Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks dog training reviews

Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

Expert Dog Trainers, Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

See below for all reviews for Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Christine H
Christine H Chicago, Cook, Illinois | April 17 2021
I wanted to give you an update on Stella this week since your visit here on Monday. The water bottle has worked wonders!! She is a different dog outside amongst other dogs. All I have to do is say Bah when we see a dog and show her the water bottle and when we walk by dogs she does not do a thing. I have not had this experience with her in over a year. I no longer am avoiding dogs and crossing the street when they are coming towards us. It is life changing and we are so proud of her. We are continuing the training but I just wanted to let you know as it has been mind blowing the change in her. I am taking the elevator and walking into our building through the front door and that is just amazing. We have tried so many other trainers and nothing has worked until now. Thank you thank you thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you!
review image
Jennifer K River Forest, Illinois | March 12 2021
We cannot say enough wonderful things about Marlene's dog/puppy training! Marlene conveys simple yet life changing/mind opening dog/puppy training concepts so clearly and - our household is running so much more smoothly as a result. We have two daughters - and Marlene is able to figure out what each household member needs to do to get the best out of our puppy - rather than a cookie cutter approach that the dog will not respond to - as dogs interact with adults differently than children - and vice versa. We did not want to treat train our dog, scare/intimidate the dog into behaving, or have a shock collar - the Bark Busters approach was perfect for us and our dog. After I found Bark Busters I read Marlene and Howard's reviews and signed up. Now, people cannot believe how calm our dog is - and how we can get her attention and cooperation with a small Bark Busters training aid - it is amazing. By zeroing in on a dog's basic needs Marlene has guided us to be leaders for the dog in such a way that our dog is an enhancement for our family and home instead of an overwhelming and out of control anxious dog frequently getting into trouble. I can now see how well intentioned people contribute to creating an out of control or anxious dog. The Bark Busters concepts are straightforward, easy to understand, and directly presented. In the era of Covid, Marlene is able to watch us interact with our puppy over zoom and help us learn new things - it is better that way because she can see how our dog truly reacts to situations without Marlene's physical presence in the room. We cannot express how worth the time and financial commitment are to have Marlene's expertise available and customized to your dog/family/home situation and needs as opposed to a weekly 45 minute class for 6 sessions with 10 other dogs/people and your one household member there - who then has to translate what happened in class to the family. We have done those weekly training classes with previous dogs and there is no comparison - Marlene and Bark Busters is the only way to go. Thank you Marlene! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Digging, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you! This is greatly appreciated.
review image
Bre C CHICAGO, Illinois | October 22 2020
My husband and I have tried EVERYTHING. In person training to board and trains (which cost us a fortune) and nothing was working to train our miniature dachshund. We were struggling with him barking at every dog we saw while on walks and very bad separation anxiety as well as just some general behavioral issues like play biting and jumping. Within our first remote session with Marlene, we saw a change in Pepe. Everything they implement actually gets to the root of the issue rather than just creating a quick fix like other training programs we have tried. We were slaves to his treats to the point where he wouldn't do anything we asked unless the treat was in front of his nose. Now we don't use treats for training AT ALL! Within a few weeks, he was practically a different dog. Very obedient and easy to manage. We are still working through the separation anxiety but are already seeing improvement there. I was so skeptical as we had been burned with all our other training programs but could not recommend Marlene and her methods more if I tried! We are telling everyone we know who is struggling to train their dogs. If you are looking for methods that ACTUALLY work, this it it! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you! Pepe is a great dog!
review image
Veronica F Chicago, Cook, Illinois | October 19 2020
I called BarkBusters in desperate need of help with my one year old mini-mix. He had been pooping and peeing in the same spot in the house religiously at 5am and my two-year-old mixed breed loved to bully him around and tattle on him. Another big problem was both of them barking and or running for/out of the door and jumping on guests/getting way too excited. When Brandon came to my home it was apparent that was exceptional at his craft in the first few minutes observing my dogs’ behaviors. He showed my tips and tricks and the psychological reasons why my doggies acted the way they do. I was thoroughly impressed by the immediate response, from both my dogs, to his advice. With some practice, I finally got my little one to do the business outside and working on getting him to hold it ‘til later in the morning. My dogs are calmer and ultimately happier now. Best of all, it was obvious that Brandon cared very much about the outcomes because he would follow up every so often after the initial training to ask how the dogs were doing and if there was anything else I had questions about. I can’t stress enough how important it is for a trainer to treat your dogs as though they were individuals with real lives and feelings, not just clients. I’ve tried other group training programs and hands down would pick the individualized approach provided by BarkBusters. Would definitely recommend finding Brandon if you can get him. Highly recommended! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
review image
Jim S Chicago, Cook, Illinois | September 27 2020
Marlene was a miracle worker with a previous dog in helping her getting over aggression issues. We believe so much in her that we are hiring her again with our new shelter dog that we are adopting in the near future. We don't anticipate any real issues with the new dog but having a great trainer on your side is the best investment we believe we can make in the long term happiness of both our new dog and our family for the next 10 or more years. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling
review image
Elizabeth D Chicago, Illinois | September 17 2020
Marlene has been wonderful to work with. We are currently working with her to train both our 7 month old puppy and our 3 year old dog. We have a very stubborn breed, but Marlene always has new strategies to recommend to us when something doesn't work for our dogs. Since beginning our training program, we have seen an increase in the quality of our walks with the dogs as well as an increased understanding of how our dogs think and operate. Marlene is teaching us how to exercise our dogs not only physically, but also mentally and we have seen some good improvements. We love that the training we signed up for with our dogs lasts for the lifetime of our dogs so that we can keep coming back to Marlene for help as our dogs mature and change over the years. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
review image
Kim B skokie, Illinois | August 04 2020
After first session I noticed a difference and learning how to manage my confident puppy. I enjoyed her last evening until it was time to be crated for bed. She cried on and off for 45 minutes. The day after session one I see the need for consistent repetition as puppy recall is short lived. And I am working on my "tools". Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Puppy management
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you.
review image
Abby N Chicago, Cook, Illinois | August 04 2020
Marlene is great! We love working with her. I love the service and attentiveness. I can call with questions and Marlene is always helpful and knowledgeable. The tools she's given us have really helped me train my dog in only a few sessions. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Ann B Chicago, Cook, Illinois | July 18 2020
We have an older dog who we adopted when she was a year old. Over the years, she has become increasingly aggressive to my husband and strangers coming through the door. She is part terrier and gets very anxious. This made for a very tense household. Marlene Marks worked with us via Zoom (due to Covid-19). Seriously, we had positive results within the first week. First, Marlene showed us that our human responses were often ineffective to a dog behavior. Rather than focusing on how to make the dog change, she empowered my husband and myself to make some simple changes in our behavior and help shape the dog's response. It has improved the quality of life within our household. Additionally, what I truly appreciated, was Marlene's very straight forward techniques and instructions. She took into consideration the "individual" dog and it's personality. She gave us feedback about accepting some of our dog's quirks (don't reach out to her) and focus on changing behaviors that create discord in the home. Our dog is definitely calmer and friends who know her have commented on her improved behavior and demeanor. We are very grateful. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : You worked diligently on the behavioral exercises and it shows! Great dog!
review image
Kyle W Highland Park, Lake, Illinois | April 27 2020
My rescue dog (Dusty) has a lot of anxiety issues and we were having problems with house training her; Brandon was so amazing with teaching us how to communicate with Dusty and helping us understand what she was feeling. We had 3 sessions with him over the span of 6 months and in that time she became a completely different dog! All of the teachings are easy to understand and implement; plus they're all positive reinforcement (nothing involving shock collars, shouting, or getting rough with the dogs at all). He was also available whenever we had any questions via email, phone call, or text in between sessions. I can't recommend this service highly enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Separation anxiety, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter