Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Claire N Elk Grove Village, Illinois | November 10 2014
As first time dog owners, and adopters of a somewhat unstable rescue dog, we sought help from Bark Busters. Our vet recommended using them to treat his separation anxiety and to help with his fear about having people in the house (we suspect his insecurities come from his rough start to life). Christine was incredibly helpful, listening to all our problems with him chewing down our house and whining when we would leave. She worked with us to find times to come over and even had her family come help when we needed an extra "stranger" to come to the door. She was very open, allowing us to contact her when we had any issues and checking in on progress after a training session. The only negative thing I have to say about this is that the price is quite high - but it's definitely comparable to other training prices. We were just sticker-shocked initially, but maybe because we were first time dog owners and this isn't just an obedience class! We were at the end of our rope and glad we were able to keep our dog after going through just about every training method possible! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Separation anxiety
review image
Carol R Elmhurst, Illinois | November 10 2014
Chris is an excellent trainer. She helped me solve several problems with my dog in a short period of time. She was very patient with both my dog and me. There was no rush during the training and I felt free to contact her with any problems that developed. Her positive reinforcement to me helped me to have the confidence to work with my dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Kim H
Kim H Maple Valley, Washington | November 10 2014
I had read numerous articles online about dog training behavioral issues with little success. During the initial 2 hour appointment in my home, I had mostly stopped the lease pulling and gained front door doorbell control. I was absolutely amazed at the ease and success in working with Jack Knudsen. I look forward to more continued areas of training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling
review image
Jill & Ron K Bartlett, Illinois | November 10 2014
Excellent on all levels. We have already recommended Wick to others and have told our vet, Dr. Baker, how pleased we were with the help we received from Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Ashley Y
Ashley Y Stamford, Connecticut | November 09 2014
Michael was absolutely amazing!!! He helped my mom to understand a lot she did not know, myself as well. Within the first 15min sprinkles was calm and no longer barking. He tought my mother and I a lot and also showed us a lot. I did not think it was possible to stop the behaviors but because of mike it was! I am still doing everything he has showed me and it has been an amazing turn around. Michael was very polite and just all around great. I without a doubt recommend him to everyone. Moving on, he always answers the phone when I call with a question. Thank you mike very much for making sprinkles and myself much happier :) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Jesse B
Jesse B Denver, Colorado | November 09 2014
Great first session. We learned a lot, and our dog was really responsive to the training. Robin was really helpful and patient, and we appreciate the humane and natural training approach. Thanks Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Julie W Denver, Colorado | November 09 2014
Our 19-week-old puppy is surprisingly easy, but she does have a few puppy behaviors that aren't desirable. Robin showed us the BarkBusters methods - based on how dogs communicate with each other - to teach our dog when she's doing something undesirable and also how to praise her. All in a way she understands naturally. The training was helpful and insightful for our entire family and taught us effective techniques. I can see how it would be especially meaningful with a challenging dog who barks excessively or has other bad habits. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Laura F New York | November 09 2014
With just one 2 hour session with Sarah -and continuing to employ the techniQues we learned from her-my new rescue's uncontrollable, ear-splitting barking and growling problem and separation anxiety are basically gone ( as are my suicidal headaches) . Don't believe me? Ask my neighbors. I had been slave to my apartment for three weeks following the adoption of my new flatmate. BEFORe resorting to Barkbusters, I fervently read five different books, written by canine behavioral therapists ,,all of which had a lot of great ideas in them- ( not without the bad, of course) though many of the training approaches contradicted one another and/or were just stupendously impractical,.sometimes complicated and often unnecessary. The Barkbusters methods are pure dog AND human-friendly brilliance. what I was told, read and expected to take several months to a year or more of tiring repetitive exercises and work, was accomplished and improved in just three and a half days. I was so worried and stressed about being evicted and not being able to leave my dog unattended in my apartment ( for her barking, panicking and whimpering was just so painful to listen to from the hallway -and even more painful to watch.. I waS literally afraid she might cause physical injury to herself.. ..To make matters worse, I adopted this lovely creature with a known diagnosis of heartworms .. She has six more months of treatment and an elevated heart-rate from all the fear and stress she was experiencing and nervously displaying -could literally kill her. Sarah came back one week later to work with us on walking outside..another triumph. WIth the heartworm, Scissors has an exercise restriction (another factor working against us, as clearly an active dog is a more relaxed dog..and therefore a more QUiet dog)..so vigorously pulling on the lead and being fearful of many other dogs and people (I believe she was abused, the way she reacted around certain men), was not an option.. Which brings me to another miracle - my boyfriend - she was noT fond of.. AT All.. would growl and maniacally bark at him, as if he had murdered her first born. boyfriend could not come by the apartment at all (tried several times.. with several approaches.. also meeting outside the apartment.. but to no avail..his mere presence would stress her out so much (and the noise of incessant barking was again, no doubt placing me on the chopping block for eviction (as well as the Sh*tlists of my understandably irritated neighbors. ).. now boyfriend and dog are the best of friends.. he is allowed inside and she even affectionately pleas for his attention. - My vet was also beyond impressed, at her dramatic improvement in such a short time. EVerybody has been. i could go on. i was just hoping to work at getting the barking under control - and the separation anxiety so i could get out of my apartment- sans dog- and get my oWN freedom back. overjoyed with the results and now knowing i have a trainer for the life of my pet to work on any other behavioral issues - or just to perfect corrected ones - is indeed a wonderful thing. can�t thank barkbusters and sarah enough for allowing me to enjoy the new relationship i have with my dog (as well as sleeping again� sleeping is good). Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Joanne & Earl R Bloomingdale, Illinois | November 09 2014
We have known Chris for several years now. One day 4 1/2 years ago she introduced us to Pepper, a 4-month old Cockapoo that needed a new home. What a great find for us! With Chris' training guidance and help Pepper has become an important part of our family. We are very grateful for all her help as she is a professional and an excellent trainer. Afterwards we have had two more similar experiences in our family, finding a new home for two Yellow Labs. Along with her training these two have fit in well with our son's family, and especially for his daughter. Having the right pet that fits your family's lifestyle is a very important part of family living and everyone's happiness. Thank you, Chris. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Recall
review image
Royce M Wallis, Texas | November 09 2014
Excellent, very informative. Saw immediate improvement. Would definitely recommend. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall