Katherine Simkins dog training reviews

Katherine Simkins

Katherine Simkins

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Tayler M Reno, Nevada | December 31 2015
This experience was amazing and worth every penny. The security that I feel knowing that if there is a problem, my trainer is just an email away. And I have many questions being a first time dog owner and my dog being a very special snowflake. I adopted Daisy from a friend who had loved her for three of her four years of life, but never trained her. So I took in a dog that was disobedient, protective, and not potty trained. Within the first week of training, Daisy was beginning to be obedient. Within the first month she was off leash and her recall was spectacular. Potty training has taken longer, but has been successful with minimal accidents in the house. Crate training is still a work in progress, but having the support and knowing someone will be there to answer all of my questions is amazing. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Katherine : Tayler has been one of the most dedicated dog owners I've had the privilege to work with. She doesn't hesitate to contact me if she has a question. My suggestions have been put in place and it's been a great partnership.
Audey L
Audey L Sparks, Nevada | November 19 2015
My husband and I adopted Gracie from a friend because he could not keep her. She came into our home with welcoming arms and we had one other dog named Jack. From the start she was skiddish and afraid of other people. We had never experienced this behavior before and we have had dogs our whole life. We could not invite people into our home because all she would do would bark. When Katherine arrived at our home we just let her be who she is. Katherine was concerned about how stressed Gracie was and we started our 2 hr training. By the end of our training she had calmed down and we learned how to train her in ONE visit . Jack need a bit of training for barking as well but not as much. Katherine and Barkbusters saved my family. AMAZING. We followed her instructions and after 2-3 days they were 99.9 better. The training was simple, but you have to be consistent. We in fact, did not need a second visit. Today, Gracie is a different dog. She is calm and happy and so are Mom and Dad. I brag about the training to all my friends and family and highly recommend Katherine at Barkbusters. IT WORKS. We say, It was the best money spent. My husband was skeptical at first but he is a true believer and the training we received was simple. Thank you Katherine and Gracie and Jack thank you as well. For all you out there with your furry family members who are having problems, call Katherine at Barkbusters. Highly recommended. "BAH" Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking
Trainer note from Katherine : Yes, speaking dog the Bark Busters' way works!
Rob S
Rob S Reno, Nevada | November 03 2015
Katherine Simkins is an outstanding dog trainer. We contacted Bark Busters to help deal with aggressive behavior from one of our two Schipperke's towards other people in the house, including the owner. She taught us how to respond to our dogs in a positive yet firm manner, without any physical threats or intimidation. She made us feel empowered to become the "pack leaders" and helped us understand why this role was of such importance for canines in any household. Katherine was very patient and thoroughly explained her techniques. She followed this by demonstrating the activity and then had us each practice it while she observed. Katherine has come to our home twice within a month which reinforced whether we were performing the exercises correctly. Our dogs have responded very well to this training. There is certainly a learning curve, but with consistency, our dogs behaviors have dramatically improved. They are listening better, are less aggressive, and have been much more focused since the initiation of this training with Katherine. Our dogs are 9 years old and we sincerely believe that you can teach old dogs new tricks. We look forward to working with Katherine over the next year and progressing in this training system to make our home a happy and safe environment for us, the dogs, and all visitors. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Katherine : Thank you Rob! I always enjoy working with adult dogs, no matter what age, a dog can still learn.
review image
Danna O Sparks, Nevada | October 09 2015
I am still in awe of Katherine and her training skills! I have Pomeranians that are constantly barking at anything and everything! Katherine came to my home and after her first visit, I noticed the biggest difference in my dogs. This is all done without treats or shocking, and if I didn't know better, I would think these were different dogs. Katherine is not much bigger than my dogs and she always has a smile on her face. I had about given up hope but I am so glad that I contacted Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
Trainer note from Katherine : It was a pleasure to work with a dog owner who is committed to the training program!
review image
Ruth G Carson, Nevada | August 05 2015
"Kat the Dog Lady" was an extremely nice person with very positive energy, she helped us display that calm confidence too and, near immediately, changed the way our two Corgis were responding to and behaving around us. With newborns in the family we needed a gentle but effective way to keep our beloved Corgis in check. Kat has given us the tools now to do exactly that, and it feels so good! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Sibling rivalry
review image
Charlene M Sparks, Nevada | June 08 2015
Training has gone quick and easy with our independent Basset Hounds. They are 4 years old, one we have had since 8 weeks old, the other rescued 6 weeks ago. They have stopped running to the door when someone comes, and they come when called! We are now working on leash training with our trainer and it is going very well. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling, Recall
Georgia K
Georgia K Carson City, Nevada | June 03 2015
Piper is a rescued basset hound who is in his 7th home. Obviously, he has multiple issues, but this IS his forever home. We asked Katherine to help us communicate with him, first of all, to make him see that he does not need to be aggressive to our other dog or to people. In the first 10 minutes he responded to Katherine's training methods. She was confident and caring, and taught us what we needed to know, patiently explaining to the people in our home how we needed to behave differently. She was available by phone and email numerous times in the following week, and changed our approach to him when necessary. We are looking forward to our second training session, and are pleased with the progress Piper is making thus far. We're looking forward to seeing what Bark Busters methods will do with Piper's other issues in future sessions. Will he be able to hike with us off leash without running away chasing bunnies???? Stay tuned... Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Andrea G
Andrea G Reno, Nevada | May 05 2015
Katherine is a very thorough trainer! We found Bark Busters online and are very happy with the program. We enjoy that it is in home training and is not treat driven. As we are getting ready for our first baby our dogs have much behavior modification to achieve. Also, getting them ready for this new addition was why we sought out training services. Katherine has opened our eyes to many new tools and the program, with LOTS of practice and commitment, is working. We have implemented these new strategies and see great change. I enjoy the format of Bark Busters and am confident that we will have access to Katherine as we continue to face new changes. It is important to know that for any of this to work it has required about 10-20 minutes of work each day. You must be committed and stick with the homework assigned or else it is not effective. Katherine does a great job at guiding you and her follow up appointments help to hold you accountable. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Judy V Reno, Nevada | April 29 2015
Katherine is an excellent trainer. She listened to our needs; helped us understand what our dog required and was very patient with us. I would recommend Katherine as a trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling
review image
Kaylee S Reno, Nevada | March 24 2015
Katherine is AMAZING!!! I tried many different approaches to train Jester. He was very stubborn and didn't care what tactic I used. I had Katherine come to my house and he was instantly better that day. Even my 11 year old dogs learned from her. You definitely have to work with them as often as you are told. She first started me out every day for only 20 minutes a day and now i'm to 2-3 times a week and he is still doing amazing. I highly would recommend Katherine as your dog trainer! I also work at a veterinarian office and I see many dog trainers come through, so far she has been my all time favorite and she is very sweet! (sorry didn't know my receipt number!) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options