Amy Clear dog training reviews

Amy Clear

Expert Dog Trainer, Amy Clear

See below for all reviews for Amy Clear, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Kerry R Greensboro, North Carolina | September 28 2013
It was amazing how quickly Bentley responded to cues and his ability to absorb the information and training. I can't wait to show everyone how well-behaved my puppy has become and train him to be a respectful, calm and friendly dog to all. Everyone should advise their friends on the proper greeting technique to make all dogs happier! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Ruby N Greensboro, North Carolina | August 18 2013
This was very clear & concise training. All of my questions were answered completely and I like how this is not aggressive in anyway. I also like the very thorough lecture in the beginning. The visual aids helped a lot to integrate the information. During the hands-on part it was helpful to get the constant prompts. This made the process way less stressful and let me focus on my dog without worrying about forgetting what to do. I got immediate results for my dog Oscar. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Recall
review image
Jamestown | December 10 2012
Thanks to Amy, Merle has turned into a wonderful dog. At night he lies by our feet until it is bedtime - then his "Dad" takes him out to whiz and survey the property one last time. Afterwards he gets in his crate and sleeps all night. I am a little amazed that he is this calm considering where we were a couple of years ago. We seriously considered getting rid of him (call it what it is). The biggest difference has been Amy's training and the fence Amy recommended. Merle needs his space and often just wants to go outside into his back yard and do whatever dogs do (sun himself, chew on a stick, chase the squirrels, watch the neighborhood cats who taunt him). Amy taught us to speak "dog" so we know what his behavior means - a paw on top of us is not affection, it is dominance. We still have to work with him every day as he is naturally dominant (or a bit hard-headed). Yet, around other dogs he is very submissive. Sometimes he gets into a little trouble with other dogs because he is powerful and a bit goofy. I make a point of having him play with other dogs regularly. As I said, we have learned to speak "dog" but he has also learned a lot of English. He knows all his favorite people's names and will find them if they hide (he cheats though because he sniffs out the hiding places). He has also learned to get a beer from the refrigerator and bring it to us. He retrieves sticks and balls but his favorite toy is a log (yep, a log!) He knows the names of all his toys and will bring them to you if asked. Mostly these days we enjoy our time together. In the morning he chews his bone at my feet while I play on the computer. After my shower we always go for a ride in the car. When walking on a leash he is incredibly well behaved - other dogs barking or passing us do not phase him. In the afternoon, he is a great companion while I quilt. Don't get me wrong - we still have to closely supervise him with visitors because he is 85 lbs. and excitable (need to work on this). Sometimes he barks when people come to the door. Frankly, I suspect that bad behavior is just around the corner if we don't reinforce that we are the boss as Amy taught us. We love him very much and he is part of the family. Permalink
review image
Mrs P High Point, North Carolina | November 17 2012
Oh my gosh. Would my dog ever stop barking at the school bus and the mailman? I thought if I got another dog Zoey would have something else to do. Nope. Now I had 2 dogs running at the windows and barking. My husband was fed up, so my vet recommended Amy. With a name like Bark Busters my hopes were high. Day one. Lesson one. NO BARKING! The both stopped. I did get lazy and Amy came to help me again. Now I am determined and months later still quiet. Money well spent! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Recall
review image
Mark S Greensboro, North Carolina | September 06 2012
Dexter is a good dog but was scaring my friends when they came over. Hair up and barking at them. He started to nip at people and I had to do something. I talked to my vet who recommended Amy and Bark Busters. I was surprised to find out how much I did not know and am glad I did this. Dexter stopped barking immediately and relaxed. Amy even had my friend who was barked at come over and Dexter did not react. He stayed next to me and was uninterested. I still practice and months later he is still uninterested. Thank you Amy for saving Dexter. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall
review image
Mr T Greensboro, North Carolina | July 20 2012
Amy helped me with my dog, Oscar. He is a big puppy that will grow to be a big dog so we knew we had to stop him attacking the front door and jumping all over our friends. He refused to use the bathroom outside, got into our trash and the final straw was when he got our the front door and we could not catch him for 2 hours. In about 3 hours we could not believe the difference in our dog. He stopped jumping and knew that the front door was no longer his business! He's housetrained and my friends can come over again! Thank you Amy and for those who wonder, this way of working with your dog is not hard and it doesn't involve harsh collars! Best thing we did since picking out Oscar! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Greensboro | April 30 2012
Amy was so great!!!! Our dog, a 50 lb. duck retriever -- was CRAZY. He jumped on my children, he barked at people, he scratched and nipped. In just a few hours, she taught us how to take control of the situation and helped train him. She got our children involved too. Now, he is a WONDERFUL part of our family. Two years later, we had a golden retriever join our family - and he was scaring our neighbors with his aggressive barking and charging at the fence. He's a 6-year old dog... and you CAN teach a dog new tricks! Thank you Amy! Permalink
review image
Graham | January 19 2012
As a lifelong dog person with a history of successful relationships with many dogs in multiple dog households, I was dismayed and overwhelmed when an issue developed in our pack that was beyond my skills. Thankfully we found our way to Amy Clear. Amy is honest, realistic, down to earth, respectful of people and dogs, committed to improving relationships and (true to her name!) CLEAR. The thorough presentation on dog behavior was fascinating and the skill building work was nothing short of miraculous. The energy shift within the whole household was palpable and noticed by anyone who visited us. While Bark Busters provides an excellent system, it is the delivery of the information and especially the ability of the trainer to accurately assess the issues and successfully teach, support and coach all the pack members (2 legged and 4 legged) that makes the system work. Amy is a master trainer/ coach/consultant. Thanks to the depth and breath of her skills we are again a happy pack with much better understanding of, communication with and appreciation for each other. Permalink
review image
Mrs M High Point, North Carolina | December 01 2011
My dog Penney is afraid of most things so imagine my surprise when she tried to attack a neighbor dog and started growling at my friends. I tried everything I could think of but when she actually bit my nephew I was really worried. My vet recommended Bark Busters and Amy came out right away. I had no idea how stressed Penney was. She stopped barking and growling on the first day and I am happy to report almost a year later, she has not barked or growled since! I will always watch her but she is so relaxed a truly seems like nothing bothers her like it did before. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
review image
Mr K Winston Salem, North Carolina | April 13 2011
My wife and I used Amy with Bark Busters to help us with our dog Blu. Wow! We loved the entire experience. Amy is great and very knowledgeable and patient. Blu is a much better dog and we are amazing owners. When you go on a walk and people stop to comment about your wonderful dog you just know you made the right decision in hiring Amy! This will be the best spring and summer we have ever had since we can walk Blu as much as we want. Thank you Amy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more