what our clients say about Jan Janecki

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jan

What our Clients are saying about us

September 7 2016

Jan Janecki dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other
Photo of Abby F.'s dog

Jan is a life changing trainer, and I have yorkies- enough said. One session and the biggest behavioral issues are now very minor- we have a ways to go still, but seriously impressive results for only meeting one time.


Abby F.
Del Mar, California

April 29 2014

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of Matt T.'s dog

So, we have a 4 year old English Setter named "Peanut" who went from living on one big piece of land with 5 other dogs to living in an apartment with no dogs. She had obedience and social problems, and she pulled when we walked.

1st Lesson - Our first lesson was about two hours and fifteen minutes long. Jan came into our apartment and we had a sit down to figure out all of the problems we wanted to address and the goals that we wanted to accomplish. We started off working on basic obedience, and this was done inside with a leash. Once we were comfortable with that, Jan gave us some homework to do for the week, until our next visit. Peanut learned very quickly to obey the commands and she has never had any prior training. It was at this first lesson that we learned how important leadership is, and that we needed to establish leadership over Peanut, as she had become very spoiled throughout the years and took advantage of that!

2nd Lesson - Jan instructed us on our first visit to buy a Halti, as it would really help with walking Peanut. On this second visit, we made our way outside the apartment with the Halti, and began "training walks" in the parking lot. Peanut learned very quickly how to obey, walk closely next to us at our pace, and follow our lead. Jan gave us tips with how to accomplish this, which instantly worked wonders. She gave us pointers on how to stop Peanut from pulling and walking ahead of us or too fast. And she taught us how to get Peanut to follow our lead with regard to turning or walking in different directions, not just in a completely straight line.

3rd Lesson - This time, we were taking some pretty big steps with Peanut. We went out for a walk in order to encounter other dogs and teach Peanut the proper way to react to them. Peanut never reacted well to dogs we would meet on our walks. She would constantly whine, pull, and sometimes even bark and jump. During this lesson, we went over to the Petco Unleashed in the shopping center and walked Peanut around the store. Jan quickly took charge and whipped Peanut into shape! We encountered other dogs, of course, and Peanut did well to the point where she didn't even seem to acknowledge that the dogs were around. She would sit, stay, and be completely calm. It was amazing to see! Definitely a huge step with regard to Peanut and other dogs!

We are now continuing to work with Jan with a focus on Peanut's social skills. Everyday we use the skills that Jan has taught us to enforce Peanut's behavior. It is important to stay on top of the training and do all of the homework that is given or else your dog won't change. This is a great system because it not only trains the dog, but it trains the human as well.

Lastly, Jan is absolutely amazing! She is so awesome and friendly and we get along great with regard to Peanut's training. She is so good working with Peanut, and has been great working with us as well. She definitely has the required leadership skills DOWN, as Peanut responded to her immediately, and still continues to do so. Jan really knows her stuff, and if you follow her homework and stay on top of the training, you will notice a great improvement with your dog! We feel very confident in our decision to have her help us with Peanut. She is always available for help or questions in-between training sessions. Once Peanut's training is complete, we will have Jan to thank for the awesome work that she has done!

Matt T.

Trainer note from Jan:
This is a great example of how dog owners can obtain fast results with Bark Busters Home Dog Training.

Matt T.
San Diego, California

October 2 2013

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety
Photo of Wyn F.'s dog

Jan, Thank you for all you have taught us during our sessions. All four of us have made a lot of progress. Freddie is no longer shaking in fear all the time, and Fiona is much calmer and more manageable. You're the best!


Wyn F.
San Diego, California

September 23 2013

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

My husband Jim and I contacted Jan Janecki when we were at our wits end with our newly rescued 4 year old Eskie, Silver. Jim and I knew that Silver needed special attention, to remedy his behavioral problems as a result of having been tossed around from shelter to shelter in his early years. Jan was immediately able to "read" Silver and transform him into a focused, calm dog. Jan's attention to detail allowed us to rapidly learn her techniques and adopt them ourselves. Jan's proficiency in working with problem dogs is clear, as is her love for the species in general. Jim and I highly recommend Jan if you are looking for a dog trainer with these qualities.


Ronda S.
Poway, California

September 23 2013

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

We have a rescued Chihuahua-mix dog; adorable, but a very high-strung, dog. It quickly became apparent there was some abuse or mishandling when the dog was being raised. We made the mistake of thinking we didn't need formal dog training because "we can just pick the dog up when he is misbehaving." Our poor dog had aggression issues that were getting progressively worse and finally resulted in the dog biting a neighbor who was simply walking past our front door.

We called Jan Janecki with Bark Busters Home Dog Training the next day for training. She was very prompt in answering my email - in fact the only trainer who did. Jan specializes in dealing with aggressive dogs, so she was a perfect choice. The one- on-one training she provides is nothing short of a miracle. Jan gives very good instruction, with very clear explanations, and just the right amount of support each person needs. Within one lesson my dog was doing things I didn't think was possible before. I was doing things I didn't think I could do. I had to apologize to my dog that I thought he wasn't capable of being trained. :-(

We now have a dog I can take places I would have never tried before. We can eat dinner at a dog friendly restaurant and it is peaceful for all. The barking at every sound can be controlled. However, the most wonderful part is that we have a much happier, and calmer, dog. Jan truly was the right person at the right time. Thank you Jan!


Whitney A.
San Diego, California

September 19 2013

Jan Janecki dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Andrew B.'s dog

We adopted a miniature Schnauzer as our first dog. Mozart is a great puppy, but was starting to learn some troublesome behaviors. We tried some of the advice we found online, but found too much of it to be conflicting and had difficult to create a structure out of. Other advice was not adaptive enough, and it was hard to decide where to go when the expected resultant behavior did not appear.

After trying a couple other trainers, we called up Jan Janecki from Bark Busters Home Dog Training and arranged a meet and greet. From the get go it was clear that Jan knows what she's doing. She provided a framework for communicating with our dog Mozart that made sense rationally and was quickly understandable. The advice she provided was not rote either; she was willing to work with our behavioral preferences and Mozart's reactions, explaining the rationale as we went along. When we wanted advice out of session, she was quick to respond as well. Mozart has come a long way since then, and even though there's still a ways to go we can see his progress week to week. Overall, a great experience and we recommend her to all new dog owners.


Andrew B.
San Diego, California

July 13 2013

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety Toileting Other

After working with Jan, our once troubled and aggressive rescue Chihuahua is now "new and improved!" Jan worked wonders with us and our dog Bailey. She coached us on the proper way to interact with Bailey and he is now responding as he should. We are thankful Jan has provided us with the tools to work with Bailey going forward.

We thought Bailey was just an overly aggressive dog trapped in a Chihuahua-sized body. He went after most dogs, no matter the size or breed. He also barked incessantly at our house guests, even those he knew. He also had that classic nervous Chihuahua shaking characteristic. I thought this was just "being a Chihuahua" but Jan helped us understand these behaviors and his shaking were not normal. They were fear-based responses due to his insecurity. Jan taught us proper commands and behaviors to build Bailey's confidence. After a little over two months, with Jan's direction and consistent "homework" on our part, Bailey is now able to walk by (on leash) most dogs in the park or on trail without getting too aggressive. He still has his moments, but compared to before, this is night and day. He doesn't bark at familiar house guests now, as long as we use the commands he has learned. He really is a "new" dog.

Our most important goal was to have Bailey socialize with another family dog he was very aggressive with. We couldn't even have them in the same room together without a fight. Jan worked special sessions to get the two dogs together on walks, and he no longer shows aggressive tendencies towards her while they are walking together. It really is amazing.

I highly recommend Jan! She is patient, knowledgeable and really remarkable at what she does. My husband and I couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience and our results.


Juls W.
La Jolla, California

September 20 2012

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other

We inherited a 9 year old sweet, but ill-trained dog from a family member. We were at our wits end - walks were a nightmare when I found Jan through Bark Busters online. She helped rehabilitate her and her training made a huge difference for the dog and us! She really knows dogs and her tips were invaluable. We highly recommend Jan Janecki and Bark Busters.


Joan P.
San Diego, California

September 18 2012

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks? My ten year old Maltese was always a barker, yet as she has gotten older her barking has increased to the point that is was a hindrance to my lifestyle. She barked at everything and for every reason. As well, we recently moved which added to her anxiety. I wasn't sure if anyone or anything could help as I had tried everything yet I had to do something. I saw wonderful reviews for Jan Janecki of Bark Busters and I can't tell you happy I am that I contacted her!!! In one training session Jan showed me how to be the leader and how to work with my dog. Jan was patient and wonderful to work with. I have followed up with my dog daily with the tools Jan showed me and my dog's barking amazingly has drastically diminished and I have peace in my home again. I am so grateful to Jan!


Debbie N.
Carmel Valley, California

August 25 2012

Jan Janecki dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting Other

Jan Janecki worked with me and my extremely fearful rescued dog that was 1 1/2 years old when I adopted him. She helped me to create a more balanced dog who no longer is afraid of people, no longer pulls on leash and who is able to walk past once feared trash cans and manhole covers. Life was anxiety filled for our dog, Bailey but now he is able to enjoy many of the pleasures a dog should experience. I can't thank Jan enough for her unique understanding of fearful dogs and how best to bring them out of their shells while creating a well behaved dog. I have also seen her work with dogs that had different issues than my dog. I highly recommend her for all dogs regardless of the problem.


Wendy C.
Rancho Bernardo, California

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bonsall, Camp Pendleton, Cardiff By The Sea, Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Fallbrook, La Jolla, Oceanside, Poway, Ramona, Rancho Santa Fe, San Diego, San Marcos, Solana Beach, Valley Center, Vista

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC