Al & Lisa Holzer dog training reviews

Al & Lisa Holzer

Expert Dog Trainers, Al & Lisa Holzer

See below for all reviews for Al & Lisa Holzer, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Lauren P Wilsonville, Oregon | January 26 2014
Lisa was very easy to understand and I love the resources left with us so we could remember. Both our dogs have already improved with walking on the leash. I love how praise is enough of a reward without using any treats. The training session was fun and our dogs were exhausted! I would recommend Bark Busters because I can already tell this is going to really help our dogs and us to be a better pack. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Madeline R Wilsonville, Oregon | January 03 2014
Just that one lesson and there's a huge difference! The dogs aren't crowding the door anymore. They're all waiting to go through doorways. The hotel maid knocked on the door and they stopped barking with one growl. I told them to stay and opened the door wide (although the maid had already walked away), but they didn't try to approach the door. They're all doing well on the leashes (for the most part). How important is it that their heads be behind my leg as opposed to the middle of their head being even with my leg? Because if that's okay, they're doing great with that too. I took them out two at-a-time on their first walk this morning for potty break and it was amazing. Bella's a different dog, although she's almost hesitant to even go potty. She does go after quit a bit of encouragement. I decided I should still take one-at-a-time with Kobi and Sebastian which I did starting with their mid-morning walk. I took them all to the park about noon and walked them individually and they all did very well. When she's with me, Kobi's reactivity is greatly diminished with the growls. I can't tell you what a huge difference it's already making. I'm so grateful! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Erin F Lake Oswego, Oregon | December 06 2013
Lisa did a great job of reinforcing all the important points during the lesson. It took a few weeks to notice big differences, but Charlie responded to the "Bah" right away. After he "got it", his behavior changed dramatically! I liked that treats weren't used and we learned a lot that we didn't know! Thank you to Lisa and Al for being so great to work with our rescue dog Charlie. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Brittany D Oregon City, Oregon | November 13 2013
Lisa explained the training techniques in a way that was easy to follow and understand. I saw immediate results. Already Sarge's barking is easier to control. The next day during leash training, both dogs remembered what to do. The training experience opened my eyes to the many new techniques. I've recommended Bark Busters already! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Christie W West Linn, Oregon | July 08 2013
Lisa is wonderful - concise and patient! Our dog responded really well to these methods - this is just what we all needed! The training techniques are easy to remember and incorporate into our daily lives and routines. The training experience was interesting and enjoyable and I think our dog likes it too! We would definitely recommend Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
review image
Shannon O Oregon City, Oregon | July 01 2013
I have always been a humane dog owner and cared for them like children. Barking and rushing to the front door and yard gate, running away when not tethered, refusing to come back when called, reaching up to the kitchen counter to investigate, jumping up for attention, etc. were normal dog behaviors to me. However, my neighbors were complaining about the barking and if I didn't keep food at the back of the kitchen counter, it would disappear. When on leash Pagoda (110lbs) would pull me. Additionally I would always fear dealing with the presence of other dogs or cats. I'VE HAD ENOUGH! When I saw the Bark Busters brochure at my vet, I asked the staff and they highly recommended the training. My first session with Lisa disclosed that I was not employing the proper techniques for correcting my dogs. With a leash and a few instructions from Lisa I could walk Pagoda without him pulling me..within just a few minutes. I could not believe the instantaneous difference! She introduced me to additional corrections for undesirable habits that I have been practicing. All are very effective. She also instructed me on how and when to praise good behavior. Now I have a good way to control my dogs without getting physical. On Lisa's second visit, we dealt with barking at the gate, keeping the dogs away from the front door visitor until permission is given. In the future I plan to recommend Bark Busters to anyone who will listen! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Tualatin | April 03 2013
Lisa really took the time to explain and answer questions and remind me of the correct techniques. Calliope has a long way to go, but I was and continue to be impressed with what she has learned. I wouldn't ever have thought of the various training techniques and they have made a world of difference! Calliope can be a challenge at times, but I love working with her and seeing results. In-home training is so important and I am very pleased so far. Permalink
review image
Tualatin | March 06 2013
I'm amazed at the results already! I only wish we had started our older dog Zoe earlier. I was very pleased with the natural training methods. I love the respectful way I'm now working with my dogs. Lisa is wonderful to work with! I appreaciate how she adjusts my technique so tactfully, that I often don't realize she's done it. She really listens to my needs and concerns and makes a plan to work with me accordingly! Permalink
review image
Tualatin | January 19 2013
Lisa explained the training techniques in a way that was easy to follow and understand. Both dogs responded very well..even the puppy! Training is easy to learn and practice, but you have to practice. The difference in our dogs' behavior is like day and night. They are great dogs, now they behave great too! Permalink
review image
Oregon City | December 14 2012
Everything was clear and explained well. The barking stopped almost at once! And all three dogs were no longer fixating on looking out the windows. I was hesitant with the growl at first, but it has served to be beneficial and no longer awkward. The training experience was very hands on. Being in our own home made it more comfortable for us and the dogs. We highly recommend Bark Busters. It's only been one visit, but Lisa was very welcoming and professional. She was very engaged and honestly seemed 100% committed to our needs and concerns. Her patience and warm demeanor was/is appreciated. We are very thankful and are looking forward to the journey ahead. THANK YOU! Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter