Jan McLaren dog training reviews

Jan McLaren

Jan McLaren

See below for all reviews for Jan McLaren, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Debbie C
Debbie C Kingston, Illinois | September 17 2014
Jan was wonderful to work with! Very pleasant and really knows her stuff. We noticed a change in Dominoe right away. My sister and her husband had them out to their house as well. They were also very pleased so that's why we decided to give it a try. We will for sure recommend them to anyone who will listen! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up
review image
Joseph and Sarah H Batavia, Illinois | September 09 2014
When we started with Bark Busters, Jackson (our 110 pound lab) pulled while walking, barked aggressively out the window at people and would not listen to us. Jan did a fantastic job of coming to our house and explaining how we need to show Jackson that we are the leaders. One thing I have noticed with some of the reviews of Bark Busters are people who get frustrated because it takes effort on your part. A lot of what Bark Busters does is train the HUMAN, not the animal. If you are not willing to put the time in to work on the techniques on a daily basis, then this will not be the program for you. Jan will work with you to learn the proper techniques so you can teach, but it's going to be more work for you than your pet. If you want to learn how to have a successful relationship like we did with Jackson, then Jan is the individual to work with. She is WONDERFUL and you will not be disappointed. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Jan & Wick : It was a pleasure working with Jackson. He was smart and so were his owners! Congratulations on a job well done!
Renee M
Renee M Batavia, Illinois | July 09 2014
Jan and Wick are wonderful just like the website leads you to believe....they are amazing behaviorists. I show my Chihuahuas and had a small issue with Buck's mother that was corrected with one visit. Two years later I 'thought' I had a puppy that was having a nervous breakdown....shy, not very friendly, growled (snapped) and rushed around all the time....he never stopped until he was asleep, and slept hard, only to return to Koojoe the next day. HELP! As a puppy he would sit in a corner, when loose he would look at me and the other animals in the house, but didn't want to come near. I called in the Jan and changes started immediately and have continued to this day. Buck is now a well-adjusted little guy that is showing. I am no longer nervous about taking him in the ring. He is socially adjusted and happy. Through the sessions and work we have created an incredible bond that is helping me so much in the show ring. We socialize by taking him as a therapy animal now to nursing homes! The tools and techniques they provided are amazing AND DO WORK.....nothing to hurt or scare him, just consistent techniques. With that consistency comes success. I cannot express the amazing end results. I can honestly say "Happy Tails live at my house." It is a decision you will NEVER regret. Every so sincerely submitted, Renee Marker Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Jan & Wick : Working with Renee and Buck has been a pleasure. Buck was very nervous and tense. The problems Renee was having were various different puppy behaviors. We had great success in changing those behaviors and now Buck is a very happy and well adjusted. Can't wait to see him win a Championship!
Patty H
Patty H Huntley, Illinois | August 10 2013
I've had animals all my life and never needed help. I've even taken my Giant Schnauzers to the show ring & received Reserve winner. When I got my Yorkie, he weighed 1lb. 14oz. Oh so cute. He ceased being so cute when I got him home. Thank God for Wick! I thought I purchased a psycho. Mikey tried to run the household. Stubborn, jumping, pulling, toileting problems, ugh! Wick showed me the best ways to get past his issues. He's so much better now, I think I'll keep him. The jury is still out about Mikey being a psycho. Thanks to Wick, Mikey's much more manageable & down right lovable. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Jan & Wick : This is a good example of an experienced client who has a puppy with a different temperament than previous pets. She listened, follow my instructions, and had great results. Mikey was a normal puppy and is not psycho. He has a great owner and pack leader.
review image
Elgin | August 19 2011
After our dog bit a police officer we had one of two options. Put him down or get a trainer. Wick came to the house and would not even come in because my dog was showing too many signs of aggression. After about an hour of training outside the house my dog warmed up to him and he stayed for almost five hours. Three weeks later Wick came back for a follow up and my dog did not even bark at him at the front door. They give you all of the tools to train and help your dog no matter what the problem. Wick is an awesome trainer and i recommend him to anybody that needs help with their dog. I thought that there was no cure for him but with hard work and the right tools from Wick he is a completely different dog. Thank you Wick. Permalink
Batavia | August 06 2010
4/12/10 Thank you for your response to my cry for help on Friday. The results are amazing, and I knew in my heart it was just a "little thing" - Tara (one-year-old Chihuahua) took Winners Bitch on Saturday at the show in DeKalb and the Best of Winners on Sunday! It was so amazing what a little "help" from Mommy can do. Thank you for your help-from the bottom of my heart. We will keep you posted, as her "career" to a Champion continues. 5/18/10 Subject: Our Little Winner Well, it was an exciting weekend. Tara was BEST OF WINNERS Saturday and Sunday in Rock Island, Illinois. We have mastered the "growl" and it has certainly made a difference in her show career. This picture is her on the way home-sacked out in the car. Only three points to go and she will have all her extra points, then on to finding 2 majors......Thanks for your help that Friday afternoon, it made quite a difference in her performance. 6/6/10 UPDATE Just wanted you to know that Tara was Winner Bitch on Sat. and Best of Breed on Sunday at the Woodstock, IL., shows. Woot, woot, woot! 8/6/10 UPDATE Jan, Tara is taking the show circuit by storm now...she WON a Major this weekend in Waukesha, Wisconsin, and only has 1 more to go to be a champion! When she finishes, I will send you a picture. Thank you! Permalink
review image
Elgin | August 06 2010
We learned more than expected. "M" understood something was different. I didn't like having to have a treat in my hand every time. Now I don't have to do that for good behavior. Jan sat down with us and explained and then showed us how to do it. We would recommend Bark Busters to friends and neighbors! Permalink
review image
Bartlett | August 06 2010
Without question, Jan was awesome. Bark Busters was without a doubt the best training technique for any dog. I love how it works so fast. Blue is already a changed dog! Permalink
review image
Hanover Park | August 06 2010
The training experience was interesting and enjoyable. Wick has taught us some various techniques to handle our doxie. Excellent on all counts! Permalink
review image
West Chicago | August 06 2010
Before Wick from Bark Busters, our dog would take us for a walk. Now we enjoy a relaxing trip around the block! Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more