Tommy Meyerhoeffer dog training reviews

Tommy Meyerhoeffer

Expert Dog Trainer, Tommy Meyerhoeffer

See below for all reviews for Tommy Meyerhoeffer, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Whitney H Burke, Virginia | January 16 2020
My husband and I contacted Tommy after our dog had an unfortunate incident involving a neighbor's dog. My husband was wary, as another training program we had used for our older dog made him feel judged and looked down upon, in almost a "how could you let your dog get this way?" kind of vibe. Within the first ten minutes of meeting Tommy, I knew this was going to be a totally different experience. We felt absolutely no judgement from Tommy. He never made us feel irresponsible, dumb, or less than. in fact, he truly has the gift of quickly figuring out what types of examples you could personally relate to when explaining dog behavior or training techniques. We are both high school teachers and he quickly modified his examples to be things like, "so if a student gets out of his seat when he's not allowed to, what would you do?" It put the concepts into a psychological space that we could directly relate to and made it easier to understand, and then ultimately, remember. Tommy has met with us multiple other times and has always let what work needs to be done dictate the amount of time he spends with me. I never feel rushed nor do I feel silly asking questions or having Tommy demonstrate things for me. He is constantly accessible when I need help, and has gone out of his way to help me with my pup. He is absolutely invaluable and I couldn't recommend him more highly to anyone who is in need of help with their dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
DeeDee C Montclair, Virginia | December 21 2019
Tommy is AMAZING!! You definitely can see the difference after the first session! He definitely not only works with your dog but with you so that you understand EVERYTHING! It's been a month since our first session and Tommy has been checking up ever since! You can tell he really cares about the relationship between the owner and their dog. If you haven't done Bark Busters, then you don't know what you and your dog have been missing! It was a great learning experience for my dog and me, and I am so thankful to Tommy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Lindsay B Fairfax, Fairfax (city), Virginia | October 09 2019
Penny had basic commands, but my husband and I were struggling with getting to that next level of good behavior. She would pull on the leash, jump up on people, dig at our couches, and had no personal boundaries when guests sat down - things we didn't know how to approach training. That's when we found Tommy. It was amazing watching him interact with Penny as he got a feel for the type of dog she is and figuring out her quirks. He also talked through everything he was doing with us, so we could understand and learn ourselves. Within one lesson, Tommy taught us how to better communicate with Penny, and helped us with every issue we addressed. We could finally take covers off of our couches, I can easily walk my 60 pound dog, and she doesn't jump or get on people. Tommy is very professional and friendly, and is an incredible trainer. He was just the same when I emailed him following the in-home training with a couple of questions, and I know I can reach out to him anytime we need to. I'm going to get Tommy to help us with every dog we have. I can't recommend him enough. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Deanna F Haymarket, Virginia | August 25 2019
We were so pleasantly surprised at the difference we saw in our dog in just one 3-hour visit from Tommy. Our recently adopted 1-year old lab mix pulled really badly on walks and was overly excitable all of the time, especially with guests. We tried a pet store group training class, internet searches, and training videos, but nothing was working to calm her down. After just one session with Tommy, she was a completely different dog. He taught us how to get her to calm down and pay more attention to what we were asking. She's better on walks and we're also able to stop her from jumping on guests. All of this was accomplished without treats! I had read the reviews and was skeptical that one session could really make a difference, but I'm glad to say I was wrong. The methods really work! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Karri Q HAYMARKET, Virginia | July 12 2019
I am so happy with the progress my dog has made since working with Tommy and Bark Busters. My pup is a large mutt - hound, lab, pit, pointer - a lot of hunting instincts in one 80 lb stubborn boy. We tried other in home trainers when he was younger, and while he learned some things, at 2 years, I was still left with a big, strong dog who pulled hard during walks, tried to chase squirrels/bunnies, and jumped on people in the home. Those trainers stopped working with us after he was out of "adolescence" so I was left on my own. I signed up with Tommy after my pup almost knocked me over to get to a squirrel one day. I needed help! After the one session with Tommy, there were immediate changes. To see the results that day was amazing. I have to say though, that it still takes work and commitment. There's no magic button. Tommy gives you the tools to work with your dog and while there were immediate results, we have to keep working to keep him on track. It's amazing though when I'm walking with my dog now, and he's walking right next to me - occasionally looking up at me. Where in the past, he was pulling my arm out of the socket, hunting for squirrels and good smells, as if I didn't exist on the other end of the leash. I really appreciate that the method doesn't require electrical shocking my dog or any other pain. Treats didn't work on my dog either, as a tasty squirrel looks much yummier than my treat. It's not just walks either, his in home behavior has improved so much as well. Much less jumping on anyone, and easily corrected if he screws up. And when the doorbell rings, I'm actually able to open the door now! Tommy has continued to be supportive in the process as well. He's so responsive when I reach out via email with a question or new issue to address. He checks in periodically too. It's nice to know I have lifetime support now from an amazing trainer who clearly loves what he does. Can't recommend Tommy and the Bark Busters method enough! Worth every penny! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Doug and Rachael P Haymarket, Virginia | March 12 2019
We have a two year old female Golden Retriever that struggled mightily during walks (pulling) and barking at things outside of our house. Tommy came in and spent a few hours showing us how we can change our overall outlook toward her, which has drastically decreased her anxiety. When on the leash walking outside with these new tactics, Tommy had her calm and walking right next to him WITHIN SECONDS. He also leaves you with homework and takeaways that you can continue to work on. We would highly recommend Tommy if you have a pup that needs some direction and structure. He's great! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Kerry R Centreville, Virginia | December 10 2018
I highly recommend Bark Busters Fairfax. Tommy Meyerhoeffer is an excellent dog (people) trainer and was prepared and professional during our home training session. We have two hound dogs, one of which was a nightmare to take on walks because of her natural hunting instincts. Before Tommy left on our very first day of training our sweet girl was walking by my side and catching on quickly to what I wanted her to do. Be prepared - the success of ongoing training is fully in the owners hands! Tommy spent the time with us to teach us about the natural instincts and thought patterns of dogs, and this has helped guide me during our "homework" time. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Lucy B Fairfax, Virginia | December 04 2018
Tommy was phenomenal. The techniques he taught us have changed my 2 stubborn dachshunds' behavior dramatically. I waited to write this review to be sure the behavioral changes lasted and they have. We still have to work with them, as Tommy instructed, but their behavior improvement and our ability to control them is striking. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Recall
review image
Sydney P Fairfax, Virginia | November 27 2018
If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!! I've never tried dog training before but I am beyond pleased with Tommy and all he has been able to offer us. Well worth the investment for greater peace in your own home!! My training needs: My situation with my dogs is quite complex. I have not one, not two, but THREE beagles! They are all between 2 and 4 years old, so they were a little bit 'set in their ways'. Beagles are not the most obedient breed but with Tommy we were shocked at their ability to learn! My dogs were not having simple training issues like chewing on household items or peeing in the house -- their issues were more behavioral like: barking at movement, barking at strangers or guests in our home, barking for food or scratching cabinets for (demanding) food, being possessive of spaces in our home (couches, beds etc), some aggression between the two boy dogs, and always being under our feet (this can be quite dangerous with three dogs always one step away from tripping you up!). Tommy's solutions: After one session with Tommy my dogs behaviors have totally changed, its like night and day! There were so many things that were just ideal about Tommy's training interventions. First, he comes to you. I think this is such a huge plus because for my dogs, anxiety and strangers is an issue. It wouldn't make sense to take them to a new environment where their training can't be retained because they are so distracted by fear, strangers, or other animals. Second, Tommy trains YOU not your dogs. Tommy doesn't do all these tricks with treats or clickers to get your dogs to behave and then just leaves. He observes your dogs and starts to tell you all the behaviors you can engage in to address every single situation you are facing with your pet. Throughout the session, you are doing the work and the commanding. Third, he didn't just come over and address one or a few of the things you might have mentioned to him -- he really takes the time to tackle all problems (big or small) that you are seeing with your dogs. Fourth, Tommy doesn't force you to make any changes to your lifestyle or your procedure with your animals. If your dog is allowed on furniture, kenneled vs. not kenneled etc, this doesn't matter to Tommy. He really works to teach you how to handle your dogs in the way you prefer, not in some prescriptive, rigid format. Moreover, he assigns you 'homework' to continue practicing with your dogs after he leaves, but it isn't something so strenuous that you have to change your lifestyle (take time off work, carve out an hour of your day for more training etc). Finally, he is just an overall friendly and patient guy. I know the idea of a stranger coming to your home may seem uncomfortable at first, but Tommy really put me and my mom at ease during this training. Overall, I would absolutely recommend Tommy to anyone who has considered seeking a dog trainer. I went back and forth on whether or not this would work and I'm ultimately glad I took the chance on training. I read his reviews (I found Tommy through googling trainers in the area) and thought they all looked nice but that my situation was so much more complex. I really thought "this is going to be the case that Tommy can't fix" -- I mean, three beagles who normally bark endlessly at strangers (among all their other issues) is quite a challenge. I was certainly wrong, and Tommy was more than able to address all our needs. If Tommy can handle my situation and my three crazy dogs, I'm sure he could help you in yours. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Sibling rivalry
review image
Kyle K Fairfax, Fairfax (city), Virginia | November 02 2018
I want to start by saying that this is only the second time that I’ve ever left an online review for a service, product, restaurant, etc. but Tommy deserves it. We adopted our dog back in April of this year knowing that it would be more challenging to train her than usual. She was a 2 ½ year old stray German Shepard/lab/husky/every other breed imaginable who had just had puppies. We were having trouble getting her to stop pulling on a leash and to listen when we were outside, especially with other dogs present. Tommy came over and taught us how to get her in the mindset of “my people are in control of everything” and keep her calm before she gets fired up and desperately trying to get to the other dogs. We’ve since been able to get her to walk at our side with no pulling, and have made tremendous progress in only a few days with other dogs and getting better everyday. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more