what our clients say about Ruth Marquardt

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Ruth

January 15 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I have hope after one session! We thought we were going to have our lab rehomed or put down. After this session I feel I can be in control and have a happy dog-filled home.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Maddie, a female 6 year old English Springer, and Cinder, an 18 month old Labrador, also female, had been vying for the #1 position since Cinder was about a year old. The owners just did not know how to communicate to them that neither of them would be the #1 position. Speaking dog allowed them to communicate more effectively with them, making both dogs more comfortable.

Terri C.
Menasha, Wisconsin

January 5 2016

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

Thrilled to see what the dogs did in a short time. Looking forward to correcting our dogs. Ruth did an awesome job - super excited!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Luca is a German Shepherd mix and Bear is a Black Lab, possibly also a mix. The dogs really did not know where they fit in the pack. The children were told to keep the dogs away from their food, so they began pushing the dogs away, and the young toddler was actually kicking at the dog. A misunderstanding led to some snapping by the dogs. Learning how to communicate with the dogs, and our short video "Dally Says" for the children, helped the dogs understand the correct behavior. Both were very willing for the owner to take over!

Brian J.
Waupaca, Wisconsin

December 17 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

I am very excited to use the Bark Busters training techniques - I feel as though our dog has responded well and I look forward to see much growth!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Recker is a Burnese Mountain Dog, only 1 1/2 years old. When he was still fairly young, his Chocolate Lab housemate died, and he felt he needed to take over as family protector, even correcting the family at times. Recker did not want that position, but felt someone needed to lead. He listened to the husband, but he was gone quite a bit on business. Once Mrs. learned to speak dog, Recker took note. He is responding very well. We have had a follow up visit and he is improving! Stranger aggression is not a quick fix. Consistency is very important. We will soon be moving on to outside work!

Korina H.
Menasha, Wisconsin

December 2 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Helpful in getting him to listen and not bark. Good at explaining things I was doing wrong.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Shaggy's owners had only had outside hunting dogs prior to getting Shaggy. They really didn't have much of an idea how to handle a small lap dog. Because of that, Shaggy started thinking he was getting everything he wanted, so he must be top dog. The owner had been given instructions by a well-meaning person at the shelter (may have been a volunteer) to use very physical techniques. This only made Shaggy worse, since his protectiveness and aggressive behavior came from fear. Once she learned to speak dog and use her voice and body language to show and guide Shaggy, things began to improve immediately. Shaggy is doing much better now.

Judy M.
Hilbert, Wisconsin

November 18 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Very easy to grasp and understand. The training is not overly time-consuming and our dogs were responding better after the first session.


Travis D.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin

November 4 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Amazing! Ruth is so good with each dog and taking the time to make sure we understand what we need to do to make it a successful training session. I can already see results just after the first session!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Duke is a sweet 4 month old Great Dane mix, and Kealey is a tiny 6 year old Pomeranian! Duke just wanted to play but at already 60 pounds, he just didn't know how big he was! Poor Kealey didn't want to get crushed by his big paw and wasn't really sure that anyone could protect her. Getting Duke under control was important so the owners could teach him how to appropriately play with Kealey, and Kealey in turn realized the owners would not let anything happen to her. Both are very sweet!

Nichole B.
Chilton, Wisconsin

October 19 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

Very happy with the first visit, Teddy responded well to the training techniques. We also learned a lot as well and look forward to the future training sessions. Ruth is great!

Trainer note from Ruth:
Teddy is a purebred German Shepherd who unfortunately was bounced back and forth between two homes, because of a major orthopedic surgery. Once he was back with his family for good, he had some issues of a big puppy who jumped on people and just didn't listen well. He became much better very quickly! Teddy is a great dog, and his owners will be able to enjoy him more for a long time to come.

Jordan Z.
Appleton, Wisconsin

September 28 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of Brad T.'s dog

We were amazed at how fast our dogs showed improvement just by using a simple correction word. We had been to group training classes prior and not had results like this. Ruth was very helpful in addressing all of our different issues that we want to get corrected.


Brad T.
Sherwood, Wisconsin

September 23 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

I was very happy and very impressed of how well it went for the first time here. I'm looking forward to more training with Ruth.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Reina is a typical German Shepherd mix. She was trying to protect the family by scaring everyone away. The barking would have been ok as a warning, but the family was not able to stop it once it started. They soon learned to communicate with Reina a little differently, and Reina understood immediately. She truly wants to please her family and isn't nearly as confident as what she was trying to portray herself to be!

Deb M.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin

September 21 2015

Ruth Marquardt dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

I was very impressed that both my dogs listened to me almost immediately. I got them to stop jumping on people who came to the door in the first lesson.

Trainer note from Ruth:
Bully is an American Bulldog mix and Marley is a Lab/Beagle mix. Both dogs were a little overly friendly with strangers. In the first session, they learned that their owners were going to take over as the leaders. This caused them to not worry about people coming to the door, and only a small woof was needed, not barking for 5 minutes. They no longer felt the need to jump on people. Bully will be working on other dog issues once the owners have time to practice their new roles with the dogs.

Hilary A.
Waupaca, Wisconsin

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Abrams, Algoma, Almond, Appleton, Bancroft, Bear Creek, Berlin, Big Falls, Black Creek, Bonduel, Brillion, Brownsville, Brussels, Butte Des Morts, Campbellsport, Cascade, Casco, Chilton, Cleveland, Clintonville, Collins, Coloma, Combined Locks, Dale, De Pere, Denmark, Eden, Eldorado, Elkhart Lake, Embarrass, Fond Du Lac, Forestville, Fremont, Glenbeulah, Green Bay, Greenbush, Greenleaf, Greenville, Hancock, Hilbert, Hortonville, Iola, Kaukauna, Kewaunee, Kiel, Kimberly, King, Kohler, Krakow, Larsen, Lena, Little Chute, Little Suamico, Lomira, Luxemburg, Malone, Manawa, Manitowoc, Maplewood, Maribel, Marion, Menasha, Mishicot, Mount Calvary, Neenah, Neshkoro, New Franken, New Holstein, New London, Newton, Nichols, Oakfield, Oconto, Oconto Falls, Ogdensburg, Omro, Oneida, Oshkosh, Pickett, Pine River, Plainfield, Plymouth, Poy Sippi, Pulaski, Readfield, Redgranite, Reedsville, Ripon, Rosendale, Saint Cloud, Saint Nazianz, Saxeville, Scandinavia, Seymour, Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls, Sherwood, Shiocton, Sobieski, Sturgeon Bay, Suamico, Tigerton, Tisch Mills, Two Rivers, Valders, Van Dyne, Waukau, Waupaca, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega, Whitelaw, Wild Rose, Winneconne, Wittenberg

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC