Jan Janecki dog training reviews

Jan Janecki

Jan Janecki

See below for all reviews for Jan Janecki, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Alex L Rancho Bernardo, California | June 24 2017
We have been working with Jan since February 2017 and we have nothing but fabulous things to say about her. We hired her to work with our 3 year old lab/retriever mix. He was very high energy, had no control, could not walk on a leash and was starting to show signs of aggression towards other dogs. After our first training session with Jan, Tucker was able to sit, stay, look, leave it and take it. We were so happy that after only a couple hours with her, he was already a different dog. We have been working with her for over 4 months and have worked on a variety of different things. He was a very scared/timid dog and Jan was able to show us how to build his confidence up so he could start feeling safe. He is so much calmer and our lives are so much easier because of it. We just had another training session today and she came with us to the dog park. My husband and I were both terrified about this and have avoided places with other dogs since he showed signs of aggression previously. We stayed for about an hour and Tucker was back to being his happy self, with no signs of aggression. She has given us the tools to feel confident as dog owners on how to train our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
review image
Alex L Rancho Bernardo, California | June 24 2017
We have been working with Jan since February 2017 and we have nothing but fabulous things to say about her. We hired her to work with our 3 year old lab/retriever mix. He was very high energy, had no control, could not walk on a leash and was starting to show signs of aggression towards other dogs. After our first training session with Jan, Tucker was able to sit, stay, look, leave it and take it. We were so happy that after only a couple hours with her, he was already a different dog. We have been working with her for over 4 months and have worked on a variety of different things. He was a very scared/timid dog and Jan was able to show us how to build his confidence up so he could start feeling safe. He is so much calmer and our lives are so much easier because of it. We just had another training session today and she came with us to the dog park. My husband and I were both terrified about this and have avoided places with other dogs since he showed signs of aggression previously. We stayed for about an hour and Tucker was back to being his happy self, with no signs of aggression. She has given us the tools to feel confident as dog owners on how to train our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Abby F
Abby F Del Mar, California | September 07 2016
Jan is a life changing trainer, and I have yorkies- enough said. One session and the biggest behavioral issues are now very minor- we have a ways to go still, but seriously impressive results for only meeting one time. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other
Tatiana S
Tatiana S Oceanside, California | September 13 2015
When my family and I called Jan we were desperate. Our puppy Lola was impossible to control and she didn't listen to anything we said. She also suffered from anxiety and was very shy. Jan no doubt saved our family and made such a difference in our lives. She gave us the tools necessary to teach Lola to listen to us. The amount of progress we have made in such a short amount of time is amazing, and it is all thanks to Jan! She has become a part of our family and we are so thankful for her and the Bark Busters way! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Seth L San Diego, California | August 30 2015
7/30/15 Jan is a fantastic trainer. Our 8 year old hunting breed dog has never walked well on a leash, has anxiety issues around other dogs, and was a generally a handful. On top of that she was having trouble adjusting to a new city and apartment life. We have a smaller mutt, who has his own issues, but is nothing compared to hers. Jan has helped us turn a huge corner. After 7 months of working, trial and error (our dog is stubborn and too smart for her own good) and an education for me and my wife, our dog has started walking on a loose leash. She's calmer, listens to us and seems happier. The change is awesome and I am amazed that it happened. Jan's sessions are perfect. She's calm, pleasant, and easy to understand. Our dogs immediately responded to her and are all wags when they see her. If you do your homework, you will see results, and I am confident that we will overcome the remaining issues with our dogs. Seth L. Sabre Springs Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Matt T
Matt T San Diego, California | April 29 2014
So, we have a 4 year old English Setter named "Peanut" who went from living on one big piece of land with 5 other dogs to living in an apartment with no dogs. She had obedience and social problems, and she pulled when we walked. 1st Lesson - Our first lesson was about two hours and fifteen minutes long. Jan came into our apartment and we had a sit down to figure out all of the problems we wanted to address and the goals that we wanted to accomplish. We started off working on basic obedience, and this was done inside with a leash. Once we were comfortable with that, Jan gave us some homework to do for the week, until our next visit. Peanut learned very quickly to obey the commands and she has never had any prior training. It was at this first lesson that we learned how important leadership is, and that we needed to establish leadership over Peanut, as she had become very spoiled throughout the years and took advantage of that! 2nd Lesson - Jan instructed us on our first visit to buy a Halti, as it would really help with walking Peanut. On this second visit, we made our way outside the apartment with the Halti, and began "training walks" in the parking lot. Peanut learned very quickly how to obey, walk closely next to us at our pace, and follow our lead. Jan gave us tips with how to accomplish this, which instantly worked wonders. She gave us pointers on how to stop Peanut from pulling and walking ahead of us or too fast. And she taught us how to get Peanut to follow our lead with regard to turning or walking in different directions, not just in a completely straight line. 3rd Lesson - This time, we were taking some pretty big steps with Peanut. We went out for a walk in order to encounter other dogs and teach Peanut the proper way to react to them. Peanut never reacted well to dogs we would meet on our walks. She would constantly whine, pull, and sometimes even bark and jump. During this lesson, we went over to the Petco Unleashed in the shopping center and walked Peanut around the store. Jan quickly took charge and whipped Peanut into shape! We encountered other dogs, of course, and Peanut did well to the point where she didn't even seem to acknowledge that the dogs were around. She would sit, stay, and be completely calm. It was amazing to see! Definitely a huge step with regard to Peanut and other dogs! We are now continuing to work with Jan with a focus on Peanut's social skills. Everyday we use the skills that Jan has taught us to enforce Peanut's behavior. It is important to stay on top of the training and do all of the homework that is given or else your dog won't change. This is a great system because it not only trains the dog, but it trains the human as well. Lastly, Jan is absolutely amazing! She is so awesome and friendly and we get along great with regard to Peanut's training. She is so good working with Peanut, and has been great working with us as well. She definitely has the required leadership skills DOWN, as Peanut responded to her immediately, and still continues to do so. Jan really knows her stuff, and if you follow her homework and stay on top of the training, you will notice a great improvement with your dog! We feel very confident in our decision to have her help us with Peanut. She is always available for help or questions in-between training sessions. Once Peanut's training is complete, we will have Jan to thank for the awesome work that she has done! Matt T. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Jan : This is a great example of how dog owners can obtain fast results with Bark Busters Home Dog Training.
review image
Linda G Poway, California | November 15 2013
We got Bailey, a Portuguese Water Dog, at eight weeks of age and met with Jan a few days after bringing our puppy home. Jan's training with us and the dog, was amazing. When we adopted Hank, we knew we needed to make sure Hank had the same great training. People always tell us we have great dogs and it's thanks to Jan. I often refer people who decide not to hire a trainer...and it shows in their dogs! If you want to hear "you have great dogs", hire Jan to help you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Wyn F
Wyn F San Diego, California | October 02 2013
Jan, Thank you for all you have taught us during our sessions. All four of us have made a lot of progress. Freddie is no longer shaking in fear all the time, and Fiona is much calmer and more manageable. You're the best! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
review image
Ronda S Poway, California | September 23 2013
My husband Jim and I contacted Jan Janecki when we were at our wits end with our newly rescued 4 year old Eskie, Silver. Jim and I knew that Silver needed special attention, to remedy his behavioral problems as a result of having been tossed around from shelter to shelter in his early years. Jan was immediately able to "read" Silver and transform him into a focused, calm dog. Jan's attention to detail allowed us to rapidly learn her techniques and adopt them ourselves. Jan's proficiency in working with problem dogs is clear, as is her love for the species in general. Jim and I highly recommend Jan if you are looking for a dog trainer with these qualities. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Whitney A San Diego, California | September 23 2013
We have a rescued Chihuahua-mix dog; adorable, but a very high-strung, dog. It quickly became apparent there was some abuse or mishandling when the dog was being raised. We made the mistake of thinking we didn't need formal dog training because "we can just pick the dog up when he is misbehaving." Our poor dog had aggression issues that were getting progressively worse and finally resulted in the dog biting a neighbor who was simply walking past our front door. We called Jan Janecki with Bark Busters Home Dog Training the next day for training. She was very prompt in answering my email - in fact the only trainer who did. Jan specializes in dealing with aggressive dogs, so she was a perfect choice. The one- on-one training she provides is nothing short of a miracle. Jan gives very good instruction, with very clear explanations, and just the right amount of support each person needs. Within one lesson my dog was doing things I didn't think was possible before. I was doing things I didn't think I could do. I had to apologize to my dog that I thought he wasn't capable of being trained. :-( We now have a dog I can take places I would have never tried before. We can eat dinner at a dog friendly restaurant and it is peaceful for all. The barking at every sound can be controlled. However, the most wonderful part is that we have a much happier, and calmer, dog. Jan truly was the right person at the right time. Thank you Jan! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more