Katherine Simkins dog training reviews

Katherine Simkins

Katherine Simkins

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
Andrea G
Andrea G Reno, Nevada | May 04 2015
Katherine is a very thorough trainer! We found Bark Busters online and are very happy with the program. We enjoy that it is in home training and is not treat driven. As we are getting ready for our first baby our dogs have much behavior modification to achieve. Also, getting them ready for this new addition was why we sought out training services. Katherine has opened our eyes to many new tools and the program, with LOTS of practice and commitment, is working. We have implemented these new strategies and see great change. I enjoy the format of Bark Busters and am confident that we will have access to Katherine as we continue to face new changes. It is important to know that for any of this to work it has required about 10-20 minutes of work each day. You must be committed and stick with the homework assigned or else it is not effective. Katherine does a great job at guiding you and her follow up appointments help to hold you accountable. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Judy V Reno, Nevada | April 28 2015
Katherine is an excellent trainer. She listened to our needs; helped us understand what our dog required and was very patient with us. I would recommend Katherine as a trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling
review image
Kaylee S Reno, Nevada | March 23 2015
Katherine is AMAZING!!! I tried many different approaches to train Jester. He was very stubborn and didn't care what tactic I used. I had Katherine come to my house and he was instantly better that day. Even my 11 year old dogs learned from her. You definitely have to work with them as often as you are told. She first started me out every day for only 20 minutes a day and now i'm to 2-3 times a week and he is still doing amazing. I highly would recommend Katherine as your dog trainer! I also work at a veterinarian office and I see many dog trainers come through, so far she has been my all time favorite and she is very sweet! (sorry didn't know my receipt number!) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Toileting
Jillian M
Jillian M Reno, Nevada | March 10 2015
I think my exact words to Katherine during our first lesson were, "It's working like magic!" I can't express how grateful I am for Katherine and this program. My almost 2 year-old pup, Damian, is one of the greatest pets I've ever had. He was always well-behaved and friendly to other animals and people during his puppy years, and I can't recall a time where he had any serious behavioral issues. But last fall, my fur family and I went through several major life changes, and it was clear that it really took a toll on him. It started with loud barking in the house whenever he heard a noise outside (I swear he was just barking at leaves blowing in the wind at times). Then, upon moving into a new apartment, he began aggressively barking at anyone and anything while taking our walks around the complex. Although he was secure on a leash, neighbors were frightened by him (all 20lbs of him). I was frightened at times, and so confused. Why was my sweet pup becoming aggressive? What was I doing wrong? I tried different things before seeking out help, but nothing worked. After nearly 2 months of desperately trying to fix the problem on my own, and one embarrassing noise complaint from the front office, I decided to call Bark Busters. It only took one lesson with Katherine, and Damian was already showing improvement. The most important thing I've learned throughout this program is that it all comes down to me. I've learned how to be the pack leader in my house, the one all my fur babies look to for direction. It's been so rewarding learning how to be this for my pets, and such a relief to be in control again. This program is not only solving my issues with Damian, all of my pets have benefited from this, without me even realizing it! I can't thank Katherine enough for her help. I am so happy with how things are going, and so are my animals. I will, without a doubt, continue to refer Bark Busters to anyone who is having trouble with their pets. Thanks again Katherine, you are incredible! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Donna H
Donna H Sparks, Nevada | December 21 2014
I was in tears when I called Bark Busters. My 5 month old puppy who I got from a so called breeder 2 weeks ago had never been trained in anything. But yesterday Katherine Simkins, Trainer, showed me how to stop Mollys continuous barking when I left the room. I can walk both dogs using only their regular collars, not the chain or spike collars I was using. I am 100% sold on this way of training. Thank you for saving Mollys life. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Joanne F Reno, Nevada | May 09 2014
Katherine was amazing. Patient and knowledgeable . I was really impressed when after the first visit she called the next morning wanting to know if I had any questions!! I would dread it when people were coming over because they would jump and bark. Not now.!!! And it so simple and quick to get a positive response. We are very happy with Katherine and all that she has taught us. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall
review image
Ilo G Reno, Nevada | April 15 2014
We had picked out Remi at the Humane Society. She is a beautiful 4 1/2 year old Pointer. For the most part she minded well and was housebroken, but she wanted to chase our cats. So we looked for some training for her rather than have to return her. The Humane Society had provided a list of trainers to contact. I chose Katherine because it said she came to the home. We booked a Saturday morning visit. Katherine arrived on time and began her training by speaking to us. During the session she explained how and what dogs respond to and then she began training us on how to train Remi. After the session, I took Remi out for her first Post Training walk and the difference was amazing! Prior to training, Remi was on an expandable leash and roaming everywhere, but always came back when called. She would chase after birds, rabbits and the odd noise. Now she walks next to me! And likes it! She responded so well to the training (as we did, as well) that the transformation is amazing. I never thought it could be so easy to work with a dog and have them understand so easily what was expected of them. Remi isn't quite to the point of totally ignoring the cats, but she doesn't go looking for them nearly as much and responds when growled at to come running. Katherine was patient with Remi and my wife and I and got us all in tune with the training. Remi had spent more time with me, so getting her to respond to my wife was important. Now, Remi responds to my wife and I in the same manner. We are very pleased with Remi's progress, Katerine's methods, and Remi seems to be enjoying life even more in her forever home! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Katherine : It's always a pleasure to meet and educate dog owners who are committed to having a happy, well behaved dog!
review image
Katee W Reno, Nevada | December 06 2013
Katherine has been a wonderful asset to our household and the training of our dog, Arnold. He has improved immensely in the short span of time since we began training. I would highly recommend Katherine and her training services with Bark Busters. She has been more than accommodating, extremely knowledgable, and very pleasant work with. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Emma L Reno, Nevada | November 15 2013
After moving to Reno in September from opposite ends of the country, my boyfriend and I struggled to introduce our dogs and maintain a peaceful household. We quickly decided to seek professional help, and spoke to multiple trainers in the area. Katherine was by far the friendliest and most helpful trainer I talked to. She came to our rescue in early October with the perfect tools and guidance to teach us how help our dogs. She has been such a wonderful resource. I would recommend Katherine and Bark Busters to every dog parent! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Sparks | October 15 2009
It has been about two years since Katherine Simkins came to our home. Back then we had dogs that would rush the front door barking wildly at visitors. They would chase the cats, even bark at them from a distance. The moment they would have the chance they would run off. These are just a few examples of the challenges we were facing.---Even with the first training session we saw improvements. She came out to check up on us and we learned even more. Simply using the techniques consistently that we learned from Katherine has changed our lives. The dogs are well behaved in every aspect. They even let the cats walk right by and do nothing. They sit quietly while I answer the door. And the rescue dog I have is even much more confident and relaxed.---We are so pleased with the results we have had that we recommend Katherine without hesitation to anyone that wants a happy, well-behaved dog. Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more