what our clients say about Michelle McCarthy

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michelle

What our Clients are saying about us

September 6 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called

You can teach an old dog new tricks! Our 9 yr old boxer was getting aggressive towards strangers both in and out of our yard and barking all of the time. He is a totally different dog after one session! It is like he quit his job as full time protector and is taking it easy now. The weight of the world is off his shoulders and he is relaxed. He is listening, attentive and responsive to our commands. I highly recommend Michelle and her techniques - she truly is a dog whisperer.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thanks so much Kristy! It is such a joy to see dogs relax when they understand they no longer have to be in charge of everything, nor be responsible for keeping everyone safe. Now your sweet senior is getting his well-deserved retirement from service. Good for him, and all of you too! ;-)

Kristy E.
Piermont, New York

July 24 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of Robert A.'s dog

Michelle is an expert on dog behavior and dog training. She has helped me solve several behavior problems I was having with my puppy. She is an excellent teacher who clearly makes sure you understand and practice the skills of the training session.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thank you Robert. It's been such fun helping you with your puppy! He's got a strong will, but is cute as can be and is such a loving companion. It was a good decision to start working with him now to ensure he starts off heading in the right direction. As always, I'm here anytime you need me to help you with training!

Robert A.
Central Valley, New York

February 23 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called

Michelle is great. She is very personable and informative with both humans & dogs 😊

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thanks Michelle! I have loved working with you guys as well. Keep me posted! Michelle

MICHELLE A.
congers, New York

November 18 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting Other
Photo of Alexandria M.'s dog

I have an existing 8yr old male mixed breed 55lbs and introduced an 8lb female pit bull puppy and it didn't go well. The 8yr doesn't like small dogs and the house was in complete chaos. Michelle came and I saw an immediate improvement. The baby started learning her boundaries and the older dog became more tolerant. In 1 session the baby was able to sit, stay and set free on command as food was being placed down. The puppy chewing decreased dramatically. We moved on to work on door boundaries and walking skills. Over the course of 2 months Michelle was there to support and reassure that we were capable leaders. Today, the puppy and the older dog both are wonderful. They are working on their door boundaries and have come a long way. They are playing like two siblings while respecting each others private space (sleeping and eating). They know their basic commands. I am amazed at Michelle's calm ability to give me the skill sets to manage these furbabies. Was worth every penny. But you have to be ready to take the skills you are taught and incorporate them in to your everyday life.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Alex, Thank you! It was such a pleasure to work with your family and help your puppy fit in. It has been such a joy to receive the pictures you send of your younger and older dog getting along so well together, as brother and sister :-) Well done to you guys! Michelle

Alexandria M.
stony point, New York

September 2 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other

Today's lesson was nothing short of remarkable, I could not believe with my own eyes how my animals refrained from inhaling all the snacks I threw on the floor, amazing is what it was. With guidance from Michelle McCarthy, I was able to train them not to charge out of the crate but wait to be asked out while in the sit position ... unbelievable! Coming when called and staying by my side was a new treat for me, they would never stay by my side on a daily basis, they would meander wherever and whenever, that was corrected in literally minutes. Michelle is our miracle worker, I would/will highly recommend her. Looking forward to future training. Thanks Michelle! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Kim, You have done such a fantastic job with the boys and have gained such control with them. Well done! It's been a pleasure working with all of you! Michelle

Kim M.
Warwick, New York

August 10 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of Brittany L.'s dog

We have a 1 year old female cockapoo and a 7 month old male micro mini goldendoodle puppy. Our cockapoo showed aggression towards us at times, lashing out when we would pet her, try to move her off of a seat, etc. She also gave us a difficult time coming back in the house at night time. We are currently working on basic training with our other 7 month old puppy. We have had two training sessions with Michelle, and we began to see a change in our puppies immediately. She changed our dog's aggressive behavior and she has been so much more loving and mellow. We are now working on leash training with both puppies and it is challenging, but Michelle is the true "pack leader" and teaches you and everyone in the family how to also be the leader to change your dog's behavior. She is wonderful and I'm so glad we contacted Bark Busters. Our puppies are friendlier and happier than ever! I would definitely recommend Bark Busters to others who are experiencing a difficult time taking control and training their dog.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Brittany, Your family has been great to work with and you have done wonderfully with the pups! I'm glad you are enjoying them even more. And I love this picture :-) ! Michelle

Brittany L.
Tappan, New York

January 18 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Hyperactivity Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting

We got a new puppy and were having a hard time adjusting her into the family. We called Michelle as recommended by other family members who also loved her. Michelle is outstanding; she taught us how to be the Leaders of our Pack and now both our dogs live together great!!!! They play and sleep in the same room without any difficulty. The puppy is noticeably different. She is so much easier to manage and listens great. We can't recommend Michelle enough. You will never have regrets if you use her; 5 STARS all around

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Estee and Herb, I have loved working with both of you, and ALL of your family. You are all so dedicated to your furry family members and I'm grateful to have been there to help. Michelle :-)

Estee and Herb S.
Nanuet, New York

January 16 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Bark Busters is a great training program. Michelle has helped our family work with Charlie on many occasions, each with a successful, happy outcome. She is easy to contact, responds to our questions and continues to support our training with Charlie.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Donna, Charlie is an awesome little dog and I love being able to help you keep him on track with his training when he needs a little reminding :-) Michelle

Donna C.
New City, New York

November 15 2015

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Michelle is amazing. As soon as she met our beuatiful Minature Australian Shepherd Ferri we knew that she would be great to work with and that Ferri would be in good hands. Her methods are teachable, not only to our dog but to us. She is calm, thoughtful, clear and very caring. If you follow her training schedule you will see clear results. She provides weekly updates and really makes you and your dog feel special.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Stuart, I have loved working with you both and Ferri. She is a great little dog and you have done so well to make her a well-behaved member of your family. Well done! Michelle

Stuart S.
Haverstraw, New York

September 24 2015

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Michelle is the real deal. Our five month old Shepard puppy is a pleasure to hangout with, now that we have learned how to communicate with her. If you follow Michelle's advice you will not go wrong. After 5 sessions with Michelle we are amazed at how our bouncing jumping puppy can actually sit and wait for us to welcome our guests in to our home without a leash. For me the best thing is the off leash control. What a great feeling to be able to stop a ball chasing very playful puppy in her tracks. Thank you Michelle.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Shia, Your dedication to your pup is amazing and you have done so well to get this strong-willed, full-of-energy girl to be a happy family member. And I'm happy I have been there to help. Michelle

Shia F.
Suffern, New York

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bear Mountain, Blauvelt, Central Valley, Chester, Congers, Cornwall, Cornwall On Hudson, Fort Montgomery, Garnerville, Goshen, Greenwood Lake, Harriman, Haverstraw, Highland Falls, Highland Mills, Hillburn, Middletown, Monroe, Monsey, Nanuet, New City, New Windsor, Nyack, Orangeburg, Palisades, Pearl River, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Southfields, Sparkill, Spring Valley, Stony Point, Suffern, Tappan, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Tuxedo Park, Vails Gate, Valley Cottage, Warwick, West Haverstraw, West Nyack, West Point

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC