what our clients say about Lynne Willeke

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Lynne

July 16 2012

Our only regret is that we did not call Lynne from Bark Busters the minute we brought home our new dog from the Humane Society. Buddy was an abandoned, neglected dog that started out very friendly and loving, but once he became comfortable in our environment, he became aggressive and overly protective to the point that we couldn't have anyone over to our house without fear of them being bitten by our dog. I knew that the usual training programs from Petsmart or the Humane Society wouldn't work on the specific problem we were having, as Buddy responded to heel, sit, stay, etc. rather well. This was something deeper that we assumed was related to his past experiences with his former owner. We were very frustrated and felt we might have to surrender the dog since we couldn't deal with his behavior. Based on their website and other reviews, it seemed that Bark Busters could be the ones to help. Lynne came out and sat down with us, discussed how the program would work, and observed Buddy's behavior. She was able to discern that Buddy, who is a Alaskan Malamute/ Lab mix, had a very strong need for a "pack" environment, and needed a strong owner to lead his behavior. He was not getting enough leadership from us, so he felt he had to take over and be the boss. Thus the assertive, often dangerous reactions to strangers to protect his pack. Lynne required that we learn to be commanding and confident in our interactions with him, as he was constantly protecting his home and neighborhood from other people and other dogs, which was natural to him. Lynne worked with us many weeks (at several weeks more than the typical client, I am sure) and was determined to help us, as she saw that Buddy could be a great pet and companion. She worked with us in our home environment, at local parks and public places, to further evaluate Buddy's reactions. Our program was definitely tailored to us and our dog. Lynne also showed us how some of our ignorance about dog behavior (first time dog owners!) led us do things that confused and frustrated Buddy, and eroded our leadership role in his eyes. We now have a dog that is loving to us, and accepting of our extended family in our home. He looks to us for direction, and we know how to give it to him. Whenever we have a question, Lynne is available and responds within hours to our questions. She even helped us find the right leash for him, since he is a immense puller (sled dog!) on walks and needs something to help curb his overpulling tendencies. One of the most important things we learned is that training your dog; is an ongoing process - you can't expect a quick fix for deep-seated issues like our Buddy had. But Lynne worked VERY patiently with us to help us see that Buddy could be helped.


Kathleen P.
St. Paul

May 29 2012

Lynne was very easy to talk to and very helpful. She made sure we understood and felt comfortable. We saw results by the end of the visit, and definitely after these first few weeks. I would recommend Bark Busters, I already have! It has been a great experience so far.


Karla R.
St. Paul

May 29 2012

I thought the training was fun and super educational! I am pleased with the techniques used, I'm now more observant of my dog's behavior. It's a fun way to train your dog and bond with your dog more too! It's kind of wild how practicing this training that Lynne has taught us has given me more confidence and my dog seems more confident too. Thanks!


Sylvia S.
Minneapolis

May 29 2012

Lynne patiently worked with us until we found a solution for our dog's severe separation anxiety. She explained how some other training techniques that appear unrelated to the anxiety would help keep our dogs calm. Our dogs mean everything to our family and we're all much happier due to Lynne's patience, understanding of canine/human behavior, dedication and her troubleshooting skills.


J.B.
New Brighton

May 15 2012

I wanted to share my story about what a good boy Benny is since his initial training visit. Today was the biggest accomplishment. He was off his leash walking to the door after a car ride and the neighbor girl was walking her dog. Benny immediately started to head over to them. I quickly used some commands and Benny stopped in his tracks and one more command he turned and came right back. AMAZING!!! We are so proud. Thank you!


Becky
Ham Lake

May 15 2012

I am so glad I decided to use Bark Busters! Lynne went out of her way to explain everything and to make sure I understood. She is patient and knowledgeable. I was pleased and amazed at how well the techniques work-Beau immediately stopped barking out the front window when he saw other dogs. I believe your methods would be useful to anyone with a dog.


Susan
St. Paul

December 17 2011

I would recommend Bark Busters to others because I like the one on one. Lynne is so calm about everything. It's nice to have someone work with myself and my dog without other dogs around. Lynne is great!


Roxanne S.
New Brighton

December 10 2011

Lynne was very efficient and effective in coaching with me and my dog. Outcomes have been surprising, rapid and excellent!


Judy Connolly
Falcon Heights

December 19 2010

Photo of Chad & Stacia Stringfellow's dog

Bark Busters and Lynne truly saved Cora's life. She was a high energy, fast moving somewhat well behaved puppy but for some reason she had formed a biting reaction when scared. She was great with my husband but had a nasty habit of stealing when it was just her and I alone. She actually bit me twice, I required 5 stitches the second time. She also managed to bite other members of my family on an overnight stay. We were sooo sad thinking we had failed her and would have to put her down...until the vet gave me the Bark Busters info. It was one of the best phone calls I have ever made!!!!! After the first 3 hour session there were amazing results. Cora is now a much calmer, well behaved dog and I now have the tools to reclaim anything without a confrontation!! I cannot thank you enough. :)


Chad & Stacia Stringfellow
Saint Francis

September 1 2010

I want to thank you for all the referrals you and the other trainers have sent to MadDog Delivers. We appreciate your continued support as well as sharing the common goal of pet optimum health, which as we know aids in behavior. We recommend the Bark Busters program to our clients and at our events, we are proud to support a training program we consider to be effective, with excellent trainers that also have great customer service.


Julie Klouda, MadDog Delivers
Minneapolis

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Andover, Bethel, Cedar, Circle Pines, Forest Lake, Hugo, Isanti, Minneapolis, Saint Francis, Saint Paul, Stacy, Wyoming

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC