Donna & Jim Smith dog training reviews

Donna & Jim Smith

Donna & Jim Smith

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Tracie M Baytown, Texas | June 23 2016
Donna was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the behavior issues my dog was portraying. I was very impressed with her skill level and would highly recommend her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
review image
Eva P Houston, Texas | August 15 2015
Donna was an excellent trainer. Calm and patient with both Mosby and I. When we started Mosby's training I had puppy marks up and down my arms and legs. What I learned was that Mosby's behavior was as much my fault as his. My body language, tone of voice and demeanor were all wrong. I have my homework ahead of me but now have the tools to refer to. I feel "bah" has become my life saver. Even though I may appear strange to my neighbors. I can't thank Donna and Bark Busters enough and will gladly recommend to friends and family. Mosby will be my shining example of a well behaved dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management
review image
Jill L Houston, Texas | June 16 2015
I am very impressed with the improvement my dogs have shown after one session with Donna. She really worked some magic. A large part was that we needed to establish who was in charge, which she showed us how to do without any need to frighten, intimidate, or hurt the animals. I think Teddie the Corgi used to be the leader of the family pack: but he wasn't really happy in that role, and seems more secure now. He's a smart dog who needed leadership, as Donna explained. Hugo also is learning to come when called, and that's a big step forward. We are very happy with the training so far. Tried another group last year and quit after one session even thought that meant giving up a considerable sum of money because I didn't like the approach of the trainer, either to me or the dogs. The difference between that experience and working with Donna is amazing. She's knowledgeable, professional, fun, and gets results. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Angela S Houston, Texas | June 01 2015
It has been a pleasure working with Donna to train my new rescue dog. First of all, she was very prompt in calling me to schedule appointments and explained the training process to me. She taught my dog to sit and wait for his food, not scratch at the backdoor and walk beside me when on walks instead of pulling the leash and "walking me". I recommend Donna's training! She is so easy to work with and listens carefully to your needs. Thank you Donna for making our house a more peaceful place and training me to be a better dog owner. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry
Stacie B
Stacie B Humble, Texas | July 07 2014
Donna did wonders with our three pups! Before training my in-laws were literally afraid of our two larger dogs: when they would show up to feed/take care of them when my husband and I were on vacation they would bark, jump on the door and act very aggressive. The dogs never bit or attacked them but they sure acted like they were going to, which understandably frightened them... and us considering we are thinking about starting a family soon. In preparation for a week-long trip, we contacted Bark Busters for help so our in-laws, our pups, my husband and I would all be ready. Upon arrival we noticed something different, Donna very quickly educated us on how a lot of the things we were doing were making the dogs even more uncomfortable with people and therefore the situation worse... oops. After the initial wake-up call though, she was able to show us little SIMPLE things we could do to improve the way we introduced people to them. After the first lesson we saw enormous improvement and at the completion of the third session it was like we had new dogs! From patiently waiting at the garage door and not barking when we let people in the front door, to feeding them without jumping all over us, to having my in-laws come over and being able to love on their furry grandchildren (something none of us dreamed would be possible!)... Bark Busters did wonders for our family. My husband and I feel confident in being able to start a family in the near future and how to effectively interact with our dogs, what a blessing. We took away a lot of very useful information that can be applied to any future pets we may own, but if we ever encounter something new, we know the first people we are going to call for advice and guidance. Thanks Donna and Bark Busters for everything! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Margaret M
Margaret M Deer Park, Texas | June 19 2014
When I called Bark Busters, I wanted help in getting 2 young very hyper labradoodles to listen better and respect boundaries. Donna Smith made a huge difference, even after one visit, in training me to teach my dogs those boundaries. Teddy and Ellee now respect the doorbell and wait to be released to greet people. They no longer jump on everyone, and I and my children do not get pulled down the street on every walk. Ellee is no longer aggressive with Teddy because she sees me as the pack leader. I really loved how Donna involved my 10 year old daughter in the training and made her feel so important in the process. I would recommend her to anyone. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
JULIE R HOUSTON, Texas | May 12 2014
Donna is an excellent trainer. She has helped me with behavioral issues with an older dog, and now puppy training basics with a new puppy. She is patient, comprehensive, provides great tips and techniques, and advises on everything in a priority order. I would strongly recommend her to anyone... Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
review image
T R Houston, Texas | April 27 2014
Donna at Bark Busters did a fantastic job and we saw immediate improvement and responsiveness from our dog who is still well into the puppy stage! We worked on a number of things from the very start including jumping on people, staying away from the door when guests arrive, barking at the yard man, walking on leash. Even our dog seems to appreciate the better communication we now have, and we have a better understanding of how to convey what we want him to do. I highly recommend Donna. Her approach is fast and effective and has had a lasting positive impact. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling
Priscilla R
Priscilla R Houston, Texas | April 24 2014
We saw Donna today for our 12 wk old German Shepherd and 7 month old English Bulldog. She was great from the moment she walked in to our home. Our pups jumped all over her and she quickly corrected them. We saw improvements within the first 15 min of her being here. This is our first time working with Donna, but our second time with bark Busters. Both of the trainers we have worked with are amazing and are extremely knowledgeable. The price for in home training is also very affordable with them. Best decision we could have everade for our pets is calling Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Julia D
Julia D Houston, Texas | April 14 2014
I asked Donna to help me with my dog Roy. I have never had a dog before, and after getting a rescue who was generally well behaved, I still felt like I needed some guidance about how to walk with him and assert myself as pack leader. All of the guidance Donna has given me made sense, and was explained to me in a thoughtful and respectful way. Roy responded really well during the training session with Donna, and during our subsequent practice sessions. I saw a really nice gradual, steady improvement with Roy within a matter of a couple days of practice. While he still has some bad days, he's not pulling me nearly as much, and every day I see an improvement. I recommend Donna for not just the big problems, but the little ones as well. As a doting new dog mom, I needed someone there who could answer all of my questions, and teach my dog in a respectful, easy to understand, and natural way that just made sense. Donna did just that! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling
Trainer note from Donna and Jim : Julia is a great dog mom who understands the importance of patience and consistency in educating her new family member. Roy is such a sweet dog who is a bit of an old soul for a young dog.

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter