Donna & Jim Smith dog training reviews

Donna & Jim Smith

Donna & Jim Smith

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Michelle C Bellaire, Texas | April 07 2014
Donna was great to work with - she was friendly and professional. I called Bark Busters because Flash was counter surfing and resource guarding. Flash would at times try to guard the counters and get aggressive. After trying a couple of techniques, Donna was able to come up with an effective plan to get Flash to stop counter surfing and the subsequent aggression. The method was simple and easy for me to do - I had Flash under control in the kitchen within a couple of days! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Donna C Baytown, Texas | February 20 2014
The training session was EXCELLENT! Donna Smith was extremely knowledgeable and assessed the situation thoroughly and efficiently. Her intuition about my dog's personality, our relationship and his issues was spot on. She taught me how to work with Buster during our session, observed me interacting with him and guided me in training him. The plan she devised for me has worked perfectly. I was desperate for help and she was my angel because I have had incredible results following her plan and implementing her suggestions. I have also found great peace of mind in resolving this problem. Buster was becoming increasingly aggressive toward dogs who walked by our property whether they were running loose on their own or on a leash walking with their owners. Buster is enclosed by an in-ground wire fence and would run the fence line barking at dogs when they passed by our house. He also would frequently get shocked by the fence while running and barking because he would not mind the warnings from his receiver collar in his agitated state. Although he had not violated the fence line, I was afraid he would ultimately cross it with his increasing agitation and apparent aggression. Luckily, after Donna had been working with us for an hour or so during our session, a neighbor came by with her dog on a leash and Donna got to see Buster "in action." She worked with him giving him corrections as the neighbor passed by our house a few times (we asked the lady to walk by repeatedly for us). On their last pass by us, Donna had Buster sitting down and not even pulling on the leash attempting to run at them. Observing that, I was convinced this would work for us. Her session with me was on Sunday and after working with him per her recommendations twice on Monday and once Tuesday morning, I had the opportunity to work with Buster while a neighbor and her dog walked by on Tuesday afternoon. He came to me on command and sat down by me while we watched the dog and owner walk by our house. Buster whined as he sat but did not run or bark at them and remained in control after those few training sessions!!!! I continue to work with him and continue to see improvement. The training is so effective. One month later, I now can control him purely with voice command (without him being on a leash) when dogs walk by our house. Buster is a one year old lab/retriever mix whom I adopted six months ago. Now, thanks to Bark Busters, I know he has a long future with us. Thank you so much!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
review image
Houston | February 02 2012
We have a six pound Pomeranian whom we got at 9 months of age. She is now 2 and has always been a barker and jumper with a mind of her own. Donna came to our house and in two hours had trained us on how to train Bandi. She had us well on our way before she left. Bandi has made huge strides in all areas and we are very happy with the results. Permalink
review image
Houston | September 11 2011
I contacted Donna because my 9-month-old Coton was constantly yapping at everything outside and inside the house. He was restless and driving me crazy. I could not let him greet people because I wasn't sure what he was going to do, and he had to be crated if had children visiting my house. He was also pulling on the leash and I felt embarrassed taking him for a walk due to his aggressive barking at people. We had done some basic puppy training based on operant conditioning (rewarding the dog with a treat) with him elsewhere so the dog knew the basics. However, it wasn't until Donna got here when the he understood what was really expected of him. After a two-hour session with Donna the barking, pulling and ambivalent behavior was gone. And this was all accomplished without the treats, which I found a lot more convenient and natural for me. The next day after Donna's visit I wasn't sure if the dog was sick because he was so peaceful. He wasn't sick. He simply knew what was his role now. I was the alpha in the house, not him. I would protect the house so that the dog didn't have to do it. The yapping, pulling, aggressive and otherwise ambivalent behavior around strangers and children was gone. When someone knocks at the door now, he knows that he's not supposed to bark and run to the door but he'll wait and do what is expected of him. I believe that dogs do well if they can. Before Donna got here my dog couldn't. Donna gave me the dog I always wanted. I highly recommend her. Thank you so much! Permalink
Houston | November 08 2010
Donna is always all smiles and did a GREAT job helping me teach my Weimaraner good manners when we have guest at the house!! She is AMAZING!! Permalink
review image
Houston | October 09 2008
Donna is a miracle worker, especially on the outdoor training sessions! Permalink
review image
Houston | November 09 2007
I can't believe the change in our dog after just one session. He no longer refuses to leave his crate when we call him, and he isn't growling at our children. We aren't afraid of our dog any more. Permalink
review image
Houston | November 09 2007
Donna is wonderful -- very knowledgeable about dog behavior. I was always able to call her and get prompt solutions to my dog problems. I loved working with Bark Busters! Permalink
review image
Houston | September 07 2007
I had a new dog within 15 minutes. I was shocked at how simple it was. Permalink
review image
Houston | September 06 2007
Bark Busters provided the tools that we really needed to work with our dogs, and it's proving to be effective -- our dogs were definitely responding and exhausted by the end of the session. Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter