what our clients say about Michelle McCarthy

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Michelle

August 10 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of Brittany L.'s dog

We have a 1 year old female cockapoo and a 7 month old male micro mini goldendoodle puppy. Our cockapoo showed aggression towards us at times, lashing out when we would pet her, try to move her off of a seat, etc. She also gave us a difficult time coming back in the house at night time. We are currently working on basic training with our other 7 month old puppy. We have had two training sessions with Michelle, and we began to see a change in our puppies immediately. She changed our dog's aggressive behavior and she has been so much more loving and mellow. We are now working on leash training with both puppies and it is challenging, but Michelle is the true "pack leader" and teaches you and everyone in the family how to also be the leader to change your dog's behavior. She is wonderful and I'm so glad we contacted Bark Busters. Our puppies are friendlier and happier than ever! I would definitely recommend Bark Busters to others who are experiencing a difficult time taking control and training their dog.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Brittany, Your family has been great to work with and you have done wonderfully with the pups! I'm glad you are enjoying them even more. And I love this picture :-) ! Michelle

Brittany L.
Tappan, New York

January 18 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Hyperactivity Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting

We got a new puppy and were having a hard time adjusting her into the family. We called Michelle as recommended by other family members who also loved her. Michelle is outstanding; she taught us how to be the Leaders of our Pack and now both our dogs live together great!!!! They play and sleep in the same room without any difficulty. The puppy is noticeably different. She is so much easier to manage and listens great. We can't recommend Michelle enough. You will never have regrets if you use her; 5 STARS all around

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Estee and Herb, I have loved working with both of you, and ALL of your family. You are all so dedicated to your furry family members and I'm grateful to have been there to help. Michelle :-)

Estee and Herb S.
Nanuet, New York

January 16 2016

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Bark Busters is a great training program. Michelle has helped our family work with Charlie on many occasions, each with a successful, happy outcome. She is easy to contact, responds to our questions and continues to support our training with Charlie.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Donna, Charlie is an awesome little dog and I love being able to help you keep him on track with his training when he needs a little reminding :-) Michelle

Donna C.
New City, New York

November 15 2015

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Michelle is amazing. As soon as she met our beuatiful Minature Australian Shepherd Ferri we knew that she would be great to work with and that Ferri would be in good hands. Her methods are teachable, not only to our dog but to us. She is calm, thoughtful, clear and very caring. If you follow her training schedule you will see clear results. She provides weekly updates and really makes you and your dog feel special.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Stuart, I have loved working with you both and Ferri. She is a great little dog and you have done so well to make her a well-behaved member of your family. Well done! Michelle

Stuart S.
Haverstraw, New York

September 24 2015

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Michelle is the real deal. Our five month old Shepard puppy is a pleasure to hangout with, now that we have learned how to communicate with her. If you follow Michelle's advice you will not go wrong. After 5 sessions with Michelle we are amazed at how our bouncing jumping puppy can actually sit and wait for us to welcome our guests in to our home without a leash. For me the best thing is the off leash control. What a great feeling to be able to stop a ball chasing very playful puppy in her tracks. Thank you Michelle.

Trainer note from Michelle:
Hi Shia, Your dedication to your pup is amazing and you have done so well to get this strong-willed, full-of-energy girl to be a happy family member. And I'm happy I have been there to help. Michelle

Shia F.
Suffern, New York

April 7 2015

It was really easy to follow once we were instructed in the right way. I could not believe that Roxy came to us with a few little training tips. It was better than training programs that I have heard of that use harsh techniques.


Jessica D.
Monroe, NY

April 1 2015

Good communication techniques. Good results.


Peggy F.
West Nyack, NY

March 2 2015

Very good results within a short period of time. Good strategies - easy to understand. The results were evident - Myron was considerably calmer. Very pleased.


Barbara L.
Highland Mills, NY

January 27 2015

Michelle McCarthy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of Lisa C.'s dog

First I have to tell you, I've never owned a dog, I was a cat person. I got a 4 month old chocolate Lab for my 12 yr old son. The first week was hell, I had no clue about the "leader of the pack" thing. I was putting her in her crate all the time because my son and I were sometimes afraid or she was out of control. I wanted to give her back. I can now honestly say calling Michelle was the best decision/investment I made. I can now say I have a wonderful well behaved 6 month old puppy. I've read some reviews from other people that have used Bark Busters in other locations. I will say, if you made the commitment to take care of a dog, make the commitment to train them properly. It does take time, you have to work with your dog on your own too. But it absolutely works when you follow through. oh and to add I've called Michelle a couple of times with questions. She's been so responsive and takes time with me so I'm clear on how to work with my dog. So with all that said, I am completely satisfied and a very very happy puppy owner.


Lisa C.
Suffern, New York

December 17 2014

I've spent thousands of dollars on training, yet THIS was the easiest and most effective program! I saw immediate results. My dog is like a different animal. She's calm and controlled. It could not be easier. I loved understanding how my dog thinks. It is simple, I saw immediate results so I want to practice more! Michelle is a wonderful coach. She encouraged me throughout.


Susan P.
Valley Cottage

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Bear Mountain, Blauvelt, Central Valley, Chester, Congers, Cornwall, Cornwall On Hudson, Fort Montgomery, Garnerville, Goshen, Greenwood Lake, Harriman, Haverstraw, Highland Falls, Highland Mills, Hillburn, Middletown, Monroe, Monsey, Nanuet, New City, New Windsor, Nyack, Orangeburg, Palisades, Pearl River, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Southfields, Sparkill, Spring Valley, Stony Point, Suffern, Tappan, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Tuxedo Park, Vails Gate, Valley Cottage, Warwick, West Haverstraw, West Nyack, West Point

© 2018 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC