what our clients say about Katherine Simkins

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Katherine

What our Clients are saying about us

September 8 2016

Katherine Simkins dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

I am thunderstruck! I now have a dog that BEHAVES! My dog is 8 years old. I have had him since being a pup and tried EVERYTHING to get him to walk nicely on a leash, not charge out the door at every visitor, snap at anyone who approaches me. I thought I might have to give him up...then I met Katherine!! NO KIDDING, in two lessons, I have a NEW, VERY IMPROVED, dog! As they say, it is the owner who needs training...and I did, but Katherine explained and demonstrated everything VERY clearly and patiently. I highly recommend Katherine!


Sally H.
Reno, Nevada

July 8 2016

Katherine Simkins dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Rodger S.'s dog

Katherine was fantastic. She came out on a Sunday and explained to me the process in getting Choco and myself to become the best partners we can be. She showed me the different ways to solve our problems with a presentation showing the different techniques of the training program and by showing me how to speak dog. I am greatly appreciated for the time she spent with us. I now have a new friend. Just in the short time I have been using the proper techniques, I have noticed a larger difference in Choco and myself. I would recommend her in a heartbeat.


Rodger S.
Fernley, Nevada

April 10 2016

Katherine Simkins dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Diana S.'s dog

Katherine is AWESOME. She helped us to understand how we WEREN'T speaking dog and why it is important to be the leader to get Coco to react properly. My husband and I look forward to practicing and getting Coco to be a happier and better dog. I wish I'd signed up for Bark Busters sooner.


Diana S.
Reno, Nevada

March 10 2015

Katherine Simkins dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of Jillian M.'s dog

I think my exact words to Katherine during our first lesson were, "It's working like magic!" I can't express how grateful I am for Katherine and this program. My almost 2 year-old pup, Damian, is one of the greatest pets I've ever had. He was always well-behaved and friendly to other animals and people during his puppy years, and I can't recall a time where he had any serious behavioral issues. But last fall, my fur family and I went through several major life changes, and it was clear that it really took a toll on him. It started with loud barking in the house whenever he heard a noise outside (I swear he was just barking at leaves blowing in the wind at times). Then, upon moving into a new apartment, he began aggressively barking at anyone and anything while taking our walks around the complex. Although he was secure on a leash, neighbors were frightened by him (all 20lbs of him). I was frightened at times, and so confused. Why was my sweet pup becoming aggressive? What was I doing wrong? I tried different things before seeking out help, but nothing worked. After nearly 2 months of desperately trying to fix the problem on my own, and one embarrassing noise complaint from the front office, I decided to call Bark Busters. It only took one lesson with Katherine, and Damian was already showing improvement. The most important thing I've learned throughout this program is that it all comes down to me. I've learned how to be the pack leader in my house, the one all my fur babies look to for direction. It's been so rewarding learning how to be this for my pets, and such a relief to be in control again. This program is not only solving my issues with Damian, all of my pets have benefited from this, without me even realizing it! I can't thank Katherine enough for her help. I am so happy with how things are going, and so are my animals. I will, without a doubt, continue to refer Bark Busters to anyone who is having trouble with their pets. Thanks again Katherine, you are incredible!


Jillian M.
Reno, Nevada

October 15 2009

Photo of Kristen Alexander's dog

It has been about two years since Katherine Simkins came to our home. Back then we had dogs that would rush the front door barking wildly at visitors. They would chase the cats, even bark at them from a distance. The moment they would have the chance they would run off. These are just a few examples of the challenges we were facing.---Even with the first training session we saw improvements. She came out to check up on us and we learned even more. Simply using the techniques consistently that we learned from Katherine has changed our lives. The dogs are well behaved in every aspect. They even let the cats walk right by and do nothing. They sit quietly while I answer the door. And the rescue dog I have is even much more confident and relaxed.---We are so pleased with the results we have had that we recommend Katherine without hesitation to anyone that wants a happy, well-behaved dog.


Kristen Alexander
Sparks

September 24 2009

Just wanted to touch base with you. So very happy with what our dogs have learned (and especially me). Maggie Mae still barks when someone comes to the door but knows to stop and sit in her spot. She will stay now until released, so proud! Sully still has a little harder time staying but knows to sit and wait. Maggie Mae had a summer of going on trips and has gotten so much better with her barking at people. I walk her at least 5x's a week and she does 90% of the walk without a leash and always listens to commands. Sully gets walked 2-3 times a week and has gotten soooo much better. It's actually a joy to walk him now. He will always have issues with other dogs but at least I can get his attention and divert him from disaster. He walks next to me when told and when told "good boy" realizes that it's a good thing and just wants to please. I have Maggie Mae in the front yard with me everyday and she has learned to let the kids in the neighborhood come up to her or in the yard without barking and loves playing ball with them.---They will never be perfect, but the tools you have given me have made such a difference and I Thank You for that.


Jan D.
Cold Springs

December 5 2008

We were shocked at the improvement so far! We have researched other in-home trainers and they always had methods we didn't agree with. Not the case with Bark Busters!


Scott & Gina M.
Sparks

December 3 2008

Katherine not only explained the methods but explained why we were doing the methods. There was drastic improvement. It is the only thing we have found that actually works for both dogs. She made it fun to train rather than a chore. It helped get everyone involved. I was wary at first, but honestly, I couldn't be happier about it.


Amanda P.
Reno

November 29 2008

Amazing -- noticeable results after only 1 lesson! Very easy to learn and follow.


Lisa E.
Reno

September 7 2008

Katherine is great to work with.


Bob L.
Reno

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Carson City, Crystal Bay, Fernley, Incline Village, Reno, Sparks, Sun Valley, Verdi, Virginia City, Wadsworth, Washoe Valley

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC