Ruth Marquardt dog training reviews

Ruth Marquardt

Expert Dog Trainer, Ruth Marquardt

See below for all reviews for Ruth Marquardt, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Haley O
Haley O Larsen, Wisconsin | May 04 2017
It has only been two weeks since Winnie's first training session with Ruth and she has done a tremendous job responding to the training techniques provided by Ruth. We are working on many of the basics, but I have hope that Winnie will be able to tolerate other dogs in the future giving her response to the training in such a short amount of time. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Recall
Trainer note from Ruth : Winnie is a rescue dog who was adopted by her current owners at 3 years of age. We do not have any history on her at all. She is some type of Lab/Spaniel mix from what we can tell. She has been reactive to other dogs on a leash, so her owners called for help. There will soon be a baby human in the household, and the owners did not want to have to worry that Winny would be reacting on leash to another dog while out for a walk with the new baby. She took to the training right away. The owners have much better voice control already! Winnie has a very soft temperament, so I can only assume she was trying to protect her owners, thinking she had to lead everyone. She is such a beautiful dog!
review image
Kristina J Neenah, Wisconsin | March 25 2017
I have a 2 1/2 year old pitbull named Coco and a 5 year old mix breed named Jaida. I called Barkbusters because Coco needs help. She is very loving to her family but does not like anyone else coming to the house. I frankly didn't trust what she would do because she appeared to assume everyone but her family was a threat. I received Ruth's business card from my vet and the vet tech told me she has heard great things about her. So, before I considered a pitbull rescue I wanted to do what I could to help Coco first. When Ruth came over I was so worried that Coco wouldn't respond. But I was pleasantly surprised. Ruth taught me so much about Coco's behavior, how to treat her and how to be the best leader in our home. Coco responded 100 times better than I thought she would and Ruth assured me that her behavior was nervousness not aggression. She brought hope! As a trainer she was extremely knowledgeable, personable and gifted. Its only been two days since she has been here but I already see positive changes and I am in control. I am excited for this journey!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : This review really made me smile, because I knew how nervous Coco's owner was and how much she wanted the training to work. I love lessons like this. Coco did respond beautifully. she is a beautiful dog and will be so much happier now that she doesn't feel she has to control everything. :)
review image
Julie A Neenah, Wisconsin | January 26 2017
Happy with trainer. I can see with consistency that Winston will be a great dog. His barking improved and he responded to the techniques which are "doable" for my busy life. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
Trainer note from Ruth : Winston is a 3 year old Maltese. He was kind of used to getting things his own way, so he didn't feel like he had to listen to anyone. When the owner learned to "speak dog", things started improving! Winston IS going to be a great little dog!
review image
Jena T Green Bay, Wisconsin | December 29 2016
At the first training we already noticed positive changes in our dog Reggie and we are so excited to continue with the trainins. Ruth is extremely helpful and informative! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up
review image
Eric and Mindy W Kimberly, Wisconsin | December 03 2016
We think the training was phenominal. We were impressed with how quickly our dog Buddy responded to Ruth and some annoying behaviors were corrected. The training is simple and effective. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Buddy was very good in some ways, but was becoming overly protective of the family. He is a little dog - a Yorkshire Terrier/Shih Tzu mix - but felt he needed to be the protector of all and scare everyone away. Poor little guy just needed his family to tell him that's not what they wanted! He started listening right away when they started speaking dog. I love helping families become less stressed by helping the dog understand his actual role. Happy Dogs Happy Families!
review image
Chelsea R Berlin, Wisconsin | November 28 2016
Ruth was very friendly, and I was surprised how fast both of my dogs responded to the training! I learned so much about dogs. I feel very confident with the training after Ruth left! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Ruth : Rebel is a Rottweiler/Pit Bull mix. He is a timid or shy dog that really felt responsible for taking care of everyone. Recently a new baby and a few other family members were added to the household, and Rebel felt a little overwhelmed at only 11 months old. Thankfully he realized his owners could take on the responsibility just fine. Sometimes just changes in the household that do not seem significant, are to the dog. Speaking Dog makes it so much easier to communicate!
Peggy L
Peggy L Neenah, Wisconsin | November 15 2016
Ruth was wonderful. Can't believe the difference in just one day. Walked with Kyle today at MY chosen route. Something he has not done since July 1. He still wants to walk ahead but we are working on that. No jumping on the couch. Didn't jump on people during our walk. Even the cat is loving it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Ruth : Kyle is a Golden Doodle who was a bit bossy, and used to having things his way. Once his owner began to speak dog, things began to change. Way to go Peggy!
review image
Kristine B Menasha, Wisconsin | October 27 2016
Ruth was very helpful in reducing Bambi's barking within the first few hours! She gave us great tips to train her and we couldn't be more thankful. Bambi has become a whole new dog and we haven't even had the follow up appointment yet! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking
Trainer note from Ruth : We have now had a follow up appointment and Bambi really has improved greatly! She is a Rat Terrier/Beagle mix who is a little nervous and felt she had to keep the family safe. She now knows a little more that she does not need to be the sounder of danger! They now have upstairs tenants who make noise when moving about their apartment and Bambi does not feel the need to sound off every time she hears something. We are now working on reacting to seeing people and other animals outside while walking and she did great at her first try. She has a great relationship with her owners and wants to please them.
review image
Michele L Greenville, Wisconsin | October 22 2016
Thank you so much for all of the help! Harlee and Cooper seemed to respond very well to the training, and we can't wait to start practicing. I personally appreciate the patience with me learning how to be assertive in my behavior and training, so that Harlee and Cooper respond. You were very open to all of the questions we had, and we feel very confident moving forward with the training. And, thank you so much for being there when we have questions and concerns. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Harlee is a female Boxer and Cooper is a male Lab/German Shepherd mix. Both are about 2 years old. They recently moved to a new area and now have children in the neighborhood. All of the noise and stimulation had both dogs rather excited. They just didn't know what to think of it! They needed some direction from their owners, so they knew what to be worried about and what is ok. Their owners felt they were in over their heads, so they called Bark Busters. The dogs were relieved to find out they didn't have to be so vigilant. Cooper needed to learn how to live in a house, and just restricting his area during the day when the owners were at work really will help him to understand the rules while not destroying anything during the day. Not every dog can be crated, nor should every dog be crated. There are other ways to teach a dog house rules. We are so happy to be able to help Michele and Connor with these beautiful dogs!
review image
Dan C Larsen, Wisconsin | September 10 2016
Ruth was very knowledgable and reassured that our dong Boone was not a "lost cause" and with patience and hard work he could be a great family dog. We look forward to continued training with Ruth and can't wait to see the positive changes it will have in our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up
Trainer note from Ruth : Boone is a beautiful English Springer Spaniel. The owners were very concerned about some growling and snapping that Boone was doing sometimes with them, and sometimes with guests. One owner was using a physical technique to correct Boone, and Boone was a nervous dog. Being nervous already, being pinned down made him more nervous, unable to run away. He began thinking maybe everyone would try that so he just tried to keep all visitors away from him. He figured out if he growled, it would keep people away. So he used it. Once the owner starting speaking dog, he no longer needed physical techniques to correct Boone, just his voice. Boone began trusting more and he was much less nervous. Boone is a soft-hearted, sweet dog who needed a leader to protect him. Consistency will make this change permanent.

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter