what our clients say about Justin Scher

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Justin

March 8 2013

Justin Scher dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

My Goldendoodle Oliver has had extreme separation anxiety since I picked him up from the breeder. He gets crazy when crated, and has caused a great deal of damage to my home and car due to his fear of being alone. It escalated to a point where I either had to be with him, have a dog sitter, daycare or board him.

Enter Justin Sher of BarkBusters, known for success with this disorder, as well as dog training in general. Justin has been great. Very professional, knowledgeable and caring. Always makes time for an appointment and is on time.The BarkBusters approach has really worked for Oliver and me. Oliver has now adapted to being in the crate and seems to now feel like its an oasis. I can leave him for long periods of time and he mostly just sleeps. I watch him on my iPad or iPhone while I'm away by use of a videocam, as suggested by Justin. Before Justin and BarkBusters Oliver would become violent and try to rip the crate apart and anything in it. Justin has also helped me with leash walking, and instead of trying to pull me along, Oliver now heals perfectly. We are working on other training issues and Oliver seems to pick things up very fast.Thanks to Justin and BarkBusters I now have a well behaved, much less anxiety ridden companion. He's a pleasure to be with and as Justin says, Oliver respects me as the leader of our pack.


Stephen P.
San Diego, California

March 3 2013

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of Dilara A.'s dog

Justin is amazing. It's like magic. In 2 sessions, Justin had transformed our canine terrorist into a calm, relaxed dog. When we first adopted Huxley, a ~1yr-old schnauzer mix he came with a past of abuse and a fear of tall men and strangers. Whenever friends came to our home, he would bark and attack the front door. The same would happen if anyone came near us on the street. Huxley would go from being a sweet, cute dog into this ferocious beast. My husband was afraid that he would bite someone and then we'd have to put him down. We were at our wits end having tried just about everything. Nothing worked. Thankfully, we found BarkBusters and Justin. It was worth every penny. Now we can have friends over and Huxley stays calm and his entire demeanor has changed. Justin is fantastic with us and Huxley and it is clear that he really loves dogs!

Update: Huxley walks by other dogs without barking up a storm. And our dog walker has noticed a difference. Thanks Justin.


Dilara A.
San Diego, California

February 26 2013

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of Nicole P.'s dog

With the stress of various complaints of our pups barking and crying incessantly whenever we left them at home we decided to give Bark Busters a try. There were also a number of other issues we knew we needed to address, and we're SO glad we found Justin! Our pups have completely different personalities and Justin knows exactly how to handle each of them and taught us the skills we need to effectively train them. After just the first training session, we saw a huge change in their behavior. Though it's still a work in progress, Justin has been extremely helpful and patient. He genuinely cares about the people and the dogs he works with. Thanks for everything, Justin!


Nicole P.
San Diego, California

February 19 2013

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Justin helped me with my dog's aggressive, unpredictable behavior. Before training with him, I did not feel comfortable letting my dog loose at dog parks or dog beach, which was annoying since I lived 1 block from dog beach in OB! Not only did he help train me to train my dog, but I feel that now my dog and I have a better relationship. He's great with dogs and once you see him in action you'll know what I mean. He can teach you to have the same control and respect from your dog, and have to loosen up and fun along the way!


Rex L.
San Diego, California

February 15 2013

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other

Our vet recommended Justin to helps us with our two rescue terrier mix pups, Lyla and Lena. They were just about the greatest dogs of all-time, assuming no one rang our doorbell, walked inside our house, or walked by our house. Any of the following would elicit non-stop, feverish barking for at least 5-10 minutes. On walks they would pull, tug, lunge and bark at passersby and other animals. We were those people who could not control our 10- and 20-pound dogs and were constantly apologizing. Embarrassing...Justin's methods are amazingly simple and amazingly effective. It was like watching the Caesar TV show. The doorbell barking and the barking upon a friend, family member, or stranger's entry stopped almost immediately. He showed us the proper way to correct unwanted behaviors and praise wanted behaviors. He also helped tremendously with walking, after one session they walked on a loose leash right next to us. They still get a little excited when other dogs pass by, but Justin has come back several times to help us keeping working on them.I would highly recommend Justin if you are looking to help your pup break bad habits and learn how to follow your lead. He's very genuine and passionate about his work and his clients and is great with the dogs.


Chris O.
San Diego, California

September 13 2012

I found Justin through a recommendation from my Vet- I'll write a lengthier testimonial at a later date...But at this point, I just wanted to say I couldn't have found anyone smarter, more devoted to his job, and more sensitive to our family (& my personal) situation and needs. He has been a miracle worker for our Golden Retriever puppy, Grace, and a tremendous ego booster and support /confidence builder for me. Thank you!!!


Debbie Schiffer
Coronado

November 7 2011

Photo of Christina Pappafotis's dog

I contacted Bark Buster's when my 2 year old lab/pit mix Sookie and I moved into a townhouse where a cat, Bentley, was currently living. For the life of me and my roommates we could not get the dog and cat to get along. Constant hissing and barking and lunging and just overall it was a tense atmosphere. I had to keep Sookie on her leash at all times and it was just no fun for the both of us. Finally, I had Justin come in and by the end of his first visit Sookie and Bentley were calmly co-existing. Bentley even came downstairs and ate his food in front of Sookie while she just laid there. From that point on things only got better. By Justin's next visit there was a notable difference in the atmosphere and dynamic of the house. We are still working on better walking on the leash, but the biggest issue is, thankfully, behind us. Mainly Justin has showed me how to be the leader that Sookie needs and as long as I remain consistent with her we are going to have a more relaxed relationship in the future. Thanks Bark Busters and thank you Justin!!


Christina Pappafotis
San Diego

January 18 2011

Photo of Anne's dog

Justin has now helped us with not just one, but two dogs. My newest dog, Wendy, was so strong that when she jumped up she knocked me over. She also engaged in puppy biting and barking that was less than cute. She started to calm down within ten minutes of Justin's arrival. He was able to figure out what techniques would get through to her very quickly, and worked with me until I understood what to do. Within just one day, I was able to play with Wendy with a cup of coffee in my hand, something I have never been able to do. Justin is just wonderful.


Anne
El Cajon

September 24 2010

Photo of Natalie's dog

Nothing less than amazing. My two boxers had been to countless trainings and schools. I saw results after the first week. I'm now able to walk the dogs and use the training aids in a correct manner. After taking my giant boxer, Tyson, to the vet and having the vet shake as she listened to his heart, I spoke to Justin and he accompanied me for the next visit. He has really done above and beyond. I recommend him to anyone that has dogs big or small. He is consistent and honest but I always knew he cared about my Tyson and Layla.


Natalie
San Diego

August 11 2010

I was very impressed with Justin and am happy I called him. When I brought my new rescue pup home, Pippin would bark constantly if I left the apartment, even for a few seconds. Within two days of Justin's visit, Pippin was showing about a 90% improvement. After a week, it was 100%, and we have no more problems with barking. The techniques turned out to be so simple and gentle, yet I would never have thought of them on my own. In our second visit, Justin answered many questions I had about dog behavior, and I felt more confident after our talk that I'm on the right track with my dog. This was money VERY well spent, and I have no regrets whatsoever about working with Justin and Bark Busters. Pippin and I both send our thanks!


Janet Stein
San Diego

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bonita, Chula Vista, Coronado, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lakeside, Lemon Grove, National City, San Diego, Santee, Spring Valley

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC