Dick Messenger dog training reviews

Dick Messenger

Dick Messenger

See below for all reviews for Dick Messenger, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Valerie R Sherwood, Oregon | November 03 2015
Dick repeated and reinforced the basic techniques without being condescending. I liked that there were NO treats required for rewards. Dick is a very dynamic speaker. Dick followed up with a phone call and took his time to re-emphasize important aspects. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Chris M
Chris M Newberg, Oregon | October 26 2015
Adopting two rescues (1.5 years apart and 3.5 years age difference) made for a situation with differing problems for each dog. Nina our (older of the two) timid Terrier/Chihuahua and Sam our young, more aggressive Chihuahua/Keeshond/Yorkshire Terrier created different needs for dog training. After our extensive research, we called Dick Messenger of Bark Busters. We found Dick helpful, intelligent and knowledgeable and the program a perfect match for our needs. Loving our dogs was not enough as they were sweet with us but we were clueless about what we could expect out of them. (especially Sam's unexpected and intermittent aggression) As the four of us continued through our training, we all learned. They learned to accept and respect us as the leaders in the family and we learned how to develop that role and what steps to take to assume that responsibility. Dick's ongoing training reinforced the new learning (for all of us) with each visit. Through consistency, commitment and applying the techniques, ideas and knowledge from Dick, we now see major differences in Nina and Sam. This training is unique and we now understand why it is so successful. We are happy we chose Dick and Bark Busters and we are so grateful for our experience with him. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Amber G Beaverton, Oregon | September 26 2015
When I moved from a house in to an apartment my dog Kona who is a shih - tzu struggled with adjusting. Leaving for work was a struggle because Kona has really bad seperation anxiety, she would bark and cry. Sometimes she would jump at the door and jump on me. After making my appointment with Dick Messenger I was excited to start fresh with Kona. After just a few short weeks of me working with Kona she was a whole new dog! When I left for work instead of the barking and crying she would quietly lay down in my bedroom and I would leave for work. Thank you so much Dick Messenger!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Stephanie P Portland, Oregon | September 18 2015
The Bark Busters techniques were and still are effective. Dick was very helpful and professional. I would recommend him to anyone! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Jennifer and Jason N McMinnville, Oregon | July 17 2015
The flipchart orientation and sitting around the table that Dick did was a nice format. We noticed progress and we noticed that Coco is way more coachable and eager to please than we realized! I like the fact there aren't treats involved for a reward. This one and only session was long and intense but worthwhile. I would definitely recommend Dick from Bark Busters. The training was educational and engaging. He is very thorough, professional and personable. The methods are understandable and easy to implement. Already we are seeing progress and enjoying Coco a lot more. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Jennifer and Jason C McMinnville, Oregon | July 03 2015
Dick was very entertaining and thorough in his explanation. Oreo seemed to respond to his training better than any other methods. Dick has really come to our rescue with Oreo. We were thinking of giving him up, but have seen significant improvement since our first meeting! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Sibling rivalry
kathryn D
kathryn D portland, Oregon | June 03 2015
Dick Messenger is my dog trainer. I am very pleased with the training and lessons we have received. Dick has given my husband and I our own personal home exercise program. These instructions are personally developed for our individual needs. My sweet Bella dog has been very receptive to this training and it shows! Dick has been very instrumental in our success in behavior modification with Bella. Dick has been available by phone for any questions. He has made home visits. Both my husband and myself are successful dog owners thanks to Dick! I highly recommend Dick for your training. He is able to individualize a working program for you and your loved dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
review image
Ed O Lake Oswego, Oregon | March 23 2015
Dick knows dogs. His manner is very direct with the dogs and very patient with the owners. He knows the psychology behind canine behavior and uses it throughout the training. Ed Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
review image
Amy H McMinnville, Oregon | March 18 2015
Even our 9 year old boy was able to follow the directions. The dogs got many of the concepts like the stairs and 'sit-stay'. I now get that treats are not the best way to communicate. I learned a lot which was fun. Dick was theatricalish in his presentation which made it interesting. I feel more hopeful now we can actually train these girls!! You've given us great structure. Thank you. We've already recommended Bark Busters to our friends. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Jodi and Bob N Portland, Oregon | March 17 2015
We were very impressed with Dick. The dogs were amazing with his training! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter