Brad Howe dog training reviews

Brad  Howe

Expert Dog Trainer, Brad Howe

See below for all reviews for Brad Howe, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Jeff R Buffalo Grove, Illinois | September 17 2016
We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Jeff R
Jeff R Buffalo Grove, Illinois | September 17 2016
We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Stephanie & Dave K
Stephanie & Dave K Des Plaines, Illinois | August 13 2016
What a wonderful experience! All was fine in our home... until a new human came along - and rattled our fur babies world. Approximately 3 weeks into our daughters life - we knew something had to be done - as our 1 year old Shiba was becoming very aggressive towards our 13 year old Foxhound... and the situation was becoming very difficult to manage with a newborn in the pictures too. We had done one other training when he was a puppy - and he did well so we hoped a new form of training would solve the issue.. .and WOW... did it ever. BOTH dogs - after our first sesison were truly like new animals - we did 2 sessions and 1 walking session and really... the results are better than we could ever have hoped they would be. Both dogs are so gentle now with our baby - and so calm with each other and with other people... they are even nicer to our cat! Brad has a fantastic demeanor towards all animals - and is great with the human owners too! He makes it so easy to adopt the new methods of behavior for all involved - and with such incredible results - we have already recommended him / Bark Busters several times in the past few months. We will admit we came into the first session hopeful but skeptical - and were beyond impressed with what we gained from these sessions. We would suggest Brad and Bark Busters to anyone who asked - and wish you the same results as we had for sure! THANK YOU Brad!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Carol C Glenview, Illinois | July 31 2016
Brad is very professional and knowledgeable dog trainer. Speaking with him on the phone first I got the sense of his love for dogs and for methods that would not harm my dog. I first tried a dog school that used choke collars and just couldn't bring my dog there. Brad echoed my feelings on choke collar methods and I knew we found our dog trainer. Brad instantly found out Coco jumps on all new visitors to our home, just one of the many issues we had with Coco. He begged for food incessantly. Walking him was crazy as he zig zagged in front of me and stopped like a mule where he pleased. Brad taught us that the walk is OUR walk, not his along with a simple method of reminding him when to continue and stop. I honestly didn't think it would work with Coco. I worked with him about a week after Brad left and after just one week I saw 80% improvement on our walks. Coco stayed on my left side (my choice) he stopped when I commanded, started as well. I like that Brad stressed it doesn't have to be perfect. I'm okay with Coco being a little ahead of me but when I snap the lease (a little) he stops and waits. Totally amazing!! Never thought it would work. I love my walks with Coco now. Coco does not beg for food at our dinner table at ALL now! This is worth all the money for Barkbusters right here! Dinner was unbearable before, we couldn't put Coco anywhere to escape his crying and begging. Now he literally lays down where we allow him and not a peep! We are still struggling with teaching him front door etiquette. He hears the doorbell and gets excited. That is something we may need more help with. When we have many guests over at one time, Coco jumps at first then calms down. He calms down much quicker that before Barkbusters training but still jumps once or twice on guests but we ask him to sit and he eventually will, then we pet and praise him. We see definite improvement in the area of jumping on people but that's an area where we could probably use more help. We very much appreciate the training and guidance that Brad provided us. Living with Coco has become much more harmonious than before. We would recommend him to anyone that needs dog training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management
review image
Kristen D Prospect Heights, Illinois | June 18 2016
Brad was amazing. We could already see results after the first day! Just him being there seems to have an effect on my dog. Great techniques, you just have to continue to apply them when he is gone. Great guy and great service! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Toileting
review image
Lisa R Long Grove, Illinois | June 12 2016
We adopted a 18 month old Shepherd/Lab mix from a shelter. She was a very sweet dog but was highly energetic and mouthy in our house. Brad came to our house and spent 3 hours on our first visit. It was easy to tell that he has a great love for dogs and is incredibly knowledgeable about their behaviors. Within 10 minutes of him being at our house, he did what he called an "intervention," and we could see a huge difference in her behavior. Brad had a way of being not only strict but also loving with our dog and she immediately respected him. After our first 3 hour session, we were taught some very specific strategies to help manager her behavior in our house. This included teaching her to stay out of the kitchen while we were eating and also stopping her mouthy behavior as well as jumping on people. We also did some initial work on leash walking. His ideas were very easy to follow and made total sense. We have been working on these strategies and have noticed significant improvement in her behavior. Brad came back for a follow up visit and helped us work on some of the original interventions that he taught us yet we were struggling with. Again after this visit, we felt very confident and relieved that we had ways of dealing with our dog's behaviors. Although she still has puppy tendencies, we feel that with Brad's expertise our dog is well on her way to becoming a very well trained dog. We love the fact that he encourages us to contact him at any time with questions/concerns. We highly recommend him to anyone who needs these services. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Dana M Glenview, Illinois | May 17 2016
Brad was so helpful to us in training our adopted lab mix. His explanations were easy to understand and as we practiced he gave good feedback. I am no longer pulled down the street and can actually enjoy our walks. Also, Coal doesn't bark and go crazy at every truck that goes by during our walks. So glad we contacted Brad--I've recommended him to other friends & acquaintances. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling
review image
Tim B Palatine, Illinois | May 15 2016
Fantastic trainer, was brilliant to be able to talk to someone knowledgeable and confident in his field. All the techniques are working well and we have seen a great improvement in Rusty in such a short time! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking to bring structure into their dogs life. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Anna S Arlington heights, Illinois | March 26 2016
Mitch was having issues while walking on his leash. He was also becoming very fearful of strangers and even friends. He took to Brad right away and has been doing much better on his leash and with general door manners. You can tell he's much more relaxed when he meets people and he's even conquered his fear of our neighbor. The training techniques work great when I do them correctly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Brenda N PALATINE, Illinois | January 27 2016
We benefited much from Brad's training us to train our beloved dog. She is much more well-behaved now and our household is more peaceful. Brad is very dedicated to his profession and customized his training to fit our specific situation. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter