Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks dog training reviews

Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

Expert Dog Trainers, Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

See below for all reviews for Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Kyle W Highland Park, Lake, Illinois | April 27 2020
My rescue dog (Dusty) has a lot of anxiety issues and we were having problems with house training her; Brandon was so amazing with teaching us how to communicate with Dusty and helping us understand what she was feeling. We had 3 sessions with him over the span of 6 months and in that time she became a completely different dog! All of the teachings are easy to understand and implement; plus they're all positive reinforcement (nothing involving shock collars, shouting, or getting rough with the dogs at all). He was also available whenever we had any questions via email, phone call, or text in between sessions. I can't recommend this service highly enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Jessica F Highland Park, Illinois | March 31 2020
I reached out to Marlene to help with my four month old puppy. Due to covid-19, she offered me virtual lessons. I was hesitant but have found that the virtual lessons are just as effective. Marlene has been patient and willing to put forth every effort to make this work. She is always available to answer any questions and works with me to understand the exercises. After just one session, I noticed a significant change in my dogs behavior! I would highly recommend working with Marlene the virtual route during the quarantine. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you! Our remote training is live!
review image
Megan C Chicago, Cook, Illinois | January 23 2020
I reached out to Bark Busters because my wife and I had found a starving stray dog in the alley behind our house. We fostered him while looking for his family and then through the process of finding an adoptive family. Lupin is a beautiful boy but understandably had some difficulty making the transition for life on the streets to domestic life. Marlene replied to my enquiry immediately and spoke to me a few days later on the phone. She was really supportive, encouraging and offered helpful , practical advice right away. She very kindly offered to come and give a free training session to Lupin as we were fostering him. Lupin has found a new home so we will not get to meet Marlene as we had planned to next week. I wanted to write a review to thank Marlene for her support and encouragement as we worked to get Lupin adopted, she is clearly a dedicated dog lover and I'm sure also a wonderful trainer. If we are ever in a similar situation, I wouldn't hesitate to call Marlene for help with training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
review image
Toni C ELMWOOD PARK, Illinois | December 30 2019
I have had only had the initial visit with Brandon and I am truly amazed! Not only is he wonderful, his knowledge and teaching style is wonderful! I have two German Shepherds who are litter-mates, a male and a female. The immediate response I got from the dogs were amazing. One example is when they were pups, I got them when they were 12 weeks, they are now 2.5, they were allowed on my bed. However, as they grew and began shedding more I no longer wanted them on my bed. I could not keep them from jumping on my bed so I used a baby gate to keep them out of my room. For the first time ever that night after training I took the gate down and they did NOT jump on my bed but slept next to the bed. It seems like a miracle to me lol. Thank you Brandon/Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall
review image
Ted C Chicago, Illinois | December 05 2019
Marlene and Howard from Bark Buster's are wonderful. After my horrible 4 week experience with another trainer I had lost faith in the dog training world. Marlene and Howard came to my house and seen for themselves my dogs behavior. Within 10 to 15 minutes I was noticing a totally different behavior. No choking, shocking or treats, just plain, simple corrections that worked! I didn't have to learn German to get my German Shepard to understand what I expect from her. This is not an overnight miracle, but they have given me the knowledge and tools to make me feel confident in this challenge. I would totally recommend Bark Buster's to anyone that needs training assistance with their dog. Thank you so much. Ted. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Alissa L Chicago, Cook, Illinois | March 04 2019
Bark Buster’s has been a huge help to me and my dog Andy. I’ve never had issues contacting them or scheduling visits. I love that they taught me how to properly train Andy without dangling a treat in his face. Their techniques are extremely easy to understand and follow. If you follow the techniques, you will see quick results. My first visit from Bark Buster was with Marlene and it didn't take long for her to see why I needed help with Andy (Jack Russell Terrier). When she came in we sat to start discussing their way of training. I gave her a cup of coffee and before she could drink it Andy jumped on the kitchen table and knocked it over. I was so embarrassed. The first training session with Marlene was about 2hrs. During that time, we discussed important skill I must learn to see improvement in Andy’s behavior. Next, Marlene helped me practice the skill with Andy. I was amazed to see how quickly and easy the process was. The remaining of my visits were with Brandon. Brandon is also an amazing trainer. Each training session with Brandon, started with a review from previous sessions of things I felt I still needed help with. After we continued with working on a new behavior discussed during my first visit. Although there were many issues I needed help with, my biggest issue was Andy’s separation anxiety. It took a while for Andy to overcome his anxiety, however, I followed the directions Brandon gave me and they worked! ReplyLike Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Gary K Chicago, Cook, Illinois | February 11 2019
Bark Busters saved our dog. We adopted a 110-lb Newfoundland to discover it wouldn't go down the stairs. If she couldn't go pee, we would have had to find another home for her, for her own safety. That's assuming we could relocate her! We had to rig up an emergency litter box. That's not good for anyone involved. Even though it worked, she was cooped up inside all day getting bored and antsy. We were still afraid she needed a new home. BarkBusters spent an extra hour in a sweaty stairwell to make sure we fixed the behavior. When we were done, our dog was parading up and down the steps just to show off. All five of us were downing water and crowding around the air conditioner when we finished. We signed up for the lifetime benefits on the spot. In addition to normal training, even if we move or if it's a year later when the dog has a problem, they'll be back. We talked about a move across the country, and they already know the name of the person who can pick up our case. If BarkBusters can get my 110-lb Newfoundland up and down the steps, they can help your dog with their problem too. They also taught us simple tips to get immediate control of the dog's attention, plenty of literature and homework to extend the training, and even a sign to hang on the door to let our neighbors know we're training. It's an all-inclusive deal, from getting you a leash if you need one, to making sure you can lead the training when they're gone. We had a perfect experience. I would have paid the lifetime fee just to see the dog go down the stairs, but toss in further visits and I'm a lifetime convert. Thanks! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Rudi R Chicago, Illinois, Illinois | November 19 2018
Brandon is the best trainer Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
review image
Tiffany J Chicago, Illinois | June 30 2018
Bark Busters has been a dream come true for our family and our dogs. Their training methods are so simple, yet so effective it has made training our 2 young dogs a joy. The follow up is very helpful for reinforcement and adding new lessons. Our dogs are so well behaved and happy after just a few training sessions. I can’t thank Marlene and Brandon enough for their help and encouragement. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Puppy management, Toileting
Nancy A
Nancy A Evanston, Illinois | November 02 2017
Marlene and Howard, from Bark Busters, are miracle workers. Our 13-week old labradoodle is a sweet puppy, but before yesterday, he barked and jumped and nipped ALL DAY LONG, and was a whirling dervish on the leash. It was exhausting and discouraging. Marlene and Howard came to our house yesterday morning, and changed our life. They stayed for a couple of hours, explained their methods and the philosophy behind them, and worked with my husband and me on basic behavior problems - barking, jumping, nipping, misbehaving on the leash, and a few other basics. By the time they left, our dog was relaxed and manageable. We were worried that he might revert to his former bad self as soon as they walked out the door, but Marlene and Howard emphasized that they were training us, not the dog, and that as long as we remained consistent, he would continue to respond well. When we worked with him this morning, he was relaxed, focused, and manageable. The nonstop barking seems to be a thing of the past; he sits on command and has begun to "stay" pretty well; his nippiness is practically gone; and we have every confidence that his leash behavior will continue to improve. All this after just ONE DAY. Thank you thank you thank you, Marlene and Howard. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter