what our clients say about Jack Knudsen

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jack

February 28 2012

Jack was recommended by my vet after my adoption of a Heinz 57 from a shelter. I learned so many things from watching him interact with my new dog. The behavior changes are amazing after only 3 sessions! I thought I knew a lot about dog behavior, having had dogs for most of my life, but this method is really fabulous and easy. He takes time to explain, demonstrate and then critique you as you try the new things. This really worked well for both me and the dog. I really recommend this trainer.


Paula Stewart
Bellevue

November 12 2011

I contacted Jack as a result of my Boston Terrier who had been exhibiting aggression while on leash over the past year. I had tried another training technique, to no avail and really needed to get the behavior under control. Jack and I also identified some other behaviors that needed to be put in check, so we addressed those first. Within an hour and a half, our dog was a complete gentleman at the door, was no longer jumping up on us and was walking with a loose leash, as if had been doing this forever. The next step was to encounter dogs on leash and use the same techniques we had used to control the other behavior. To my sheer amazement, my dog was completely relaxed and under control with the very first dog we encountered. After a total of 2½ hours, our dog had transformed from a little guy with a lot of uncontrolled energy, which sometimes equated to aggression, to a complete gentleman. We have continued to practice the techniques each day and we have continued to gain more confidence with each outing. The great thing about Jack's training is there are no clickers or treats involved, no shouting, no pleading with the dog, etc. We utilize a strong command voice, with one command word (which seems to be the universal word for mom and dad are in control) and a special collar. In addition, we are coached to offer all kinds of praise when we get the desired response, which is very frequent. All three of us feel really good about our new formed pack. Thank you Jack for helping us out.......and it was so easy!


Leslie Burns
Redmond

September 27 2011

I needed a return visit from Jack because Jaxon was developing a real anxiety towards other dogs. He would react in a proactive aggression and was so nervous when I walked him anywhere he knew there were dogs. After a session with Jack spent walking Jaxon through his trouble areas and learning how to handle it...Jaxon is like a different dog!! I've been walking my dogs separately and working on his training. He got the message so quick! He walks right next to me and when I see the slightest bit of distraction, I make the sound and work the collar and he tunes right back in! It's so awesome! I got the thunder shirt Jack recommended as well, and put it on him this morning...oh my gosh...he is the calmest dog on the planet! It's like giving him a tranquilizer. I walked him with it on and it makes it even easier. It's a pleasure walking him now...I would never have believed that there would be so much change in such a short amount of time. We saw a dog on their balcony this morning and he started to react..I worked the collar and gave him a sound correction, he backed down, sat and looked right at me! It was awesome! The other thing I find interesting and encouraging...usually when I feed them Jaxon won't eat until Ginger gives him permission...usually by eating some of his food. Now, I tell him to eat and he eats! It truly is about taking charge and having him think of me as the leader! So, it's not about Jaxon being a problem, it's about me not stepping up and taking charge! I'm just so thankful you helped me get that! Thanks so much for bringing the joy back into my relationship with Jaxon. I am working with Ginger as well to make sure she knows I'm the leader so they are both on the same page.


Paulette
Auburn

July 3 2011

We have two labs that needed attention in different ways, and Jack was able to create a lesson plan to meet each dogs individual needs. He came prepared with a variety of dog friendly tools that we could use to better our communication during training. We learned how be better pack leaders, and had a great time with hands on exercises and instant results! We are looking forward to our follow up visit and would recommend Jack to anyone looking to better their dog's behavior.


Sam & Elena
Redmond

March 5 2011

Jack is a wonderful trainer, very smart and patient! I feel so lucky to have found him and Bark Busters.


S. Richey
Medina

February 9 2011

Photo of Mark, Michelle & Izzy's dog

Having had dogs all our lives, we were stumped when we couldn't get a handle on the chaos we encountered from our 1½ year old dog each time a visitor rang our doorbell or knocked on the door. Izzy would bark, growl and run around. Greeting visitors became a real ordeal and it was frustrating and embarrassing that we couldn't figure this out. When Jack arrived, Izzy performed her poor behavior right on que and we were ready to get the help we so desperately needed. Jack sat down and patiently took an in-depth history on this and any other issues we had. He was understanding, patient and very kind. He explained the steps needed to help us & Izzy and then we put these steps to practice. They worked beautifully! We had neighbors come ring our doorbell and the change was absolutely amazing. We now have the tools to use to welcome friends and family like they should be! Jack is a gift and knows how to relate to both his four legged and two legged clients! He is the person to go to for any help needed with your pet and we certainly will contact him again if another need arises. You will not be disappointed. THANK YOU, JACK!!


Mark, Michelle & Izzy
Kent

January 24 2011

Photo of Heather Smith, Veterinarian's dog

We have an energetic and sometimes strong-willed 18 month old Boston Terrier named Betty who calls our house her home. Betty is a great dog, but was starting to jump up and try to initiate play with our 7 and 5 year old children by nipping/biting. She had been through a basic obedience class and we felt that the methods learned in her class just weren't helping. Jack gave us the tools we needed to "talk" to Betty in a language, and by rules, that she understands. Her behavior improved quickly and we are very happy with the results! I would highly recommend Jack's services to any dog owner!


Heather Smith, Veterinarian
Snohomish

January 20 2011

I seldom write reviews but this was a "dog whispers" moment last week so I thought I would share it. In a nut shell my dog "HAD" some separation anxiety issues. I've had 2 other trainers and even sent the dog off to a 5 week training camp with poor results. I was talking to a client I work with here in Bellevue about the problem and he suggested I try Bark Busters. Here's what happened: Jack from Bark Busters got results during the first session and the separation anxiety was essentially gone after 2 weeks. This is what I liked about Jack at Bark Busters and I'll keep it short: Jack Came to the house and worked around my schedule, he was, Professional, On time and Fun to work with(he didn't make me feel guilty about the dog's issues). He was Knowledgeable and made it easy to understand what the dog was thinking. The training methods/exercises were easy to understand, easy to put into action and most importantly there were immediate results this was money well spent!


Dave J.
Bellevue

January 17 2011

Photo of Paulette's dog

I can't express how thankful and pleased I am with the training session we had with Jack! Life with my dogs has improved so dramatically it amazes me! Jaxon (AKA 70 lbs of crazy!) is an entirely different dog! And even my dominant dog Ginger is changing her ways. I have perfected my BAH sound and they really respond to it. I've only had to use the training aids (ingenious little bag) a few times. I keep one in my pocket when we are out walking and have only had to use it once so far. Jaxon went towards someone that was walking by so I gave him the BAH and tossed the bag on the ground...and that was it! He backed off and completely turned away from the person and looked at me and then kept walking. It was awesome! Since then I just have to give him the BAH as soon as he starts looking at a dog or person and he just keeps walking and leaves them alone. I was actually able to have a conversation with someone without Jaxon trying to jump all over them! Unbelievable. In and out of the door is going well. The front door issue...not a problem! They still react when someone knocks on the door and they get the BAH...then they stay back until the person is in the living room. Jaxon still wants to jump up on them, but responds to the BAH and backs off. This has completely changed our life! I am enjoying my dogs so much more and walking is no longer spent dodging people or dogs! Looking forward to continuing to work with Jack....Thank you, thank you, thank you!


Paulette
Auburn

January 14 2011

My elderly mother was feeling extremely alone after the passing of my father when she decided to adopt a companion, a 2-year-old chihuahua, from the local animal shelter. Their bonding was moving along quite nicely when "Baby" got ahold of a (wrapped) candy bar and bit my mom on both hands as she tried to take it away. As I didn't want to see my mom shaking and dripping in blood again, and we didn't have the heart to take the doggy back to the shelter, I decided that the only answer was to hire a dog trainer. I called our vet (Value Pet Clinic in Kent) and they referred us to "Bark Busters." Boy, are we glad we called them! How amazing it was to watch the trainer (Jack Knudsen) in action! First off, he walked into the room without even looking or paying attention to "Baby" and, amazingly, the dog stopped barking immediately. Normally, it would bark incessantly while whatever visitor was very busy trying to "make friends." He sat down and chatted with us and asked what results we wanted to see. Then it was time to begin working with "Baby." Using some of his tried and true training techniques, we saw unbelievable results in just one session. Among various techniques, he taught my mom how to be vocally assertive when need be....and he showed her how to use some mini bean-bag discs, as well as a mini spray bottle, in order to quickly re-direct her dog's attention away from unacceptable behavior. They worked like a charm-the first time! Jack was patient, professional, amiable, knowledgeable, and engaging. He allowed us all of the time we needed and assured us that he would be there for us in the future-be it by phone, email, or for a return visit. What a great guy and what a great dog-trainer (or should I say great people-trainer)! We highly recommend Jack Knudsen and Bark Busters!


Susan Ogbi
Covington

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bellevue, Black Diamond, Carnation, Duvall, Fall City, Issaquah, Kent, Kirkland, Maple Valley, Medina, North Bend, Ravensdale, Redmond, Sammamish, Snoqualmie

© 2018 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC