what our clients say about Justin Scher

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Justin

December 9 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead

Justin is truly a lifesaver! We used to walk down the street scared of how our dog luke would react with other dogs, he was always such a sweetheart in our house, but on the street, it was a different story! After just one visit Luke was a different dog! The techniques the Justin uses are simple but effective, Luke has become the dog we always knew he could be. He is a pleasure to walk on leash now and is so much better in the house in terms of barking at the door and leaving us alone while we eat. We were skeptical at first but desperate to try anything, and I am so glad we did. I promise you after one meeting your dog will be a different dog as well! The best part is that Justin is just a phone call or text away and is always willing to help.


Erica T.
San Diego, California

December 8 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

We call Justin, "THE DOCTOR". In a two hour session, The DOCTOR transformed our rescue dog, Ozzi. From a skittish, nervous dog who was becoming unpredictable and aggressive and would go ballistic when someone came to the door or into the house, into 'man's best friend'. A miracle we tell ya, a miracle.

Ozzi was doing GREAT, but then we left on a 5 week vacation and Ozzi was his old self. In a 20-30 minute refresher, THE DOCTOR, got everyone back on track. Literally 15 minutes and we had things back to 'GREAT'.

I was thrilled with the LIFETIME guarantee but wondered how long t'd take to get THE DOCTOR out for a re-visit. He came two days after my call. I felt supported with renewed confidence. Justin, er, I mean "THE DOCTOR" knows his stuff and is well worth the investment. He ain't cheap BUT he's Magic.

We have bragged about Justin & Ozzi to a kazillion folks. They guy is good. And DOCTOR-- Thank you from our family to your!

Love, Ozzi


Mark R.
San Diego, California

November 30 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

I am so happy to be writing this review!

Some quick background, my fiancé and I adopted a 5 month old puppy in May. He was a rescue from Mexico and although he was sweet as can be with us, he was timid and could be unpredictable. We noticed that his fearful nature was leading to aggression- especially toward people entering our home. After a few incidences with some aggression towards visitors and people in our neighborhood, we were at a loss at what to do.

Oliver showed many fear based behaviors- barking, growling and snapping at anything he deemed to be "suspicious"- a person walking by, a plastic bag blowing in the street, a broom, his own tail...Trying to take him on a walk was near impossible, he would be so afraid of everything we literally couldn't get him to move and he would shake in fear.

We had already done 12 weeks of obedience training and it didn't really seem to work when he was heightened trying to protect his territory or us. I am so glad I came across Bark Busters. I spoke to Jason (Justin's assistance) and he was amazing! He spent 30 minutes on the phone listening to some of the behaviors we were observing and if Bark Buster's would be effective. I never felt pressured or like I was being sold something, he was warm and empathetic and encouraged me to think about it before committing. After reading all of the reviews we decided to book our appointment and I can't tell you how happy we are.

Justin truly is the dog whisperer. He explained where Ollie's behaviors were coming from and how we could correct him to show him that we we are the leaders of the pack. I was so nervous that he would say our dog couldn't be helped and would just leave, but he asked us to trust him and let him meet Oliver.

We had Oliver on leash and he began his aggressive behaviors, and responded instantly to the corrections. Justin built trust with Oliver and showed us how to encourage him. He respected our dog's fearful nature and showed us how to adjust the correction levels so they were appropriate for what he needed. By the end of the appointment Oliver just wanted Justin to pet him and play with him THIS WAS A BEHAVIOR WE HAD NEVER SEEN WITH ANYONE EXCEPT MY FIANCÉ AND I! We were absolutely blown away.

We went on a walk and that dog that wouldn't move and feared everything..GONE and replaced with a happy-go-lucky tail waggin' dog that followed all direction and corrections. All of this after 1 appointment!

If you are in a similar situation, don't hesitate! Book now! It was worth every penny. I can't wait to continue our lessons and give our dog the relaxing life he deserves.


Madison C.
San Diego, California

November 10 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

I can't even begin to explain how amazing Justin is. My dog Gnarly is a 7 years old Yorkie, who has had social behavioral problems since he was about 3 years old (due to a traumatic incident). It's been hard to take him places (parks, restaurants, beaches, airplanes, etc.) because he would get so aggressive with other dogs, even if he just saw one.

At his age, I was sure there was no way to cure this behavior and Gnarly and I both would have to endure the stress and fear of being around other dogs.

Then Justin came in and turned our worlds upside down...

Within a matter of an hour or so, Gnarly had become another dog in the best way possible! I was absolutely amazed I started tearing up. He didn't bark at the door anymore, didn't jump when you tried to feed him a treat/food, we walked through the downtown farmer's market (and if you're not familiar, it is FILLED with dogs and people!) and didn't even flinch at the sight or presence of another dog, and he was walking right past them. We even met Justin's dog and Gnarly was totally cool with him. I am such a proud dog parent, words can't even describe.

Just goes to show that old dogs can always learn new tricks! :D

Thank you so much for giving us the freedom to live our lives to the fullest Justin!!


Trevor D.
San Diego, California

October 31 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

I've had my dog Beamer since he was a puppy. He has always been an absolute sweetheart, but he had a lot of behavioral problems. My dog was, dog aggressive, would bark at anything that would walk by our porch, he would try and eat his leash, he would pull on his leash so bad that he has actually made me fall down the stairs and pulled me down. I was at my ultimate lowest when he tried to attack and kill two dogs at the dog park, I was lucky that he was wearing his muzzle. I was so absolutely stressed, and overwhelmed and scared. I was terrified taking my dog out to go to the bathroom, I was terrified that something bad was going to happen and I would have had to put down my best friend. At Beamer and I's all time low, my mom found justin.

Beamer and I have only had one session so far, and got the lifetime guarantee. But all I can say is he is wonderful! I saw improvement in my dog with the first 45 minuets. I was able to walk him around the neighborhood with a loose leash, and him staying right by side. His attitude has changed, he is back to being my sweet boy I used to know. Earlier today he watched another dog walk by on the porch and did nothing about it. This morning I've been able to leave the sliding door open to my porch, while dogs have been walking by, and he has continued to stay by me instead of running out their and barking. This was all in the first session! I'm so happy to see such improvements in my best friend. I'm very excited to see what the future holds for me and Beamer and I look forward to more sessions! Thank you so much, justin! I recommend him to anyone that thinks that their dog is un-fixable, I thought mine was, and now I finally have hope!


Savannah M.
San Diego, California

October 21 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of Susan D.'s dog

"Justin has completely changed our life with his training methods. We had worked with a number of trainers who had said we just had to "manage" our dog and put him away when people came over to our home since he is very territorial and will go after people. Justin gave us the tools to help Rocky (and us) feel much more comfortable and allow all of us and our guests to relax and enjoy. We were skeptical at first but the proof is in the pudding as they say. My parents came to stay for a few days and after 5 minutes of training, Rocky was sitting on their laps, smiling, accepting pets and treats and in the "green" zone. We were in shock! I cannot recommend Justin enough - if you're unsure, just do it! Other trainers told us our dog was a "lost cause", and Justin had him relaxed and happy in 10 minutes! I wish I could give him more than 5 stars for how much he has helped us and Rocky."

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!


Susan D.
San Diego, California

October 21 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of Jenna F.'s dog

Justin has been amazing with my rescue Pit. She was a little devil on a leash - pulling, chasing cats, zig zagging everywhere; unwalkable for me. She is the SWEETEST dog but on a leash she was a nightmare. Justin fixed my issue within minutes of working with me. Indie was a different dog - controlled, focused, and calm. Justin has changed our household and the energy that Indie now has. She is relaxed, patience and actually has manners :) Jusitn was so understanding, patient, and responsive throughout the entire process. He really took his time to get to know Indie and her background of abuse and neglect. THANK YOU JUSTIN - Jenna and Indie


Jenna F.
San Diego, California

October 21 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Other
Photo of Kurt K.'s dog

Cesar Milan would be proud of Justin. Within a few short hours my rescue pitbull who had severe anxiety around skateboards, strangers and loud noises, was sitting wagging his tail while Justin the trainer was riding a skateboard in front of him and landscapers with leaf blowers were working next to him. Justin immediately helped me understand where my dog's anxiety came from and then helped me to train him to confront these situations as the leader of the two. My dog is now worry free on walks and the both of us now live in an anxiety free environment. Bark Busters works!


Kurt K.
San Diego, California

October 21 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

We called Justin after our dog Cooper started showing signs of aggression to other people. We had rescued him just 2 months previously and noticed things about his behavior that concerned us and we wanted to fix it quickly before it escalated into something more dangerous. Cooper would not let people enter the house, would bark and lung at strangers in the street when out walking on his leash, would chase and bark at everything that moved including people, dogs and cars and it was becoming very stressful. Justin was very calm, professional and patient as he explained everything to us and put our minds at ease. He talked us through why Cooper was behaving the way he was and the techniques we needed to use to help eliminate these unwanted behaviors. He was patient and kind as he taught us and within 30 minutes Cooper was a different dog, he was the happy, relaxed little guy we had been hoping for. Just 30 minutes previously Cooper was throwing himself at the patio doors and growling and barking at Justin as he arrived. Within a very short time of working with Cooper he was sat on his knee and had made a new best friend. It was fantastic to see Cooper behaving this way with a stranger. By the end of session 1 we couldn't believe the positive changes, Cooper was walking nicely on the leash without pulling, ignoring other people and dogs we passed, he was calm and relaxed in the house and would allow people to enter through the front door. I was surprised and delighted that these changes happened almost immediately. Its been 3 days since Justins first visit and we are continuing to practice the techniques daily and pleasantly surprised every day by Coopers progress and positive changes. Justin is the real deal and we are very pleased with our decision to work with him.


Adesh K.
San Diego, California

October 21 2017

Justin Scher dealt with: Separation Anxiety

If you want to have a well behaved, calm, happy dog then call Justin!

He's not only the BEST trainer, he genuinely cares about me and my dog. My puppy was so anxious, scared and attached to me when I first got him. I could barley take a step without him walking in front of me, making it impossible to walk anywhere. After one training session, Koda is a new dog, he walks right beside me and continues to become stronger and more confident everyday with the techniques that Justin has taught us. He was so reassuring and patient with me while I was learning the techniques to establish leadership with my dog. The best part is he is ALWAYS there for us whenever we need him. Koda loves him and so do I! I think every dog owner should invest in their dog by hiring A great trainer like Justin. Thank you Justin for truly caring and helping us have the best relationship possible. The results have been amazing, you really are the dog whisperer. We appreciate you so much! :)


Alicia S.
San Diego, California

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bonita, Chula Vista, Coronado, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lakeside, Lemon Grove, National City, San Diego, Santee, Spring Valley

© 2018 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC