what our clients say about Michelle McCarthy

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michelle

What our Clients are saying about us

February 11 2018

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Puppy Management

This week training session

Our puppies hit a milestone this week six months old. I was having issues with walking them on a leash because they were walking me! I contacted Michelle for a revisit and indeed she came to my rescue. With the proper guidance and tools, our boys are walking like show dogs now! They also learned the stay command which I was having issues with.

Thanks to you Michelle they are doing great!

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thank you Carrie! Your pups have come such a long way and it's always such a pleasure to work with you guys! I'm always here when you need me! ~ Michelle

Carrie S.
Valley Cottage, New York

February 5 2018

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting
Photo of Andrea P.'s dog

We were at wits end managing two rescued terriers, (aged 6 and 5) with serious issues. Tucker has been aggressive with visitors to the home and had begun to turn his aggression on us. Roscoe reverted to messing in the house. Both were leash pullers and had assorted problems while on leash.

Barkbusters was recommended to us by friends who had used the service and had great success with their rescued pitbulls. Our trainer, Michelle, came to our home, the site of the problems, and we began our education about behaviors...ours of course!

By the end of the 4 hour session, we learned how to correct our pets, with body language, voice, and some tools. None of the techniques are hurtful to the dogs and we especially appreciated that.

The next day we began the re-education and reorganization of our pack, with us as the leaders for the first time. We are already amazed at how relaxed the dogs are, and how much their quality of life has improved. (not to mention ours).

We understand that it is just the beginning of weeks and months of reinforcing and praising the new behaviors. We are committed to becoming the Pack Leaders and giving our dogs a better life.

Michelle was knowledgeable and patient, demonstrating everything for us and then letting us have a go. She coached us through the behaviors until we felt ready to try on our own.

The BARKBUSTERS guarantee is for an entire year and she will be back in a few weeks and always available to us for questions, tips, relapses, or any issues going forward. We are so thankful and excited to have the Barkbuster resource for happy dogs and humans.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thank you Andrea! I'm so happy to hear how well you guys are doing with Tucker and Roscoe and that they are more relaxed. Good for them, and for you guys too! I'm here when you need me! ~ Michelle PS I LOVE the pic of the boys that you posted!

Andrea P.
Highland Falls, New York

December 28 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting Other
Photo of Jeff C.'s dog

Michelle was very knowledgeable on the issues we had presented to her and had a passive yet firm approach to how to figure out the puppy's issues. Just from the first visit (which was only a few hours long) Karma responded positively with results and with the training provided she also progressed over the next couple weeks. I found this training to be very useful I'd recommend it others without hesitation. Thank you Michelle!

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Jeff, Thank you! Karma is a smart girl and you guys have done so well with her! Well done to all of you! I'm here to help anytime you need me. ~ Michelle

Jeff C.
Suffern, New York

September 6 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of Kristy E.'s dog

You can teach an old dog new tricks! Our 9 yr old boxer was getting aggressive towards strangers both in and out of our yard and barking all of the time. He is a totally different dog after one session! It is like he quit his job as full time protector and is taking it easy now. The weight of the world is off his shoulders and he is relaxed. He is listening, attentive and responsive to our commands. I highly recommend Michelle and her techniques - she truly is a dog whisperer.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thanks so much Kristy! It is such a joy to see dogs relax when they understand they no longer have to be in charge of everything, nor be responsible for keeping everyone safe. Now your sweet senior is getting his well-deserved retirement from service. Good for him, and all of you too! ;-)

Kristy E.
Piermont, New York

July 24 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of Robert A.'s dog

Michelle is an expert on dog behavior and dog training. She has helped me solve several behavior problems I was having with my puppy. She is an excellent teacher who clearly makes sure you understand and practice the skills of the training session.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thank you Robert! It's been such fun helping you with your puppy. He's got a strong will, but is cute as can be and is such a loving companion. It was a good decision to start working with him now to ensure he starts off heading in the right direction. As always, I'm here anytime you need me to help you with training!

Robert A.
Central Valley, New York

February 23 2017

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called
Photo of MICHELLE A.'s dog

Michelle is great. She is very personable and informative with both humans & dogs 😊

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thanks Michelle! I have loved working with you guys as well. Keep me posted! Michelle

MICHELLE A.
congers, New York

December 15 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management
Photo of Dave S.'s dog

I finally got the dog I always wanted- a French mastiff. I bought Duke for my kids last Christmas and was looking forward to a calm family dog. Unfortunately, it's difficult to manage a dog as muscular and heavy as this breed when they're an excitable puppy. I had Michelle from Bark Busters come to my house for some one-on-one training for Duke and I was impressed after just the first session. She showed me how to take control of such a large dog and correctly motivate him towards proper behavior. I made the right choice by calling Bark Busters and Michelle has been able to promptly answer all of my questions. Duke is always going to be a big lovable handful, but now I feel like Michelle and Bark Busters has given me the right tools to keep him on track.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Thank you Dave! I'm happy that I have been able to help you and your family with Duke. He certainly is a big, head-strong boy, but he's a good dog. :-) You know I'm here when you need me! ~ Michelle PS I LOVE this pic of Duke!

Dave S.
Blauvelt, New York

December 13 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of Jennifer S.'s dog

Michelle McCarthy from Bark Busters is a miracle worker! I first called her in May of 2015 when I got my 8 week old Havanese, who was a terror. Lily was chewing everything, having accidents everyday, ruining everything she came into contact with. After our first session, I saw such a change in her personality and demeanor. As the weeks progressed she became my little angel. One of the major problems that Michelle and I were working on was Lily’s separation anxiety. It seemed to get better, but was not perfect. She still was having accidents almost everyday when left alone. After a year, I decided that she needed a companion. In May of 2016 I adopted Fenway, a 3 year old Minpin/Beagle mix. From the first day of them meeting, Lily has not had a single accident. Using the tools Michelle gave me, I started training Fenway, a hyper untrained dog. He was very receptive and I got him to a place that I felt comfortable with.

In July of 2016, there was an incident in which they were being abused by a significant other. After removing them from that situation, I was left to pick up the pieces. Both dogs became afraid of strangers walking towards them. They both would bark and growl to protect themselves due to fear of being hurt. It was Michelle to the rescue! With one visit I took control back and Lily and Fenway trust me again to know that I will protect them. I would highly recommend Michelle from Bark Busters! Not only is she an amazing trainer, she's a compassionate person who truly loves what she does!

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Jennifer, Thank you! I enjoyed working first with you and Lily and now again with your new little guy, Fenway! It is wonderful to see how far you have come with them both and I am glad that I could be a part of their life with you! Michelle

Jennifer S.
New City, New York

November 18 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting Other
Photo of Alexandria M.'s dog

I have an existing 8yr old male mixed breed 55lbs and introduced an 8lb female pit bull puppy and it didn't go well. The 8yr doesn't like small dogs and the house was in complete chaos. Michelle came and I saw an immediate improvement. The baby started learning her boundaries and the older dog became more tolerant. In 1 session the baby was able to sit, stay and set free on command as food was being placed down. The puppy chewing decreased dramatically. We moved on to work on door boundaries and walking skills. Over the course of 2 months Michelle was there to support and reassure that we were capable leaders. Today, the puppy and the older dog both are wonderful. They are working on their door boundaries and have come a long way. They are playing like two siblings while respecting each others private space (sleeping and eating). They know their basic commands. I am amazed at Michelle's calm ability to give me the skill sets to manage these furbabies. Was worth every penny. But you have to be ready to take the skills you are taught and incorporate them in to your everyday life.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Alex, Thank you! It was such a pleasure to work with your family and help your puppy fit in. It has been such a joy to receive the pictures you send of your younger and older dog getting along so well together, as brother and sister :-) Well done to you guys! Michelle

Alexandria M.
stony point, New York

September 2 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other

Today's lesson was nothing short of remarkable, I could not believe with my own eyes how my animals refrained from inhaling all the snacks I threw on the floor, amazing is what it was. With guidance from Michelle McCarthy, I was able to train them not to charge out of the crate but wait to be asked out while in the sit position ... unbelievable! Coming when called and staying by my side was a new treat for me, they would never stay by my side on a daily basis, they would meander wherever and whenever, that was corrected in literally minutes. Michelle is our miracle worker, I would/will highly recommend her. Looking forward to future training. Thanks Michelle! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Kim, You have done such a fantastic job with the boys and have gained such control with them. Well done! It's been a pleasure working with all of you! Michelle

Kim M.
Warwick, New York

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bear Mountain, Blauvelt, Central Valley, Chester, Congers, Cornwall, Cornwall On Hudson, Fort Montgomery, Garnerville, Goshen, Greenwood Lake, Harriman, Haverstraw, Highland Falls, Highland Mills, Hillburn, Middletown, Monroe, Monsey, Nanuet, New City, New Windsor, Nyack, Orangeburg, Palisades, Pearl River, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Southfields, Sparkill, Spring Valley, Stony Point, Suffern, Tappan, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Tuxedo Park, Vails Gate, Valley Cottage, Warwick, West Haverstraw, West Nyack, West Point

© 2018 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC