Katherine Simkins dog training reviews

Katherine Simkins

Katherine Simkins

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Sally H Reno, Nevada | September 08 2016
I am thunderstruck! I now have a dog that BEHAVES! My dog is 8 years old. I have had him since being a pup and tried EVERYTHING to get him to walk nicely on a leash, not charge out the door at every visitor, snap at anyone who approaches me. I thought I might have to give him up...then I met Katherine!! NO KIDDING, in two lessons, I have a NEW, VERY IMPROVED, dog! As they say, it is the owner who needs training...and I did, but Katherine explained and demonstrated everything VERY clearly and patiently. I highly recommend Katherine! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Linda S Sparks, Nevada | July 17 2016
Katherine's knowledge is awesome, fascinating, and incredibly effective. Without punishment or treats, my American Bulldog wants to please me because I am speaking to her in canine, telling her that she can relax because I am the alpha and I have everything under control. The methods are not actually taking any more time from my day because I use them as I do the things I would normally do. It's so efficient. I just need to remind myself how to behave as alpha, and how to make my communications clear. But that is all written down, and we practice it with Katherine. When I first called Bark Busters, the guy who answered asked what behavior problems I needed to address. For example, he suggested, is the dog eating the mailman (haha)? I said no behavior problems, I just wanted a good companion to come hiking with me. But as I look back now, boy, was I wrong! My dog's behavior started out shy when she came from the shelter, but it was getting out of control. I can see now that we were not headed in a good direction. Most of us humans don't understand we are leaving a power vacuum that our dog is not going to leave unfilled. I do think I make a better alpha than my dog Jewels does! For example, a friend with a large dog recently broke her arm when the dog bumped into her and knocked her down on the steps. Perhaps the dog was teaching my friend not to stand on her hind legs? (I'm joking.) Behavior on steps is something Bark Busters specifically addresses. So you have a small dog. Behavior problems can be ignored, right? Well, I learned from Katherine that they are still symptoms of dis-function in your "pack" that your dog will find troubling. And don't discount how unpleasant your small pets can be if they bark at every noise. There is one house I hate to visit because of the yappy little pests. Ugh. I suspect more than one marriage has foundered because the yapping drove one person crazy but not the other. If that sounds like you, don't nag your spouse to do the training, sign up yourself! Maybe your spouse will be intrigued enough to join in. So if you want to have a great relationship with your dog and a lot of fun, this training is well worth it even with small dogs. I could say especially with small dogs since your relationship will probably last longer considering the longer lifespan of the small dog. And if you have a big dog, good heavens, don't risk becoming a giant piece of road rash, call her right away! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Amy C Reno, Nevada | July 14 2016
This program was amazing. After the first lesson I saw immediate improvement in my dog's behavior, not just on the issues we had worked on, but in everything. I had been struggling with my dog's generally pushy behavior in the house, but also her aggression towards other dogs. Walking the dog had become a major source of stress for me. I had to be hypervigilant to keep her out of situations where she would attack other dogs. But after one lesson with Katherine, Delta's behavior improved dramatically. The things Katherine taught me were SO SIMPLE, but so very effective. Now that I know how to be a pack leader and communicate my leadership to my dog, life is much calmer and I can actually enjoy my dog and my walks again. Because this method doesn't involve using treats to modify behavior it was so easy to incorporate training into my everyday activities. I didn't have to get get a pile of treats ready and then spend dedicated time training the dog. I just used my communication techniques whenever I went through a door, walked down the stairs, answered the door... I am just thrilled that we did this. It was worth every penny and more. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Rodger S
Rodger S Fernley, Nevada | July 08 2016
Katherine was fantastic. She came out on a Sunday and explained to me the process in getting Choco and myself to become the best partners we can be. She showed me the different ways to solve our problems with a presentation showing the different techniques of the training program and by showing me how to speak dog. I am greatly appreciated for the time she spent with us. I now have a new friend. Just in the short time I have been using the proper techniques, I have noticed a larger difference in Choco and myself. I would recommend her in a heartbeat. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety
Karen S
Karen S Reno, Nevada | June 15 2016
After our first session Louie was more receptive to my instructions. Each day I saw him improve and become calmer and more receptive. He is becoming the dog I always wanted thanks to Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Bill G
Bill G Reno, Nevada | May 25 2016
Katherine was very patient with Scooter and me. Her knowledge, expertise, and positive training techniques created a very comfortable learning environment that has helped lay a solid foundation for Scooter. We had worked previously with two separate trainers with little to no results. To say my, Scooter, a Miniature Dachshund/Pinscher, is an 'Independent Thinker' would be an understatement. People love him, but Cute and Friendly is not the same as Calm and Quiet. The one-on-one approach used by Katherine in not only training Scooter, but also training me to understand what signs to look for in good/bad dog behavior has empowered me to do the right thing with Scooter. If you have brought a dog into your life and heart; you owe it to both of you to learn how to communicate and positively and effectively train them. I highly recommend training by Bark Busters to anyone that has any type of dog because it was extremely beneficial for Scooter and me. Katherine thanks so much for everything and Scooter thanks you too. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Melissa N Sparks, Nevada | May 16 2016
I called Katherine because my two dogs wouldn't let anyone in the front door; they would rush the front door and bark non-stop whenever anyone other than my family came in the house. The dogs's behavior was driving us crazy! By the time Katherine left after our first session we had a concrete strategy to keep the dogs from rushing the door. With practice and reinforcement from Katherine, after 6 weeks, people can now come to our front door and the dogs will stay in the other room. away from the front door, and sometimes not even make a sound when the doorbell rings. The change in them is unbelievable! The reduction in the noise pollution from the constant barking has done wonders to decrease the humans' stress levels. Bark Busters techniques are simple enough that even my nine-year-old son can employ them which really helps with us being consistent. And the time commitment to the training is not overwhelming. If you can devote 15 minutes a day about 5 times a week for the first couple of weeks, you will see positive changes in your dogs without having to resort to any negative reinforcement or harsh training methods. And, you still get to spoil them rotten. Bark Busters is the best of both worlds. I am truly glad I called. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management
Carol D
Carol D Carson City, Nevada | April 15 2016
My husband and I adopted a rescue mixed breed about 2 years ago. She was trained by the PUPS program at the local prison and had good skills but was terribly afraid of strangers, jumped on us and had terrible leash walking skills. In just 4 hours of instruction from Katherine Dee-Oh-Gee is amazingly calmer with strangers, doesn't jump on us most of the time or stops immediately when asked. She now stops barking when told and even is walking better. More practice is needed but we are thrilled with her progress. She's almost a new dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Diana S
Diana S Reno, Nevada | April 10 2016
Katherine is AWESOME. She helped us to understand how we WEREN'T speaking dog and why it is important to be the leader to get Coco to react properly. My husband and I look forward to practicing and getting Coco to be a happier and better dog. I wish I'd signed up for Bark Busters sooner. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Recall
review image
Carol Ann D Sparks, Nevada | April 07 2016
I have been working with Katherine for a few weeks. I have my Lani-dog and we are staying with my daughter who had two big dogs and one small dog. I am very happy to say that overall, all dogs are much better behaved when I am home with them during the day. They used to all RUSH at the back door to go outside at the same time. Very quickly, speaking dog, they now all stay back and look at me and proceed when I give them the OK. They bark much less TA DA. Lani used to whine as I got ready to go out; one or two growls and she rarely does it now. And she would whine in the car as we drove by places that I walk her and sometimes anxiously whine in the car for no apparent reason. She has stopped that and is calm and well behaved. I am happy with our progress and so appreciate the individual training especially for Lani. Even though my daughter doesn't chose to take the time to learn and work with her dogs now, she does notice they are better behaved and calmer. And my time with them is 100% better! Knowing I have support and guidance with Lani is so important. I feel much more equipped to own this beautiful and powerful dog that I so love. MAHALO! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more