okay. Within a week I noticed changes in Karma and after 6 weeks we have not had any more incidents of her destroying things. She now considers us the leaders of our pack and she seems so much more relaxed and calm. Taking walks with her is a joy now. She lets us lead and we control when she stops to use the bathroom etc. It used to be a tug of war with her and she s only 20lbs! I hated taking her for walks but now its a lot of fun and she s getting the much needed exercise as well. James provided some great tips specific to Karma, our situation and our home setup. I highly recommend James and Bark Busters! You and your dog will be glad you did it!


Chad Bryant
Charleston

July 2 2012

Photo of Debbie Lee's dog

I balked at the price, but it seems to be worth it. I had no idea that my husband and I were the ones who were making Shadow do all her "annoying" (actually nervous) behaviors. Our dog has SEVERE separation anxiety. She has broken 3 crates, one of which was supposed to be "heavy duty." The last crate is a Zinger crate that is made of welded stainless steel, so she is unable to bust out of it. However, she managed to break her teeth in an attempt to escape. Anti-anxiety drugs don't really work without training, so we called Bark Busters as a last resort before we have to give Shadow up. We figured the training will follow her anywhere she ends up, so we wanted to do what was best for her, no matter if we ended up keeping her or not. Just one day after the initial training, Shadow was behaving like a different dog. She is much calmer, I guess because she feels like she doesn't have to be in charge anymore. We are still working on changing the crate from a confining place to a "safe" place for her, but she is improving by leaps and bounds. Even behaviors we did not specifically work on, like walking with a loose leash, are much better. Having a dog is once again a pleasure instead of being stressful. Thanks, Michelle!


Debbie Lee
Charleston

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Awendaw, Charleston, Edisto Island, Folly Beach, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Hollywood, Huger, Isle Of Palms, Johns Island, Ladson, Mc Clellanville, Moncks Corner, Mount Pleasant, North Charleston, Ravenel, Sullivans Island, Summerville, Wadmalaw Island

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC