Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Jim L Columbia, South Carolina | November 01 2016
Answered all of our questions regarding puppy training with good explanations and demonstrations. Very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management, Toileting
review image
Gina K Aurora, Colorado | November 01 2016
We recently adopted Emmy (about 30 lbs., mostly yellow lab with probably beagle, about 1 1/2 years old) from a CO rescue which had found her in TX. We had no idea what her background was but she was so worth welcoming into our home. She is sweet, loving and playful (with us and dogs) -- but she was leash/fence reactive and became a monster on the end of a leash or barking out the windows of our home or at the vet. We found Barker Busters on a Google search and called them. Dan came out on our schedule and immediately determined that Emmy felt she had to control her environment and be the "pack leader." He demonstrated exactly what we needed to do within our home to help Emmy feel secure in letting us take charge to relieve the pressure on her. It worked instantly! Emmy is relaxed and eager to learn. Today Dan returned to start the leash training and, again, we saw immediate results! It's like a miracle! Our neighbor even brought over her dog to practice "dog encounters" and Emmy barely even acknowledged that another dog was there. We are so excited that Dan has shown us not only how to train Emmy, but he also gave us the background knowledge to understand the theory behind the training. It's obvious that Dan loves dogs, and what he does, and really wants the best for you and them! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Donna K Castle Pines, Colorado | November 01 2016
Dan is amazing and I highly recommend!!! We hired Dan to help us out with our border collie/blue heeler mix, Harley. We were so frustrated with her high energy and continuous whining. Dan came and gave us very informative background on dog's thinking and "pack" mentality. He worked with Harley and gave us some great training tools and tips. After one session and practice on our part, Harley is a completely different dog!! She no longer whines and is so anxious. We recently had Dan back to our house to work on leash training, Again I was impressed with how easy he is to work with and how much he cares about Harley. Our goal is to have a few more training sessions so we can take Harley off leash in our yard and venues such as our kids' athletic events. Very ambitious goal -- but with Dan's help and work on our part (practicing his drills) I am confident we can achieve it!! It is worth every penny to have a well-trained dog that you and your family can enjoy spending time with. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Jennifer F Louisville, Kentucky | November 01 2016
Doug was great both with Tonto and with me. He adapted his recommendations once he saw my dog's individual personality. My dog responded very quickly! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Beth M
Beth M Audubon, Pennsylvania | November 01 2016
Jeri is always prompt. Her demeanor is relaxed but assertive with Lulu. Jeri explains, demonstrates, and monitors return demonstrations. Criticism is always constructive. Jeri has made training our new puppy fun. I’m enjoying this bonding period with Lulu. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
David T
David T Ypsilanti, Michigan | October 31 2016
Working with a 5 month old puppy has its challenges. Ruth showed consistency and Shanti did begin to listen over time. She also determined some parts of boundary training were not yet going to work with him at his stage of mental development. We look forward for more help with calm walking and less barking, along with other behaviors, such as stealing from counter tops. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Carla S Ontario, California | October 31 2016
Training was great! My main reason was that I wanted both dogs, which are sisters to get along.There was a lot of fighting and territorial issues which were getting worse. During my first lesson with Nancy, she explained why they were behaving this way. taught me how to redirect them and correct bad behavior, and showed me how to be their teacher and leader. Things have settled down so much it's incredible!I have much more peace of mind with that issue. I had thought for sure that I was going to have to re-home one of them. Thanks to Nancy,and me following her directions and practicing with them, I don't have to. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Sibling rivalry
review image
Jessica M Hoffman Estates, Illinois | October 31 2016
Within minutes of walking through our front door, Brad's training had an impact on our 10 month old puppy, Jax! Jax had always lacked manners at the front door, growled and barked at almost anything, and had US trained with his passive ways. Brad spent a significant amount of time educating us, which was a huge help! Once his work with Jax began, it was like we had a new dog all of the sudden! It was amazing to see such a difference in such a short amount of time. We truly appreciate Brad's knowledge & experience and we are excited to keep using everything he taught us to be consistent with training Jax. Bark Busters training WORKS! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Bethany F
Bethany F North Charleston, South Carolina | October 31 2016
James and Michelle have beyond exceeded our expectations. We thought we had an unsolvable situation with our dogs (mine being dog aggressive), and had tried a few other dog trainers and classes with little or no success. We were trying to integrate two households ( 2 dogs from each household) and thought this was going to be impossible. My main focus was seeing if and how to train mine to be less dog aggressive. I have an 8 year old female Pit/Hound mix and a 7 year old male Boxer/Great Dane Mix. She is definitely the alpha female, and he is more laid back. Both love people, but other dogs were another story. My female was attacked at a young age by another dog, and it almost flipped a switch with her. She no longer got along with other dogs (with the exception of her brother) to the point of barking ,lunging, snarling, etc anytime another dog would pass us or just pass the house. Obviously this made walks a nightmare too. I had stopped "socializing" the other one due to her lack of control around other dogs. He too began exhibiting the same behaviors, which left me at a point that I only let them play in the backyard with occasional walks. My girlfriend has a 1 year old female Pit/lab mix and a 3 year old female Yorkie. The Yorkie is a people lover and a bit of a Diva. The Pit/lab mix has the sweetest temperament and gets along with all dogs and people, but she is very timid around children. So we were at a crossroads to see if it would even be possible for our dogs to get along let alone live in the same household. After many emails with Michelle about advice on what to do (she was so helpful), we set up our first appointment. James came over and met with us and all 4 of our dogs to see if they could help. Let me just say I wish we would have called them sooner. He went over everything with us as well as different "plans" they offer. He really taught us exactly how to fix and correct all of our dogs different behaviors. Of course this wasn't going to happen overnight, but with simple commands and really taking control of the situation we started to see results in the first week. We have met with James once a month for 4 months now each time learning something new to work on with the dogs. And as of now all 4 dogs are hanging out together (still under some supervision), but if you would have told me we would be where we are here 4 months ago I would have told you it would be impossible. We can't say enough good things about Bark Busters and James and Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Tony R Silver Spring, Maryland | October 30 2016
Nola was aggressive towards neighborhood children and growled at my own daughter. My wife wanted me to get rid of her, but I decided to try behavioral therapy instead. So glad I did! She is now fine around everyone. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall