what our clients say about Ruth Marquardt

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Ruth

What our Clients are saying about us

March 25 2017

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety

I have a 2 1/2 year old pitbull named Coco and a 5 year old mix breed named Jaida. I called Barkbusters because Coco needs help. She is very loving to her family but does not like anyone else coming to the house. I frankly didn't trust what she would do because she appeared to assume everyone but her family was a threat.

I received Ruth's business card from my vet and the vet tech told me she has heard great things about her. So, before I considered a pitbull rescue I wanted to do what I could to help Coco first.

When Ruth came over I was so worried that Coco wouldn't respond. But I was pleasantly surprised. Ruth taught me so much about Coco's behavior, how to treat her and how to be the best leader in our home. Coco responded 100 times better than I thought she would and Ruth assured me that her behavior was nervousness not aggression. She brought hope!

As a trainer she was extremely knowledgeable, personable and gifted. Its only been two days since she has been here but I already see positive changes and I am in control. I am excited for this journey!!

Trainer note from Ruth:
This review really made me smile, because I knew how nervous Coco's owner was and how much she wanted the training to work. I love lessons like this. Coco did respond beautifully. she is a beautiful dog and will be so much happier now that she doesn't feel she has to control everything. :)

Kristina J.
Neenah, Wisconsin

January 26 2017

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Happy with trainer. I can see with consistency that Winston will be a great dog. His barking improved and he responded to the techniques which are "doable" for my busy life.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Winston is a 3 year old Maltese. He was kind of used to getting things his own way, so he didn't feel like he had to listen to anyone. When the owner learned to "speak dog", things started improving! Winston IS going to be a great little dog!

Julie A.
Neenah, Wisconsin

December 29 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

At the first training we already noticed positive changes in our dog Reggie and we are so excited to continue with the trainins. Ruth is extremely helpful and informative!


Jena T.
Green Bay, Wisconsin

December 3 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

We think the training was phenominal. We were impressed with how quickly our dog Buddy responded to Ruth and some annoying behaviors were corrected. The training is simple and effective.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Buddy was very good in some ways, but was becoming overly protective of the family. He is a little dog - a Yorkshire Terrier/Shih Tzu mix - but felt he needed to be the protector of all and scare everyone away. Poor little guy just needed his family to tell him that's not what they wanted! He started listening right away when they started speaking dog. I love helping families become less stressed by helping the dog understand his actual role. Happy Dogs Happy Families!

Eric and Mindy W.
Kimberly, Wisconsin

November 28 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Ruth was very friendly, and I was surprised how fast both of my dogs responded to the training! I learned so much about dogs. I feel very confident with the training after Ruth left!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Rebel is a Rottweiler/Pit Bull mix. He is a timid or shy dog that really felt responsible for taking care of everyone. Recently a new baby and a few other family members were added to the household, and Rebel felt a little overwhelmed at only 11 months old. Thankfully he realized his owners could take on the responsibility just fine. Sometimes just changes in the household that do not seem significant, are to the dog. Speaking Dog makes it so much easier to communicate!

Chelsea R.
Berlin, Wisconsin

October 27 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

Ruth was very helpful in reducing Bambi's barking within the first few hours! She gave us great tips to train her and we couldn't be more thankful. Bambi has become a whole new dog and we haven't even had the follow up appointment yet!

Trainer note from Ruth:
We have now had a follow up appointment and Bambi really has improved greatly! She is a Rat Terrier/Beagle mix who is a little nervous and felt she had to keep the family safe. She now knows a little more that she does not need to be the sounder of danger! They now have upstairs tenants who make noise when moving about their apartment and Bambi does not feel the need to sound off every time she hears something. We are now working on reacting to seeing people and other animals outside while walking and she did great at her first try. She has a great relationship with her owners and wants to please them.

Kristine B.
Menasha, Wisconsin

October 22 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

Thank you so much for all of the help! Harlee and Cooper seemed to respond very well to the training, and we can't wait to start practicing. I personally appreciate the patience with me learning how to be assertive in my behavior and training, so that Harlee and Cooper respond. You were very open to all of the questions we had, and we feel very confident moving forward with the training. And, thank you so much for being there when we have questions and concerns.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Harlee is a female Boxer and Cooper is a male Lab/German Shepherd mix. Both are about 2 years old. They recently moved to a new area and now have children in the neighborhood. All of the noise and stimulation had both dogs rather excited. They just didn't know what to think of it! They needed some direction from their owners, so they knew what to be worried about and what is ok. Their owners felt they were in over their heads, so they called Bark Busters. The dogs were relieved to find out they didn't have to be so vigilant. Cooper needed to learn how to live in a house, and just restricting his area during the day when the owners were at work really will help him to understand the rules while not destroying anything during the day. Not every dog can be crated, nor should every dog be crated. There are other ways to teach a dog house rules. We are so happy to be able to help Michele and Connor with these beautiful dogs!

Michele L.
Greenville, Wisconsin

September 10 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Ruth was very knowledgable and reassured that our dong Boone was not a "lost cause" and with patience and hard work he could be a great family dog. We look forward to continued training with Ruth and can't wait to see the positive changes it will have in our dog.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Boone is a beautiful English Springer Spaniel. The owners were very concerned about some growling and snapping that Boone was doing sometimes with them, and sometimes with guests. One owner was using a physical technique to correct Boone, and Boone was a nervous dog. Being nervous already, being pinned down made him more nervous, unable to run away. He began thinking maybe everyone would try that so he just tried to keep all visitors away from him. He figured out if he growled, it would keep people away. So he used it. Once the owner starting speaking dog, he no longer needed physical techniques to correct Boone, just his voice. Boone began trusting more and he was much less nervous. Boone is a soft-hearted, sweet dog who needed a leader to protect him. Consistency will make this change permanent.

Dan C.
Larsen, Wisconsin

August 31 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Ruth was very knowledgeable about the tips she was teaching me. I have been applying them and have seen results. Ruth is the dog trainer I have been looking for for 4 years. No one else has been able to help me with the issues I am having with Bentley.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Bentley is a Labrador who was scared once when a person he thought to be a stranger, but was actually a friend of the owner, thought Bentley would remember him from puppyhood; he came in and immediately began roughhousing with Bentley. From that point on, Bentley became very worried about visitors and the owners could not allow him to meet visitors at all. He would bark and carry on even when put outside in the fenced yard. He really just needed his owners to take over that job from him. Happily, Bentley was fired from that position and felt so much better with his owners taking over for him.

Maribeth G.
Oneida, Wisconsin

August 31 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of Maribeth G.'s dog

Ruth is the trainer I have been looking for for 4yrs. The techniques definitely work.


Maribeth G.
Oneida, Wisconsin

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Abrams, Algoma, Almond, Appleton, Bancroft, Bear Creek, Berlin, Big Falls, Black Creek, Bonduel, Brillion, Brownsville, Brussels, Butte Des Morts, Campbellsport, Cascade, Casco, Chilton, Cleveland, Clintonville, Collins, Coloma, Combined Locks, Dale, De Pere, Denmark, Eden, Eldorado, Elkhart Lake, Embarrass, Fond Du Lac, Forestville, Fremont, Glenbeulah, Green Bay, Greenbush, Greenleaf, Greenville, Hancock, Hilbert, Hortonville, Iola, Kaukauna, Kewaunee, Kiel, Kimberly, King, Kohler, Krakow, Larsen, Lena, Little Chute, Little Suamico, Lomira, Luxemburg, Malone, Manawa, Manitowoc, Maplewood, Maribel, Marion, Menasha, Mishicot, Mount Calvary, Neenah, Neshkoro, New Franken, New Holstein, New London, Newton, Nichols, Oakfield, Oconto, Oconto Falls, Ogdensburg, Omro, Oneida, Oshkosh, Pickett, Pine River, Plainfield, Plymouth, Poy Sippi, Pulaski, Readfield, Redgranite, Reedsville, Ripon, Rosendale, Saint Cloud, Saint Nazianz, Saxeville, Scandinavia, Seymour, Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls, Sherwood, Shiocton, Sobieski, Sturgeon Bay, Suamico, Tigerton, Tisch Mills, Two Rivers, Valders, Van Dyne, Waukau, Waupaca, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega, Whitelaw, Wild Rose, Winneconne, Wittenberg

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC