Tommy Meyerhoeffer dog training reviews

Tommy Meyerhoeffer

Expert Dog Trainer, Tommy Meyerhoeffer

See below for all reviews for Tommy Meyerhoeffer, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Chelly D Fairfax, Virginia | September 27 2020
Tommy Meyerhoeffer changed my pup’s life and mine. Tommy gives you the right skills and tools to correct any problematic behaviors or to manage it. My (at the time) 9-year old American Eskimo-poodle dog, Noah, was aggressive (growling, lunging, barking) towards other dogs and food possessive towards humans and dogs. Tommy taught me which behaviors were normal for canines and what were manageable issues. The important thing I learned was that if you truly want change and to improve your pup’s lifestyle, you must consistently train them. Also, I saw improvements the same day that Tommy came to train Noah with me. Tommy took the time to answer and manage any issues that I had or thought of until I had the correct tools to improve my pup’s life and behavior. I really appreciated that Tommy is passionate about his own dog’s lifestyle as well. A year later, Noah is now living peacefully with his new puppy sister and meeting different dogs of different ages without issue. I couldn’t imagine that he likes his puppy sister so much, either...being the dog that has lived without other canines for 9 years. I am so blown away by this. I have such a wonderful life with my pups now. His pulling, lunging, and barking at other dogs is now much more manageable and definitely SO much less than before, now that I have the different skills and methods Tommy taught me. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Laura C Centreville, Virginia | August 31 2020
Have you heard of the dog whisperer? He’s real and his name is Tommy Meyerhoeffer. My daughter’s recent move into a third-floor garden apartment presented an unexpected problem: her perfectly perfect lab of 7 years wanted nothing to do with the open-riser stairs one must climb to access their home. We tried every trick we could think of over the course of the past few weeks and had no luck. Enter Tommy. We set up an appointment to meet at the apartment building. Spoiler alert: by the end of our session, Tommy had Duke up and down those three flights of stairs, no hesitation in his movement. Tommy moved purposefully and calmly from the moment he met Duke. He simultaneously led Duke and responded to him, adjusting along the way as he observed Duke’s behavior. He pointed out Duke’s subtle behaviors to me and highlighted what they meant. He was patient and resourceful, and Duke responded accordingly. In addition to helping Duke to meet this challenge, Tommy then guided me as I accompanied Duke up and down stairs, pointing out ways in which I and other family members could ensure a safe and stress-free continuation of Duke’s new skill. Happy to report that Duke is happy as can be to be reunited with his family and is a pro at those scary open stairs. Thank you, Tommy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other
review image
Joshua T Warrenton, Virginia | July 29 2020
I honestly can't say enough about the work Tommy has done with our dog. We have a VERY high-energy Weimaraner that has a hard time respecting boundaries, amongst other things. Tommy has visited us a couple of times and had a bunch of different strategies and methods for us to try. The results were almost instantaneous with our dog. Not only was Tommy fantastic in our training sessions, but he routinely follows up and checks in to see how things are going. It's easy to see that he not only loves what he does for a living, but he genuinely cares to see dogs at their best. If you're considering training for your dog, I highly recommend Bark Busters, but make sure you ask for Tommy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Vanessa W Fairfax, Virginia | July 07 2020
We elected to work with Tommy after researching several other trainers when our dog’s fear-based aggression got concerning. We saw results after the very first session, and Tommy takes great care to work with both you and the dog, teaching you things to learn and unlearn. We’ve brought him back for a couple of follow up matters after our initial session, only to find some of those issues were brought on by bad habits that were unknowingly being encouraged and accidentally rewarded by us. It’s been training for us at being effective owners as much, and probably more, than simply training the dog. He really gives you the tools and support you need to succeed as a dog owner and I can’t recommend him enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
review image
Lauren G Manassas, Virginia | June 25 2020
We adopted an American Pitbull puppy from a foster home a few weeks back to give our 8 year old American Pitbull a sister. American Pitbulls can be somewhat difficult with training due to their stubborn and highly intelligent nature. We enrolled both pups into Tommy's training program so that there was continuity between the two. We were worried about having our 8 year old essentially "re-trained" due to past training events. However, just ONE day training with Tommy with our 8 year old has been LIFE CHANGING. We love the support and guidance we receive with Tommy - We cannot wait for our puppy to start her training (she still has puppy brain). Thank you Tommy, we look forward to seeing you soon!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Sonya H Haymarket, Virginia | June 23 2020
We just adopted a one year old pup. While she is very sweet, she has huge separation anxiety issues and since we have to go back to work soon, I felt like we need to overcome these issues quickly. She hates the crate too. I spoke with June at Bark Busters, who made me feel assured Tommy would work well for Gertie's issues. Tommy is very knowledgeable, and to our surprise, we made great strides in the very first visit. Tommy isn't an "obedience" trainer, he is a dog behavior trainer! He knows how to make the dog feel secure and comfortable, which enables her to understand what you're communicating to her. We still have plenty to do and we must keep up with the "homework," but I highly recommend Tommy for your dog's behavior needs! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Linh B
Linh B Fairfax, Virginia | March 23 2020
Tommy is great!! He helped us with our puppies when we first brought them home. Came over & helped resolve jumping, whimpering & nipping issues. He's always available to give us advice through email too. Would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for assistance with their fur babies. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management
Sarah M
Sarah M Manassas, Virginia | March 19 2020
We adopted our small dog from the local shelter and brought her home to her new family with my spouse, 2 children, 2 senior cats. She didn't have any obedience training and we immediately started it but it was tough, she wasn't responding in many instances. Her biggest issues were separation anxiety, nipping at the kids, pulling on the walk and chasing the cats. Then she began peeing around the house. I felt like I was losing the battle even though we felt successful with our previous chihuahua of 10 years and read all the training books. A friend recommended bark busters and Tommy came in and immediately set the record straight! We realized we had not been claiming objects, people and territories around the house. The techniques worked and she responded instantly. We kept up with the homework and all of the family worked with our new pack member. She never marked once more in the home in the past month! She did a complete 180. She now walks calmly on the leash 98% of the time, she doesn't bark in her crate when we leave for an hour to go to the store, she gives us space and she stopped chasing the cats and nipping at the kids. We have seen an immense improvement and can't wait to spend the next decade with our cute new family member! Thank you Tommy! I have told all of our friends about Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Jade M Manassas, Virginia | February 10 2020
When we moved from another state I was worried how my dog would handle the transition and how her history of aggressive behavior would come out. I contacted Tommy about a month before my move and he scheduled to meet us soon after we arrived. I was skeptical but there was absolutely no need! Tommy was incredibly patient and took the time to explain to me not only what he was doing but why so that I could continue to do the same. He showed me a great way to introduce my dog to strangers (an area of significant difficulty for her previously), as well as how to alleviate her fears and desire to protect me around others. He even helped me with her walking and now walks are enjoyable for both of us! I never thought I’d be so confident introducing my dog to new people but Tommy really gave me the skills to do so and continued to check in along the way! I’m so glad I called Tommy and would highly recommend him! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Whitney H Burke, Virginia | January 16 2020
My husband and I contacted Tommy after our dog had an unfortunate incident involving a neighbor's dog. My husband was wary, as another training program we had used for our older dog made him feel judged and looked down upon, in almost a "how could you let your dog get this way?" kind of vibe. Within the first ten minutes of meeting Tommy, I knew this was going to be a totally different experience. We felt absolutely no judgement from Tommy. He never made us feel irresponsible, dumb, or less than. in fact, he truly has the gift of quickly figuring out what types of examples you could personally relate to when explaining dog behavior or training techniques. We are both high school teachers and he quickly modified his examples to be things like, "so if a student gets out of his seat when he's not allowed to, what would you do?" It put the concepts into a psychological space that we could directly relate to and made it easier to understand, and then ultimately, remember. Tommy has met with us multiple other times and has always let what work needs to be done dictate the amount of time he spends with me. I never feel rushed nor do I feel silly asking questions or having Tommy demonstrate things for me. He is constantly accessible when I need help, and has gone out of his way to help me with my pup. He is absolutely invaluable and I couldn't recommend him more highly to anyone who is in need of help with their dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more