what our clients say about Michael Konstantaras

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michael

April 25 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Mike did an amazing job changing the attitude of our dog in just 1 hour with Zoey, so I felt obligated to write this review! We have a very strong 60lb pitbull who is sweet as pie, but has energy, strength and obedience problems like you would not believe! Mike came to our home which made this process a lot easier, and made us feel comfortable right off the bat.. That is important. Zoey obviously felt comfortable as well since her behavior changed almost immediately. He taught us so many simple techniques that work so well in just 1 hour that I am truly shocked. I was always a bit skeptical of trainers and their abilities with other dogs, but Mike really knows what he is doing. The dog listens to us so much better now, and no longer runs around with reckless abandon! Thank you so much Mike for everything, you are a lifesaver! If you have any doubts about your dogs behavior ever changing, let Mike put them to ease!!


Christine J.
New Canaan, Connecticut

March 13 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of Kim M.'s dog

Let me first start off by saying how amazing Michael is. After adopting Thor we found out he was an excessive barker, leash aggressive, jumping, hyper dog. We did training and hired trainers, coins in a can and the famous ignoring. We socialized him and everything and all of a sudden it was bad. He couldn't be brought to a pet store or anything because we didnt know what could happen. When he saw a dog it was like he wasnt going to give up until he got at them. Nothing worked. We thought we would never get his barking habit solved either. We also adopted a lab puppy Maverick who is a scared solider. He isn't the most friendly to people especially men and had a tendency to want to stand his ground after his unknown past that we aren't sure of. After researching the next step we came across Michael and yes at first we were a little skeptical thinking how can it get fixed or even helped? But at that point we were willing to try anything. So we did. We contacted him and he met with us as soon as possible and I couldn't express enough how grateful and thrilled we are that we did. He sat with us went through our problems throughly, explained the process and the exercises. He did examples and it worked. To this moment I still can't believe it. He is great, personable, hands on, charismatic and experienced. He knows what he is talking about, has an experience and takes it seriously. You couldn't ask for a better person to help you out with your problems. Thor and Maverick both submissed, respected us and felt as we are the pack leader. We look forward to continue to work with them and live as a happy family. Thank you so much Michael you are a life saver!


Kim M.
Stamford, Connecticut

January 29 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Robert D.'s dog

Mike is absolutely amazing. On January 28, 2014, he came to my house to help my girlfriend and I train our beautiful dog Bella, who is a hound mix. Bella is one year old, my girlfriend and I rescued her. We were very skeptical about rescuing a dog because you never knew who the previous owners were, or what they did to the dog, and what bad habits the dog is coming with. Bella was a dog who loved to jump. As soon as you entered the room, Bella would jump all over you, never giving up. When we let her run around in the spacious backyard, she would scratch at our glass door to come inside until we let her in. Whenever we tried to walk Bella, she would yank on her leash and end up pulling whoever was walking her. It was very clear that Bella was in charge, Bella was the boss, and Bella got what Bella wanted.

Within just 10 minutes working with Mike, he quickly established leadership and taught my girlfriend and I how to do the same. His patience was remarkable and his reactions to correct things were spot on. Our lesson with him was fantastic. My girlfriend and I feel so foolish because in just one lesson, Mike fixed the problems we have been trying to fix for months.

Mikes style for training dogs never harms the dog. Not once was my dog in pain, or afraid to go near Mike. He is gentle, calm, but gets the point across. He doesn't use any shock collars, or any spanking or hitting techniques.

My advice to anyone who is reading this is; if you are thinking about a dog trainer, it means you need one. Don't delay. Your life, and your dogs life, will be so much happier and improve drastically after hiring Mike. He is great, and I HIGHLY recommend him to anyone. He is a dog psychologist.

The material you will receive is clear, to the point, and highly effective. I gave our lesson a 5 star review, but believe me, I would give 10 stars if 10 stars were offered!!


Robert D.
Fairfield, Connecticut

January 20 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Puppy Management

Mike came over for an hour this past friday, 1/17/14, to work with my 9 week old puppy Kirby. His bitting and chewing on everything that went near his mouth was driving me crazy. Within the first 20 minutes of the training, I immediately saw drastic changes in Kirby's behavior. I was extremely impressed with the technique that Mike uses and would highly recommend him. I am a first time pet owner and didn't have any idea what I was doing. Mike made me feel confident that I can do it and gave me the skills to be able to continue the training with Kirby myself as he grows older.


Carey G.
Bridgeport, Connecticut

January 17 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting
Photo of ANDREI S.'s dog

We have a Maltese puppy named BELLA. She barks all the time and she has too much energy. We called Mike to help us calm her down and to teach us how to behave with her. He was amazing, from the first few minutes of his visit, the dog calmed down and stopped barking. By the end of his visit she was almost asleep which is highly unusual for her when we have guests.

Mike gave us helpful tips on how to become the leader of our pack and also how to housebreak her. Thank you very much Mike. Looking forward to your next visit!


ANDREI S.
STAMFORD, Connecticut

January 8 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

We called Mike for some help with our Black Lab Wanda....right from the beginning, Mike made so much sense in his explanation of the importance of my husband and I being the "pack leaders" and how to effectively deal with some of her bad behaviors like jumping up, counter surfing and not coming when called....due to Mike's expertise and knowledge of dog behavior and his instruction,we have already seen a big improvement in Wanda's behavior-she no longer tries to get out of the door before us, is not jumping up on us and guests, and is getting better with coming when called....Mike, you worked some miracles with Wanda and we will keep up with the training that you gave to us!


Carolyn and Martin B.
Easton, Connecticut

January 7 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead

This was the most incredible experience. This is the best thing you can do for you, your family and your dogs. I have 4 adult dogs ranging from 2-9 years old and within 30 min, Mike had all four dogs changed and with a new awareness of who is in charge! Then they all fell asleep! It was fantastic.


Abigail M.
Darien, Connecticut

December 24 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

We are new parents to 8 month old Zeus, rescued Pit bull, who is adorable and pretty much did whatever he wanted with us and we had no idea how to stop him. Before we invited Mike to our home, there was a lot of jumping up on people, constant jumping on the counters, beds, chewing, biting, pulling and running around the house like a maniac. Zeus pretty much crossed all the lines and tested us with his uncontrollable behavior. I was afraid that his biting could get out of control, since he has no idea how hard he really bites and thinks all is a game time, and one day he could hurt someone. Our poor mail man had to stop and walk away any time he saw Zeus on the street. It was not a good attribute but we did not know what to do to change it. All trainers, books and websites that we visited teach different techniques and it was all time consuming and pretty much useless as Zeus would still not listen to us. It all ended within 10 minutes after Mike walked into our home. I felt like he put a spell on Zeus as he listened to him right away and for more importantly he listened to us too. I cannot imagine keeping Zeus if it wasn't for Mike's help and extremely positive reinforcement!!! I could finally hug and kiss Zeus without being afraid that he would bite my ear off. Zeus is a completely different dog! Mike went over a few basic rules with us, showed us some techniques and pretty much was out the door within an hour leaving us with a brand new pet! This training REALLY WORKS!!!! We are extremely grateful for all your help!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much Mike!!!!!


Violet & Michael K.
Stamford, Connecticut

December 23 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Puppy Management
Photo of Kara J.'s dog

Awesome Puppy visit with Mike! My 8 1/2 week Cavapoo is a doll, but like any other pup likes to chew and mark his spot. In just a little over an hour I was puppy trained - and Avanti hasn't nipped my hands or feet in 5 days. Thanks Mike! Can't wait til our next lesson!


Kara J.
Bridgeport, Connecticut

December 12 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of Dave &.'s dog

Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks??? We were at our wits end when we adopted our new dog Jack. Michael has been instrumental in transforming an unruly, frightened, and largely unmanageable rescue dog into a well-behaved and welcome member of our household. For example, when Jack first arrived to our home, he constantly jumped up on us and when my husband approached, he ran away from him and cowered in a corner of our kitchen, refusing to move. He was also displaying a lot of aggression and growling at him. Michael's help has been invaluable in Jack's transformation, by helping us understand Jack's fear and how to gain his trust. It has been only 4 weeks since Michael first came to our house and now Jack and David are best friends! While Jack is still in the process of learning more complex commands, we know that Michael will continue to guide us on how to help Jack learn them. Kudos on a job well done!


Dave &.
Fairfield, Connecticut

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bethel, Botsford, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Cos Cob, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Gaylordsville, Georgetown, Greens Farms, Greenwich, Hawleyville, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Old Greenwich, Redding, Redding Center, Redding Ridge, Ridgefield, Riverside, Roxbury, Sandy Hook, Shelton, Sherman, Southport, Stamford, Stevenson, Stratford, Trumbull, Washington, Washington Depot, Weston, Westport, Wilton

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC