what our clients say about Ruth Marquardt

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Ruth

March 2 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Very easy techniques. My dog responded positively on the first visit. Hoping to see a permanent change in his behavior.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Bentley saw himself as the protector of the entire family. He had also developed some troubling behaviors of correcting family members by growling and snapping at them. As his perceived role as head of the family, he felt he could do that. Once the family began using the techniques we taught them, Bentley realized he did not have to make all those tough decisions that the leader has to make. He was relieved. Good behavior can come quickly. Consistency makes it permanent. Next on the agenda: off leash control outside!

Holly S.
Reedsville, Wisconsin

February 25 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting

Very relaxed visit. Everything was explained in a way that I can comprehend. I feel like I can easily do this. I cannot wait to do the potty training.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Zues and Diesel are Yorkshire Terriers. By the owners' admission, the dogs ran the household. They wanted this to change but did not know how to do it. The dogs didn't come when called, wouldn't sit on command, it seemed that every time they received a command, they were determined to not do it. We soon found the dogs following commands and coming when called. The owners learned to speak dog and follow through on commands. They now have a way to follow through on commands. These two cutie pies have a way to go, but they are on the right path!

Carrie J.
Kiel, Wisconsin

February 20 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Other

This was a very positive experience. Our dogs responded well in just one meeting, and we are confident that we have the skills to continue to hone their behavior, and Ruth's support if we need help along the way.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Maggie and Gus are purebred Labs. Maggie is 10 and Gus is 3. With a new baby on the way and changes in the household, the barking had gotten out of hand, and Gus's anxiety was at the crux of it. Getting to the root of the problem helped Gus understand he did not have to worry so much. Both are lovely dogs!

Bjorkman S.
Wrightstown, Wisconsin

February 17 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Ruth was fantastic to work with. From the minute she arrived our four dogs were responding. My 3 Corgis and Chihuahua Mix were already barking less at the door than we've ever seen. I am eager to see where these next few weeks take us!

Trainer note from Ruth:
These 4 dogs were added to the family fairly close together. Ruby is the daughter of Winston and Lulu. Penny, the Chihuahua mix, was just a "fell in love with the puppy picture" dog as she is the only non-Corgi. The dogs responded quickly and the household is much quieter now.

Maria G.
Appleton, Wisconsin

January 23 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Ruth performed a miracle! Most producting training program I have ever participated in over 25 years and 5 dogs. The program is simple and extremely effective. Saw impressive results immediately!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Jack is an 8 month old Labrador puppy. He is a beautiful boy who had a lot of puppy energy. He was getting plenty of exercise, but not enough mental stimulation. When the owner began to speak dog, he began to use his brain more, and began to understand exactly what his owner wanted. It is amazing to see owner and dog suddenly understand each other better, and both relaxing more!

Vickie F.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin

January 15 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I have hope after one session! We thought we were going to have our lab rehomed or put down. After this session I feel I can be in control and have a happy dog-filled home.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Maddie, a female 6 year old English Springer, and Cinder, an 18 month old Labrador, also female, had been vying for the #1 position since Cinder was about a year old. The owners just did not know how to communicate to them that neither of them would be the #1 position. Speaking dog allowed them to communicate more effectively with them, making both dogs more comfortable.

Terri C.
Menasha, Wisconsin

January 5 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

Thrilled to see what the dogs did in a short time. Looking forward to correcting our dogs. Ruth did an awesome job - super excited!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Luca is a German Shepherd mix and Bear is a Black Lab, possibly also a mix. The dogs really did not know where they fit in the pack. The children were told to keep the dogs away from their food, so they began pushing the dogs away, and the young toddler was actually kicking at the dog. A misunderstanding led to some snapping by the dogs. Learning how to communicate with the dogs, and our short video "Dally Says" for the children, helped the dogs understand the correct behavior. Both were very willing for the owner to take over!

Brian J.
Waupaca, Wisconsin

December 17 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

I am very excited to use the Bark Busters training techniques - I feel as though our dog has responded well and I look forward to see much growth!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Recker is a Burnese Mountain Dog, only 1 1/2 years old. When he was still fairly young, his Chocolate Lab housemate died, and he felt he needed to take over as family protector, even correcting the family at times. Recker did not want that position, but felt someone needed to lead. He listened to the husband, but he was gone quite a bit on business. Once Mrs. learned to speak dog, Recker took note. He is responding very well. We have had a follow up visit and he is improving! Stranger aggression is not a quick fix. Consistency is very important. We will soon be moving on to outside work!

Korina H.
Menasha, Wisconsin

December 2 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Helpful in getting him to listen and not bark. Good at explaining things I was doing wrong.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Shaggy's owners had only had outside hunting dogs prior to getting Shaggy. They really didn't have much of an idea how to handle a small lap dog. Because of that, Shaggy started thinking he was getting everything he wanted, so he must be top dog. The owner had been given instructions by a well-meaning person at the shelter (may have been a volunteer) to use very physical techniques. This only made Shaggy worse, since his protectiveness and aggressive behavior came from fear. Once she learned to speak dog and use her voice and body language to show and guide Shaggy, things began to improve immediately. Shaggy is doing much better now.

Judy M.
Hilbert, Wisconsin

November 18 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Very easy to grasp and understand. The training is not overly time-consuming and our dogs were responding better after the first session.


Travis D.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Abrams, Algoma, Almond, Appleton, Bancroft, Bear Creek, Berlin, Big Falls, Black Creek, Bonduel, Brillion, Brownsville, Brussels, Butte Des Morts, Campbellsport, Cascade, Casco, Chilton, Cleveland, Clintonville, Collins, Coloma, Combined Locks, Dale, De Pere, Denmark, Eden, Eldorado, Elkhart Lake, Embarrass, Fond Du Lac, Forestville, Fremont, Glenbeulah, Green Bay, Greenbush, Greenleaf, Greenville, Hancock, Hilbert, Hortonville, Iola, Kaukauna, Kewaunee, Kiel, Kimberly, King, Kohler, Krakow, Larsen, Lena, Little Chute, Little Suamico, Lomira, Luxemburg, Malone, Manawa, Manitowoc, Maplewood, Maribel, Marion, Menasha, Mishicot, Mount Calvary, Neenah, Neshkoro, New Franken, New Holstein, New London, Newton, Nichols, Oakfield, Oconto, Oconto Falls, Ogdensburg, Omro, Oneida, Oshkosh, Pickett, Pine River, Plainfield, Plymouth, Poy Sippi, Pulaski, Readfield, Redgranite, Reedsville, Ripon, Rosendale, Saint Cloud, Saint Nazianz, Saxeville, Scandinavia, Seymour, Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls, Sherwood, Shiocton, Sobieski, Sturgeon Bay, Suamico, Tigerton, Tisch Mills, Two Rivers, Valders, Van Dyne, Waukau, Waupaca, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega, Whitelaw, Wild Rose, Winneconne, Wittenberg

© 2016 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC