what our clients say about Michael Konstantaras

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michael

January 7 2014

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead

This was the most incredible experience. This is the best thing you can do for you, your family and your dogs. I have 4 adult dogs ranging from 2-9 years old and within 30 min, Mike had all four dogs changed and with a new awareness of who is in charge! Then they all fell asleep! It was fantastic.


Abigail M.
Darien, Connecticut

December 24 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

We are new parents to 8 month old Zeus, rescued Pit bull, who is adorable and pretty much did whatever he wanted with us and we had no idea how to stop him. Before we invited Mike to our home, there was a lot of jumping up on people, constant jumping on the counters, beds, chewing, biting, pulling and running around the house like a maniac. Zeus pretty much crossed all the lines and tested us with his uncontrollable behavior. I was afraid that his biting could get out of control, since he has no idea how hard he really bites and thinks all is a game time, and one day he could hurt someone. Our poor mail man had to stop and walk away any time he saw Zeus on the street. It was not a good attribute but we did not know what to do to change it. All trainers, books and websites that we visited teach different techniques and it was all time consuming and pretty much useless as Zeus would still not listen to us. It all ended within 10 minutes after Mike walked into our home. I felt like he put a spell on Zeus as he listened to him right away and for more importantly he listened to us too. I cannot imagine keeping Zeus if it wasn't for Mike's help and extremely positive reinforcement!!! I could finally hug and kiss Zeus without being afraid that he would bite my ear off. Zeus is a completely different dog! Mike went over a few basic rules with us, showed us some techniques and pretty much was out the door within an hour leaving us with a brand new pet! This training REALLY WORKS!!!! We are extremely grateful for all your help!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much Mike!!!!!


Violet & Michael K.
Stamford, Connecticut

December 23 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Puppy Management
Photo of Kara J.'s dog

Awesome Puppy visit with Mike! My 8 1/2 week Cavapoo is a doll, but like any other pup likes to chew and mark his spot. In just a little over an hour I was puppy trained - and Avanti hasn't nipped my hands or feet in 5 days. Thanks Mike! Can't wait til our next lesson!


Kara J.
Bridgeport, Connecticut

December 12 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of Dave &.'s dog

Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks??? We were at our wits end when we adopted our new dog Jack. Michael has been instrumental in transforming an unruly, frightened, and largely unmanageable rescue dog into a well-behaved and welcome member of our household. For example, when Jack first arrived to our home, he constantly jumped up on us and when my husband approached, he ran away from him and cowered in a corner of our kitchen, refusing to move. He was also displaying a lot of aggression and growling at him. Michael's help has been invaluable in Jack's transformation, by helping us understand Jack's fear and how to gain his trust. It has been only 4 weeks since Michael first came to our house and now Jack and David are best friends! While Jack is still in the process of learning more complex commands, we know that Michael will continue to guide us on how to help Jack learn them. Kudos on a job well done!


Dave &.
Fairfield, Connecticut

November 11 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Hyperactivity Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of Katie B.'s dog

I rescued a 5 year old Doberman Pinscher, Rita, a few months ago. She would never relax - always whining and pacing - and always on guard, in and outside of the house. When Michael came, within minutes of working with Rita, her demeanor completely changed. She actually left the room and lied down on her bed, on her own. When we did a walking lesson, she went from high alert to not taking her eyes off of me - it was such a drastic and wonderful change within minutes. You can tell Michael really cares about what he does, understands dogs and really wants to help you be happy with your dog. Give him a call!


Katie B.
Stamford, Connecticut

November 2 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of Nicholas H.'s dog

Mike is an absolute expert. No one I have ever met that claims to know dogs, truly knows and understands the psychology of dogs the way Mike does. He gave me an incredible understanding for the way I need to communicate with my dog Chief, and it has immensely improved his behavior at home and outside of the house as well. All of this was achieved without doing anything harmful or fearful to my dog. I actually believe Chief loves me more after our lesson! Chief used to jump all over guests and myself when sitting on the couch, now he respects my personal space and sits off to the side like a well mannered boy! The techniques Mike has shown me have let Chief know that I am the leader of the pack and he knows this now. He walks into rooms and out of doorways after me, he even has been heeling properly on a leash! I give mike a 5 out of 5 star rating, and I cannot wait to schedule my next appointment with him to see what else I can go over with my dog chief! rock on Mike. Thank you!


Nicholas H.
Fairfield, Connecticut

October 25 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of Marcella B.'s dog

I'm the type of person who has to see it to believe it....and let me tell you I've read my share of articles/books/testimonials of "dog whisperers" claiming to work magic on dogs but it took this experience for me to REALLY BELIEVE IT!!! I've had my VIZSLA JACK (a very hyper and active athletic dog) for three years now. As good as I "thought" he was I recently started seeing Jack's habits change due to my new schedule of waking up at 5am. Naturally I thought he was just acting out and seeking attention by destructive behavior, but it got progressively worse and it was giving me extreme anxiety because I didn't know what to do anymore. The worst part is, I wasn't living by myself...I have two other roommates who were feeling the wrath of Jack's untrained behavior. I had heard of Mike's training techniques and of his highly reputable concept on dog training for a while and figured in a hope of desperation that something would help my dog....ANYTHING! Little did I know that Mike would change my life with my dog and with the dynamics of our home. I honestly can say within moments of Mike using his technique the direction in "pack leader" of our relationship (mine and jack) had instantly changed. The way Mike explained everything and showed some of the preliminary lessons really made an impact mentally within myself, but even more it proved concrete evidence of changes in Jack. I was completely flabbergasted that my dog who had done all of these annoying acts of dominance, was now being a subordinate and listening to me EVEN AFTER MIKE left my home. Its been three days and I work with Jack 30 mins - 1 hour each day (much more than Mike suggests) but I can say he is a completely different dog and now has the ability to become what I always hoped Jack would be (A SHOW DOG)! I have taken my time with Mike seriously and have utilized all the tools hes given me to make a better environment for my little boy and myself and of course our roommates. I wish I could say it was all in my head but when I had visitors only two days after Jack's first meeting with Mike and heard them say "omg he's like a different dog" I knew that it was all worth it!!! Thank you soo much Mike and I am so excited to see what Jack will do with all this new energy placed in the right places :)!!


Marcella B.
Stamford, Connecticut

October 25 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

We never would have learned that our behaviors were actually triggering, negative behaviors in our dogs! Without the knowledge, skills and expertise that Michael brought our family, we were heading in bad directions (and have been for years). We were will killing with love! Who knew such a thing could be so distructive, but, our family was being walked all over by our controlling dogs! 2 Yorkshire Terrior's, male, Rocky and Rudy and one Chinese Crested name Fifi. They had their life altering lesson just yesterday. We are applying the learned behaviors, every change we get and here are some things, within 24 hours that DO NOT happen anymore. When a knock at the door or doorbell rings, my pet's sit and wait for me to answer the door and no longer bark to the point of insanity, aggrevating neighbors. When we want them to join us on the the furniture, they are invited now. Also, they no longer walk all over us and BARK at us, demanding treat time. Can you belive they dictactated to US when treat time would be? Yes, and we let it happen. Next, the Chinese Crested and Queen Bee - has a horrible seperation anxiety issue. She literally use to scream when we left the house. Now, using techniques by Michael, and he did have to teach us to be IN CHARGE - Miss Fifi has "time out" in her room - we follow that with some behaviors that allow her to know, she is not attached to us and there is a seperation between us and she is now quiet. I never thought I'd ever say that. Our dogs are getting up there in age. Not puppies. We thought "you cannot teach an old dog new tricks". The best news of all, is YES, in fact you can with the right trainer and thearpy! We are living a more comfortable life as we are back to being the owners of our home and our pets. Also, worth mentioning, one of the Yorkshire Terriors was blind and I was very worried about him, because, he can not "see" what some of the techniques were - but Michael had a solution for my poor Blind Rocky - and even his barking insanity has changed! Thanks MICHAEL!!!


Marybeth M.
Black Rock, Bridgeport, CT, Connecticut

September 19 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

George is a fourth month old labradoodle. Our biggest concern with George is biting and jumping. Michael explained the training techniques clearly and now George is well on his way to being a well behaved puppy. I was amazed at how quickly George learned to no longer bite or jump. Michael also helped tremendously with the house training. His ideas on how to house train George really worked. George is more relaxed now as a result of the training and we are having a great time with our new puppy. Thank you, Michael!


Patty B.
Fairfield, Connecticut

September 3 2013

Michael Konstantaras dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting

Michael did an amazing job! I have a yorkie and a chihuahua who love to bark. Not only was he able to calm them but he showed me how to calm them. He also showed me how to resolve my chihuahuas issue with going to the bathroom in the house. By time he left my dogs were completely relaxed. I'm looking forward to enjoying peace and quiet with my behaved dogs! Thanks Michael !


Gina T.
Fairfield, Connecticut

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bethel, Botsford, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Cos Cob, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Gaylordsville, Georgetown, Greens Farms, Greenwich, Hawleyville, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Old Greenwich, Redding, Redding Center, Redding Ridge, Ridgefield, Riverside, Roxbury, Sandy Hook, Shelton, Sherman, Southport, Stamford, Stevenson, Stratford, Trumbull, Washington, Washington Depot, Weston, Westport, Wilton

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC