what our clients say about Michael Konstantaras

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michael

July 20 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Michael Konstantaras did an outstanding job from the very first moment. He established an immediate rapport with our dog, and within minutes, he had commanded the dog's attention, gotten the dog to stop certain forms of unwanted behavior, while, at the same time, having the dog come into his arms with tail wagging when appropriate. He was like a magician and his communications with us were clear and sensible. I recommend Michael with full enthusiasm.


John D.
Stamford, Connecticut

July 18 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

I have had Mike's business card for months and am so mad that I waited this long to reach out to him.... he is absolutely amazing. I have a three year old rescue named Carmella who has been increasingly more aggressive towards other dogs and also has other behavioral issues... jumping on people, pulling like crazy on a leash when I walk her, and just doesn't listen well overall. Within an hour of being with Mike, my dog was acting like a completely different dog. He showed me ways to communicate with Carmella so that she would respect and understand me. We took her for a walk and he showed me how to walk her and ways to keep her from pulling and stay by my side. Even the guy at the restaurant I live above noticed how differently she was acting, he said it was the calmest he has ever seen her. The part that amazed me the most is that Mike does all of this without treats or being aggressive/physical with the dog. Not only is he great with the dogs, we was great towards me. He checked in the whole time to make sure I felt comfortable with the techniques we were using and made sure I understood what we were doing and why. He also made the training fun and interesting... I loved every minute of it. I am so happy and hopeful after just one training session with Mike. He is a wonderful trainer and person and I would (and will!) recommend him to anyone who needs help with their dog.


Sara O.
Stamford, Connecticut

July 16 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management

I have two puppies which can be a challenge. Mike came to my house and we started with the basics, he gave me a lesson in how dogs communicate and relate to each other in a family. He then showed us a great way to communicate with our dogs so that they actually listened! Mike was very helpful and everything he taught us today worked immediately. The way Mike interacted with us made me and my dogs comfortable. Thanks Mike your the best !!!!!


Dominique B.
Bridgeport, South Carolina

July 11 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

We reached out to Mike with concerns regarding our year and a half old Goldendoodle that was barking, jumping, hyperactive and his inability to walk on a leash. When Mike first showed up, he sat with us and explained the reasons for our dog's behavior. He consulted with us about switching the dog's food immediately to help lower his energy level and anxiety. Mike then helped us work with Bernie on jumping, getting him to stay calm when the doorbell rang and visitors entered our home, and just giving us a little space while in the same room. It was amazing! He actually listened and was the most calm we have ever seen our dog! After seeing this we decided to sign up for the lifetime support with Mike (the dog whisperer as we called him). We are excited to finally be able to enjoy interacting with our dog. I would highly recommend Mike to our family and friends.


Dave and Jill P.
Trumbull, Connecticut

June 13 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Hyperactivity

I spoke with Mike at length concerning a few issues I was having with my 5 year old female pitbull Hailey, I was sold by his confidence and decided to make an appointment.

Hailey has a tendancy to be a bit hyperactive when people visit my house - jumping, pacing, constant need for attention, etc. Mike arrived to see this first hand and proceeded

to give us the basics on dog training. He took his time and explained the reasoning behind Hailey's behavior and how I ultimately was the underlying cause. Within an hour of

interacting with her utilizing his skills I was enlightened by the change in her behavior. We became lifetime members and look forward to working on Mike in an effort to fine

tune the few issues that Hailey has developed over the years.


Brett G.
Riverside, Connecticut

June 11 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

I have a 5 year old dog who has become increasingly anxious and aggressive both in the house and when we are out in public. A colleague recommended Mike and I am so grateful for all of his help. He came to my home calm, confident, and organized. He discussed dog behavior, his method, and my objectives clearly. He outlined our plan, then showed me how to implement it. He took me through each step with my dogs and they responded immediately! Best of all, he was very clear in his instructions for me at home over the next several weeks so that we can continue our progress.

I should mention that I am a veterinarian and I am so impressed by Mike's methods and the results that he gets! My dog was sleeping calmly next to him very soon after we started training. I cant believe that I have already seen a change in him and I am so excited to have found someone who was able to help me train my dog without using negative reinforcement or treat-only methods.

I will be recommending Mike to all of my clients and patients!


Elizabeth C.
Trumbull, Connecticut

June 9 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

This was an amazing, eye opening experience. My family and I feel liberated and I am sure, now that Michael has instructed us in Dog Psychology 101, that our dog Yogi will too. Yogi was a rescue from a Bridgeport Shelter and though he is only 10 pounds, he was beginning to dominate our home. Michael is a fantastic instructor and made everything clear and simple. The true test was the immediate results we achieved with our dog. I feel like we will be able to enjoy our time with Yogi so much more....we, including Yogi, are so much more relaxed after just one meeting.

Michael, we can't thank you enough!!


Leslie O.
Westport, Connecticut

June 6 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks
Photo of Amanda R.'s dog

Mike is an excellent dog trainer. Within the first hour of his arrival I saw a change in our two dogs. Mike takes the time to thoroughly explain the mindset of a dog and how it directly applies to his unique approach to dog training and behavior management. He made sure that we understood everything as he explained it and was eager to answer any and all questions we had. Mike makes sure that he does not leave without the owners understanding what it is they must do with their dogs in order to see improvement. This strategic guidance has helped us to see improvement in our dogs behavior in just two days. Needless to say, we are extremely pleased with the services Mike provided us with. We highly recommend his services as a knowledgeable and caring dog trainer!


Amanda R.
New Canaan, Connecticut

June 5 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

Now we know why Mike gets the great reviews that he does! He taught us what we could do to do to help our German Shepherd, Leo, not feel like he needed to be protecting us at all times. His methods were simple, effective and totally made sense! Mike's an honest guy who clearly takes pride in what he does. After a short time of implementing his methods, we are seeing amazing results!


Stacey and Larry K.
Stamford, Connecticut

May 24 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

Thank G-d for Mike. We bought a dog who eventually will by a pet therapy dog. After a lot of research I picked a breed that the breeder told me would be a breeze in terms of training, listening, BARKING...you have the picture. I am recovering from a chronic illness, the breeder swore Perfect MatcH! NOT! I love our dog. But she has become increasingly a barker,jumper, hyper,experiencing separation anxiety to name a few of the behaviors this breeder said this easy going dog would not have. Being proactive she was enrolled in classes before we had gotten her. She is now 16 months and she and we are frustrated and confused. Doing everything trainer are telling us, but things haven't worked. Until Micheal. Within 20 minutes of Micheal being with us, she and we began to change. His patience with us and limit setting with her already made a more peaceful home. His explanations were clear, precise logical and caring. He also made us take ownership for what we are responsible for in term of her behaviors and ours. We have work to do, but we have hope. Is there a Nobel Prize for dog trainers?


Rona S.
Stamford, Connecticut

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bethel, Botsford, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Cos Cob, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Gaylordsville, Georgetown, Greens Farms, Greenwich, Hawleyville, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Old Greenwich, Redding, Redding Center, Redding Ridge, Ridgefield, Riverside, Roxbury, Sandy Hook, Shelton, Sherman, Southport, Stamford, Stevenson, Stratford, Trumbull, Washington, Washington Depot, Weston, Westport, Wilton

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC