what our clients say about Michael Konstantaras

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michael

May 18 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

Mike Konstantaras came to my house to help me with my 2 year old German Shepard Cujo. I asked him to help me because Cujo was very aggressive towards visitors and had taken control of my home. Michael was amazing! In less than 1 hour we had Cujo not barking or charging the door when he rang the bell and knocked on the door. Mike was able to enter my house without Cujo going after him and Cujo remained calm when I used the techniques Mike taught me. I had 3 other different trainers try to work with Cujo before I hired Mike. 1 trainer locked himself in the bathroom and the other 2 never returned. It is amazing after 1 sitting that Mike was able to distinguish what Cujo's problem was. He has a lifetime member in us :)


Antoinette P.
Stamford, Connecticut

May 18 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Toileting
Photo of Rachel P.'s dog

My dog Acee has been long overdue in meeting Mike! Within the first 10 minutes he got Acee to stop jumping, panting, & walking all over me. Mike uses a very unique approach in getting inside the dog's head and explaining why they act the way they do which not only made it easier to train him but for me to understand why he needed to be trained. Phase 1 of Acee's training went so well that I'm looking forward to the second phase & for my boyfriend & I to have a more enjoyable relationship with Acee!


Rachel P.
Norwalk, Connecticut

May 10 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of Davida and Mark L.'s dog

I don't even know where to start! Mike is amazing! We've not had our Chocolate Lab a week and she's only 9 weeks old but we are confident we are on the right path to having a happy and healthy relationship with our dog. He was effective immediately with house training tips, nipping, and chewing. He even connected us with a vet that we love and talked about good nutrition for our new "baby". We look forward to more training as she grows. He was even great with out 8 year old daughter. We now have a lifetime relationship and I know that he will continue to teach us to teach her! Thank you Mike and we look forward to making Bella a part of our family.


Davida and Mark L.
Norwalk, Connecticut

May 8 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks
Photo of Carlos O.'s dog

Michael Konstantaras is a really cool guy first off and is a genius when it comes to dogs! I have a 3+ old poodle mix (Toto) and an American Bulldog (Tyson) who I recently adopted. Both dogs would bark when hearing the doorbell ring and charge to the front door. Also Toto had a tendency of jumping on people when first coming in the house and really was all over our guests demanding attention. But when Micheal came along and taught me his great techniques within the first day I saw huge results! I'm working on what he taught me and it is getting better every day! Micheal even gave me and my little sister nicknames, KING CARLOS and Princess ANNA LOL just to remind us that it's not OK for our dogs to jump on us unless we ask- we need to think of ourselves as royalty. The techniques he taught us were very easy and not once did I feel like I was hurting or scaring my dogs. It's based on a loving respect, not a fearful one. Overall BEST DOG TRAINER IN CONNECTICUT! He makes sure before leaving your house you understand what he wants you to do and also made me comfortable that he is always a quick phone call away for any questions. So you have the better trained and best dog you have always wanted! Thanks Mike!


Carlos O.
Fairfield, Connecticut

April 25 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Mike did an amazing job changing the attitude of our dog in just 1 hour with Zoey, so I felt obligated to write this review! We have a very strong 60lb pitbull who is sweet as pie, but has energy, strength and obedience problems like you would not believe! Mike came to our home which made this process a lot easier, and made us feel comfortable right off the bat.. That is important. Zoey obviously felt comfortable as well since her behavior changed almost immediately. He taught us so many simple techniques that work so well in just 1 hour that I am truly shocked. I was always a bit skeptical of trainers and their abilities with other dogs, but Mike really knows what he is doing. The dog listens to us so much better now, and no longer runs around with reckless abandon! Thank you so much Mike for everything, you are a lifesaver! If you have any doubts about your dogs behavior ever changing, let Mike put them to ease!!


Christine J.
New Canaan, Connecticut

March 13 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of Kim M.'s dog

Let me first start off by saying how amazing Michael is. After adopting Thor we found out he was an excessive barker, leash aggressive, jumping, hyper dog. We did training and hired trainers, coins in a can and the famous ignoring. We socialized him and everything and all of a sudden it was bad. He couldn't be brought to a pet store or anything because we didnt know what could happen. When he saw a dog it was like he wasnt going to give up until he got at them. Nothing worked. We thought we would never get his barking habit solved either. We also adopted a lab puppy Maverick who is a scared solider. He isn't the most friendly to people especially men and had a tendency to want to stand his ground after his unknown past that we aren't sure of. After researching the next step we came across Michael and yes at first we were a little skeptical thinking how can it get fixed or even helped? But at that point we were willing to try anything. So we did. We contacted him and he met with us as soon as possible and I couldn't express enough how grateful and thrilled we are that we did. He sat with us went through our problems throughly, explained the process and the exercises. He did examples and it worked. To this moment I still can't believe it. He is great, personable, hands on, charismatic and experienced. He knows what he is talking about, has an experience and takes it seriously. You couldn't ask for a better person to help you out with your problems. Thor and Maverick both submissed, respected us and felt as we are the pack leader. We look forward to continue to work with them and live as a happy family. Thank you so much Michael you are a life saver!


Kim M.
Stamford, Connecticut

January 29 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Robert D.'s dog

Mike is absolutely amazing. On January 28, 2014, he came to my house to help my girlfriend and I train our beautiful dog Bella, who is a hound mix. Bella is one year old, my girlfriend and I rescued her. We were very skeptical about rescuing a dog because you never knew who the previous owners were, or what they did to the dog, and what bad habits the dog is coming with. Bella was a dog who loved to jump. As soon as you entered the room, Bella would jump all over you, never giving up. When we let her run around in the spacious backyard, she would scratch at our glass door to come inside until we let her in. Whenever we tried to walk Bella, she would yank on her leash and end up pulling whoever was walking her. It was very clear that Bella was in charge, Bella was the boss, and Bella got what Bella wanted.

Within just 10 minutes working with Mike, he quickly established leadership and taught my girlfriend and I how to do the same. His patience was remarkable and his reactions to correct things were spot on. Our lesson with him was fantastic. My girlfriend and I feel so foolish because in just one lesson, Mike fixed the problems we have been trying to fix for months.

Mikes style for training dogs never harms the dog. Not once was my dog in pain, or afraid to go near Mike. He is gentle, calm, but gets the point across. He doesn't use any shock collars, or any spanking or hitting techniques.

My advice to anyone who is reading this is; if you are thinking about a dog trainer, it means you need one. Don't delay. Your life, and your dogs life, will be so much happier and improve drastically after hiring Mike. He is great, and I HIGHLY recommend him to anyone. He is a dog psychologist.

The material you will receive is clear, to the point, and highly effective. I gave our lesson a 5 star review, but believe me, I would give 10 stars if 10 stars were offered!!


Robert D.
Fairfield, Connecticut

January 20 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Puppy Management

Mike came over for an hour this past friday, 1/17/14, to work with my 9 week old puppy Kirby. His bitting and chewing on everything that went near his mouth was driving me crazy. Within the first 20 minutes of the training, I immediately saw drastic changes in Kirby's behavior. I was extremely impressed with the technique that Mike uses and would highly recommend him. I am a first time pet owner and didn't have any idea what I was doing. Mike made me feel confident that I can do it and gave me the skills to be able to continue the training with Kirby myself as he grows older.


Carey G.
Bridgeport, Connecticut

January 17 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting
Photo of ANDREI S.'s dog

We have a Maltese puppy named BELLA. She barks all the time and she has too much energy. We called Mike to help us calm her down and to teach us how to behave with her. He was amazing, from the first few minutes of his visit, the dog calmed down and stopped barking. By the end of his visit she was almost asleep which is highly unusual for her when we have guests.

Mike gave us helpful tips on how to become the leader of our pack and also how to housebreak her. Thank you very much Mike. Looking forward to your next visit!


ANDREI S.
STAMFORD, Connecticut

January 8 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

We called Mike for some help with our Black Lab Wanda....right from the beginning, Mike made so much sense in his explanation of the importance of my husband and I being the "pack leaders" and how to effectively deal with some of her bad behaviors like jumping up, counter surfing and not coming when called....due to Mike's expertise and knowledge of dog behavior and his instruction,we have already seen a big improvement in Wanda's behavior-she no longer tries to get out of the door before us, is not jumping up on us and guests, and is getting better with coming when called....Mike, you worked some miracles with Wanda and we will keep up with the training that you gave to us!


Carolyn and Martin B.
Easton, Connecticut

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bethel, Botsford, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Cos Cob, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Gaylordsville, Georgetown, Greens Farms, Greenwich, Hawleyville, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Old Greenwich, Redding, Redding Center, Redding Ridge, Ridgefield, Riverside, Roxbury, Sandy Hook, Shelton, Sherman, Southport, Stamford, Stevenson, Stratford, Trumbull, Washington, Washington Depot, Weston, Westport, Wilton

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC