Amy Clear dog training reviews

Amy Clear

Amy Clear

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Greensboro | August 15 2010
Two years ago we adopted a 1.5-year-old German shepherd dog named Talia from a rescue group. Her behavior was wonderful around our family, but when people outside the family tried enter her territory, Talia would turn into the "guard dog from hell." It was a nightmare to have visitors to our house because of Talia's barking and jumping. I took her to obedience classes and had success teaching her commands, but nothing I did changed her protective behaviors in the home. When I contacted Amy Clear, I was looking for a humane trainer, not one that would 'break' the dog of her negative behaviors with violence or force. Talia's bad behavior was motivated by fear, and she probably was not treated well early in life, so I did not want to make her more fearful. She was already a great dog with just our family and I wanted her to be that same great dog for others when they came to our home. Amy taught me how to be the leader that Talia needed in order to calm her fears and improve her behavior. Thanks to Amy, Bark Busters training, and lots of practice, I now can have people over to our house!!! A few weeks ago we had a family of four visit and stay with us for several days. I was a bit worried about how Talia would react-these people are friends of my husband's and I had never met them before. After an initial sniff-down, Talia accepted our guests. The second day they were here, Talia even jumped into bed with the teenagers. We are so proud of Talia; when these guests were in our home she acted like the dog she is for our family when no outsiders are present. Sweet, loveable, mushy doggy-not the Cujo-dog she had been in the past. This summer we have also had more children over for playdates and sleepovers without having to worry about "scary barking dog." When people come over, we tell Talia to go wait, and she does so without the barking and craziness that she used to do. Most importantly, she listens to me; I know that we have a connection. I've watched her behavior change slowly as we continue to practice the techniques that Amy gave us. The changes in Talia have happened gradually and she gets better and better every day. I am so thankful to Amy for helping us turn this guard dog into a family pet. Permalink
review image
Ms P Winston Salem, North Carolina | May 18 2010
Amy helped me and my dog Chloe last year. I waited until I could say that this methods works forever. Chloe would bark, run and act crazy each time someone passed my house or came to my house. It got to the point where I had to put her outside or in my bedroom and even then she barked nonstop. After just 2 visits, Chloe no longer ran to the door, barked or jumped. Even in the backyard she was quiet. I worked with her the way I was told and Chloe progressed just as Amy said she would. I kept up with it for months and it is now just normal for Chloe and easy for me. The personal attention and customized way Amy helps you and your dog is worth 2x what I paid. If you want your dog to be quiet and nice to visitors and a good solid neighbor, call Amy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Mrs V Kernersville, North Carolina | May 12 2010
My dog Maggie had been to classes and still would not come when I called her and she would run out my front door every chance she got. I worked with Amy a few months ago and the difference in Maggie is nothing short of a miracle. On day one she did not run at the door. I admit I slipped a bit on follow up with Maggie, but Amy helped get me back on track and Maggie has not run to the door in weeks. She looks, but does not rush to my door. She comes when I call her, even when she is in the backyard interested in the birds. I never thought I would see her listen the way she does. Amy makes it simple to understand how to teach your dog and the education that comes with her training is incredible and interesting. I got so much bad advice in the past and now I understand how Maggie thinks. I can relate to her and she is so much more relaxed and happy. This training should be on TV! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Mrs S Greensboro, North Carolina | May 05 2010
OK, so I have tried other classes and was skeptical if home training would be worth it. Boy, am I a believer now. After months of classes our puppy would still not really listen, come when called, or stop nipping my hands and feet. I used Amy with Bark Busters and in less than 3 days my puppy stopped nipping! It has been over 3 months and he listens, comes when called and seems so much more relaxed. If Cesar Milan could see me now! Wow. Do not even hesitate to use Bark Busters if you want to have your dog listen to you AND be happy. When I add up the actual time I got to spend in class with the instructor and what it cost me, I got more time for less money with personal, in home training. I also got to work at my own pace and I have all the support I need for me and my dog. Very cool and well worth it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Other, Puppy management, Recall
review image
mrs C Winston Salem, North Carolina | March 30 2010
My husband and I have a 2 month old Doberman mix puppy (Sampson). When we first got him home we quickly found out that our little puppy had a behavioral problem, he was food aggressive. Being first time pet owners we had no clue what to do, we felt lost and sought out answers and solutions that did not help. That is when Amy from Bark Busters stepped in and rescued us. She asked us all about Sampson and what, where and how much we were feeding him. She got all the information and then told us what we should do and exactly how we should do it. We are proud to announce after 2 weeks of doing what she said Sampson is no longer food aggressive and we are all much happier. Thank you Amy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other
review image
Mr L Kernersville, North Carolina | February 25 2010
I worked with Amy with Bark Busters over a year ago. I typically do not write reviews, but I wanted people to know that this training really works. My family and I were so frustrated with our dog when we had friends come over. He would bark, jump and never leave them alone. He pulled on the leash and made walking him miserable. I will admit that I was skeptical because my wife did training with him in a class. It worked to some level, but we still had the same issues with friends. A year ago the issues stopped and they are still gone today. This training included the family and it really makes a difference in how you can be happy with your dog. If you want to train your dog in a way that works, use Bark Busters. It worked on the first day and is still working today. I am a big supporter. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall
review image
Mrs M Greensboro, North Carolina | February 16 2010
I met with Amy over a year ago and had to take the time to write a review. Over the holidays most of my family came to visit and they did not even recognize my dog! I am so proud of her and the work we've done to have a calm and loving relationship. I think she enjoyed my family more as well. Amy was so helpful and her guidance was kind and amazing. I've learned more about dogs from her than the 3 books I read! This was the best thing I could ever do for my wonderful dog, me and my family. Even with all the hectic schedules over the holidays, the comings and goings, my girl was amazing. Thank you Amy and Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
mrs P Winston Salem, North Carolina | February 04 2010
I had no idea how great it would feel to have my dog happy AND feel empowered to communicate with my dog! I agree with all the reviews here. The training is amazing and the results are immediate. But I have learned SO much. It is all about the owner. If you do not stay with it, nothing will work, so I LOVED the education that came with the personal training. It kept me doing and Amy helped me with all my questions. Amy made this seem easy. It was fun for my dog to learn all the things I wanted. This method is so clear, the experience so positive... I cannot say enough. It has been well over a year and I have had so much support and I LOVE my dog even more. Best thing I have done in a long time. Highly recommend this! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Patricia W High Point, North Carolina | January 13 2010
Four years ago, my goal was to have my friends come to my house and sit in my living room without the dog growling and attacking them. The dog had issues of fear, insecurity, and excitement which he displayed in territorial aggression - house, car, etc. The dog would charge the front door attempting to attack. It took time and work, and today I'm happy to report that I can have friends sit comfortably in the living room, petting my dog and he is comfortable with them. The first Bark Busters visit with Amy Clear was truly amazing. She taught me how to get my dog submissive and focused on me with some new techniques. I couldn't believe it. It worked immediately! I practiced all the BB techniques faithfully through the years with lots of phone calls and visits from Amy. She ALWAYS made herself available to me whenever I had questions or with difficult training issues. I deeply appreciate the ongoing relationship my dog and I have with her - Amy is a dedicated specialist and a great teacher who gets desired results quickly. I recommend her highly, without reservation. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Ms W Greensboro, North Carolina | December 29 2009
I worked with Amy in December 2008 so it's been a year and I cannot believe the differences in my dog! The times I worked with Amy, the feedback was great and I loved the positive reinforcement. My friends and neighbors now enjoy coming to my house. I now totally believe that dog training is about the humans. This is the best method EVER! I highly recommend it! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more