what our clients say about Nicole Martel

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Nicole

November 3 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of Al M.'s dog

Nicole from Bark Busters was great. I have 2 pitbulls, Gia and Gucci, for the last 7+ years, 2 females who recently started having little fights over dominance. She taught me a lot of training techniques that make me control the situation, and all with no treats!! Also, Gucci pulls on the leash, so she gave me 2 collars and taught me how to use them. On her next visit, after working with what she told me as of now, we will move onto other exercises. Looking forward to seeing you again!


Al M.
Bronx, New York

November 2 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Nicole has helped us instrumentally! Sammie is basically a 2 year old, 40 lb puppy who was supposedly housetrained and had lived in harmony with a cat. Nope, not one of those things proved true when we adopted her. She was terrible on the leash, and basically tried to dominate anyone or any thing in her path - she jumped, barked, pawed, nipped, etc and went to the bathroom if left alone for even a few minutes. I had doubts we were the right family for her because of her limitless energy which went unchecked, because we do not have a fenced in yard, and she wasn't good enough with other dogs to go to daycare. We've had 2 sessions with Nicole and with diligent practice now have a dog that we actually like to be around! She's still a work in progress outside and with the housebreaking, but she behaves SIGNIFICANTLY better than she did 1 month ago! It seems like every day she becomes calmer, happier, and more at ease. This is my second experience with Bark Busters, and I'm so happy I called them again for this dog. I have hope now that eventually my cats and dog will live in peace together!


Stefanie D.
OSSINING, New York

October 9 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other
Photo of June L.'s dog

Although I work with dogs and have years of experience,my own "pack" of 3 females was out of control. They had taken over the couches, barked nonstop at gardeners in the neighborhood, visitors and even my family when we went in our swimming pool!

Out of desperation I googled Bark Busters. Nicole Martel responded to my email within hours. We set a date, which was yesterday afternoon. As she walked up to my front door, I thought there was no way this small, attractive woman could gain control of three 62 pound dogs ( two pit mixes and one hound mix), all rescues.

Nicole quickly observed their barking craziness and told us the plan. We sat and discussed the situation. Nicole's presentation was concise and well delivered. We learned a great deal about nutrition and behavior.

Then it was time to begin training exercises! Each dog went through the exercises as we practiced and learned. It was phenomenal to see our dogs responding so quickly.

We made a commitment to work with them 1-3 times daily on the issues that affect our daily life: doorbells, gardeners, strangers and other dogs walking past our house, crating and uncrating, exiting and entering the house and bedtime!! All 3 dogs stayed on their own beds last night with just one correction! I feel like I have control. It will be a few weeks of hard work to solidify the new behaviors - we are thrilled that Nicole was our trainer. We recommend her!!


June L.
White Plains, New York

September 27 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

Nicole was extraordinarily comprehensive and patient with our family, as we learned the steps WE had to take to understand our dog's issues, and how to "think and behave" like our newly adopted shelter dog. Nicole provided us with a clear plan to reduce Didi's aggressive behavior, and to reduce the stress we have all been feeling for the past two months. She is always available for follow-up, and I am confident that Bark Busters and Nicole will help us become a truly relaxed and loving family for our sweet hound.


Douglas S.
New Rochelle, New York

September 8 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of DeannA A.'s dog

Nicole was so great! We had a brand new rescue pup and we needed some guidance and help as to how to get him situated and trained. He does so well on a leash and sits at every door before he goes out. We learned to show him who his pack leader is and how dogs communicate. Things changed immediately. Even though Theo continues to test us, we feel we at least have the tools to attack any problem behaviors and get him on the right track! The best part is, Nicole is our trainer for life. So I know I can call or email her with any questions or concerns and she gets back to us right away. We look forward to further sessions!!


DeannA A.
New Rochelle, New York

August 22 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Toileting

We had our first lesson with Nicole and she gave us some great advise and tips to address the issues we contacted her about. We immediately saw some improvement. Being this is our first puppy, Nicole was very patient, reassuring and helped calm us. She also helped us make Kacey's space better for her. We looked forward to continue to working with Nicole and highly recommend her.


Candice K.
Ardsley, New York

August 20 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of Priscila H.'s dog

Nicole is amazing! We (myself and my daughter) had the first lesson, and we learned a lot! Oscar, our puppy, is responding very well... we are so impressed how can we communicate with Oscar and how much he could learn already and responding very well for everything that was taught. Thanks Nicole!!!


Priscila H.
Irvington, New York

August 17 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

Nicole was wonderful! She explained her methods so that it made sense and helped me understand my dog's problems. The exercises were very helpful, and she was fun to work with. Her personality coincides with mine, and I knew from the first phone contact that she would help me. And she did.


Paula B.
Chappaqua, New York

August 9 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

My husband and I were both impressed by Nicole. For our dog, Maddie, it was love at first sight. Nicole clearly explained her training methods, and she took time to make sure we understood our "homework." I was amazed at how cooperative our puppy was with the training exercises. She seemed to really enjoy doing them correctly. Nicole made the experience fun for Maddie and for us.


Jean P.
Yorktown Heights, NY, New York

August 9 2016

Nicole Martel dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other

Nicole was professional and relaxed. Ru responded immediately to her, and she had great tips and ideas. I felt that I could practice everything we spoke about without becoming overwhelmed.


Gail C.
Bronxville, New York

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
One of the World's Largest Dog Training Companies

Areas Covered
Amawalk, Ardsley, Ardsley On Hudson, Armonk, Baldwin Place, Bedford, Bedford Hills, Brewster, Briarcliff Manor, Bronx, Bronxville, Buchanan, Carmel, Chappaqua, Cold Spring, Cortlandt Manor, Crompond, Cross River, Croton Falls, Croton On Hudson, Dobbs Ferry, Eastchester, Elmsford, Garrison, Goldens Bridge, Granite Springs, Harrison, Hartsdale, Hastings On Hudson, Hawthorne, Irvington, Jefferson Valley, Katonah, Lake Peekskill, Larchmont, Lincolndale, Mahopac, Mahopac Falls, Mamaroneck, Maryknoll, Millwood, Mohegan Lake, Montrose, Mount Kisco, Mount Vernon, New Rochelle, North Salem, Ossining, Patterson, Peekskill, Pelham, Pleasantville, Port Chester, Pound Ridge, Purchase, Purdys, Putnam Valley, Rye, Scarsdale, Shenorock, Shrub Oak, Somers, South Salem, Tarrytown, Thornwood, Tuckahoe, Valhalla, Verplanck, Waccabuc, West Harrison, White Plains, Yorktown Heights

© 2018 All Rights Reserved Bark Busters North America LLC