Ruth Marquardt dog training reviews

Ruth Marquardt

Expert Dog Trainer, Ruth Marquardt

See below for all reviews for Ruth Marquardt, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Michele L Greenville, Wisconsin | October 22 2016
Thank you so much for all of the help! Harlee and Cooper seemed to respond very well to the training, and we can't wait to start practicing. I personally appreciate the patience with me learning how to be assertive in my behavior and training, so that Harlee and Cooper respond. You were very open to all of the questions we had, and we feel very confident moving forward with the training. And, thank you so much for being there when we have questions and concerns. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Harlee is a female Boxer and Cooper is a male Lab/German Shepherd mix. Both are about 2 years old. They recently moved to a new area and now have children in the neighborhood. All of the noise and stimulation had both dogs rather excited. They just didn't know what to think of it! They needed some direction from their owners, so they knew what to be worried about and what is ok. Their owners felt they were in over their heads, so they called Bark Busters. The dogs were relieved to find out they didn't have to be so vigilant. Cooper needed to learn how to live in a house, and just restricting his area during the day when the owners were at work really will help him to understand the rules while not destroying anything during the day. Not every dog can be crated, nor should every dog be crated. There are other ways to teach a dog house rules. We are so happy to be able to help Michele and Connor with these beautiful dogs!
review image
Dan C Larsen, Wisconsin | September 10 2016
Ruth was very knowledgable and reassured that our dong Boone was not a "lost cause" and with patience and hard work he could be a great family dog. We look forward to continued training with Ruth and can't wait to see the positive changes it will have in our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up
Trainer note from Ruth : Boone is a beautiful English Springer Spaniel. The owners were very concerned about some growling and snapping that Boone was doing sometimes with them, and sometimes with guests. One owner was using a physical technique to correct Boone, and Boone was a nervous dog. Being nervous already, being pinned down made him more nervous, unable to run away. He began thinking maybe everyone would try that so he just tried to keep all visitors away from him. He figured out if he growled, it would keep people away. So he used it. Once the owner starting speaking dog, he no longer needed physical techniques to correct Boone, just his voice. Boone began trusting more and he was much less nervous. Boone is a soft-hearted, sweet dog who needed a leader to protect him. Consistency will make this change permanent.
review image
Maribeth G Oneida, Wisconsin | August 31 2016
Ruth was very knowledgeable about the tips she was teaching me. I have been applying them and have seen results. Ruth is the dog trainer I have been looking for for 4 years. No one else has been able to help me with the issues I am having with Bentley. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Ruth : Bentley is a Labrador who was scared once when a person he thought to be a stranger, but was actually a friend of the owner, thought Bentley would remember him from puppyhood; he came in and immediately began roughhousing with Bentley. From that point on, Bentley became very worried about visitors and the owners could not allow him to meet visitors at all. He would bark and carry on even when put outside in the fenced yard. He really just needed his owners to take over that job from him. Happily, Bentley was fired from that position and felt so much better with his owners taking over for him.
Maribeth G
Maribeth G Oneida, Wisconsin | August 31 2016
Ruth is the trainer I have been looking for for 4yrs. The techniques definitely work. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Nicole M
Nicole M Appleton, Wisconsin | August 29 2016
My husband and I were shocked at how our dog responded to just 3 hours of training with Ruth. She really taught us how to be better leaders for our dog and it was clear that our dog's behavior was really reflective on how his human owners behaved. Ruth did a great job at explaining why we need to act a certain way and how dogs need to be spoken too. Bentley is overly protective of his house and with just one session we were taught things to calm his anxiety around strangers. I can't wait to see what the future holds for us with the help of Ruth! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Ruth : Bentley is a young adult Labrador who was frightened once when someone came into the house and he didn't know this person, and the person handled him roughly. After that he decided everyone coming in was a possible danger. Bentley's owners learned how to let him know that they would make the decision about who could come in instead of him. He still needs some work but he made huge strides in his first session!
review image
Molly M Green Bay, Wisconsin | August 29 2016
Ruth is extremely knowledgeable and an excellent trainer. Prior to her arrival we were struggling really bad with our new puppy. Almost immediately after she taught us the program our puppy Parker became a completely different dog. We love how he responded to the program. He was so stressed when left alone now on the program is so much happier. We don't sense any stress at all anymore, 2 days in. Wow. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Parker really was a stressed out little 9 week old puppy. His owners were kind of catering to his every whim which made him think they wanted him to be the leader. What kind of a leader does a baby make? They are still loving and enjoying their puppy, but they have learned to speak dog with him, so he feels more secure. He is now a happy, normal, loving and fun puppy!
Mary M
Mary M Black Creek, Wisconsin | August 08 2016
Ruth had stop by on a Saturday (8-6-16) to help me with my Milo. You see Milos mother as sick 3days after his birth so he was bottle feed from 3 days old. When I was able to get him at 8 weeks,me n my friend n son went n picked him up to find out he was coming from a puppy mill. So Milo is a very aggressive dog n Ruth is able to show me how to speak his language. It's only been 2days but what a big improvement already. Thank you lord for people like Ruth. Milo loves Ruth also n listens so well for her. Iam so thankful for Ruth on helping me with my handsome boy Milo 😘 Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Ruth : Milo is a 4 month old Doberman puppy. He had a rough start by getting milk poisoning from his mother at 3 days old, and all but 3 pups died. He was a bottle fed baby and had to learn that he didn't get everything he wanted, whenever he wanted. This is what puppies learn when they nurse from mom. Once Mary learned to speak dog, Milo began to improve right away. He will be a good pup!
review image
Gloria B Appleton, Wisconsin | August 08 2016
Ruth was patient and knowledgeable. We "surprised" her with 2 extra puppies. When the appointment was set up, we only had Teddy; however when she arrived, we had added 2 10 week old puppies. Ruth was very gracious about our new family members. The puppies have been responding well to the "bah". Teddy is still more difficult to manage. We are looking forward to today's session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Teddy was a 6 month old Australian Shepherd puppy when I first met him about a month ago. Ellie Mae and Lulu are littermates; Australian Shepherd puppies now 12 weeks old. One Australian Shepherd puppy is a lot of energy. Three is a lot of work! Gloria and her family had special plans for the two younger puppies to be family members, and also hopefully have a job too. I think they will love their jobs! Teddy was adopted when he was already 5 months old, so he really missed an important imprinting period. He was characteristically shy and jumpy as a result of that. The owners becoming the leader for this pack of pups was very important. We did some normal first puppy session work, and when I came back for the second visit on 8/8/16, I was very pleased with how far Teddy had come! The puppies were also responding well. We are already working on voice control in the back yard with the little ones. Teddy needs more focus first before he can work on that. He is doing much less pacing and can relax and fall asleep with a stranger in the room now. This family has their work cut out for them with 3 puppies under 8 months old, but they are up to the task. They are all beatiful pups, and if the family is consistent, their behavior will be beautiful too!
review image
Gary S Westfield, Wisconsin | August 01 2016
I was amazed at Ruth's ability to teach our puppy and us with both compassion and sternness. I believe we all learned a lot. We now have the ability to move forward in our effort to train our puppy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management
review image
Dannelle J Fond du Lac, Wisconsin | July 28 2016
We were having some big problem with our new puppy for the first year of his life and couldn't get a handle on any correction of his habits. After our first session with Ruth from Bark Busters, we noticed a big difference. We were taught simple directions on how to correct them and within no time noticed a big difference. Instructions and questions are explained thoroughly and our dogs responded very well. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Ruth : Charlie and Winston are both small dogs and both are Maltese mixes. Charlie is the puppy, who is Maltese and Lhasa Apso. Charlie was anxious thinking he had to be in control, even though he didn't want to be. Once they learned to communicate with their dogs more effectively, the behavior improved right away!

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter