Bark Busters Southeast Michigan Reviews

Reviews

68 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.98 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Connie H.
    7 months ago — South Lyon, MI

    Ruth was kind, observant and compassionate. I saw results very quickly with her hands on instruction and easy notes to help me practice. She helped me understand how my behavior and tone affects the dogs. Everyone comments on how much calmer and relaxed my boys are.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Connie! You all did well. It was a pleasure to meet you and help you all with
    your transition into your new home.
  • Janet H.
    7 months ago — New Hudson, MI

    Ruth Skinner came to our home to train our dog. She gave me instructions and the tools to use to train him. She followed up with me today, and I told her that he caught on very fast and that i will keep working with him using the instructions she gave me. She did a great job, and I highly recommend her.

    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Other
  • Laurie O.
    21 months ago — Pinckney, MI

    Photo of Maddy & Zara We’re so pleased with the knowledge we gained from our first 2 hr. session. We were introducing a younger dog to an older dog who will be living in the same home. The older dog was not happy and we didn’t know how to deal with the situation. The dogs are making progress in acclimating to the new changes. We gained confidence and our dogs were very responsive to the training that Ruth provided.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Laurie ~ so glad that we were able to give you more confidence in how to handle
    adding a new dog to your home ~ especially when the older one was not happy about it.
    Good to hear the dogs are making progress!!
  • Rex and Marie C.
    21 months ago — Brighton, MI

    We have 3 dogs (1 older and 2 younger) They are relatively well-behaved around us, however, they had a habit of barking loudly and aggressively at other people. It got to the point that we actually felt we couldn’t have people come over to the house.

    We had a a construction project coming up at our house. Knowing there would be different strangers in and out for a period of weeks, we knew it was time to do something. We did some research on dog trainers and after some anxiety and a poor phone experience with a different trainer, we found Ruth at Bark Busters.

    Ruth comes to the house which we felt was important. We also saw that there were a lot of positive reviews mentioning her specifically.

    Our experience was very positive. I could tell almost right away that not only was Ruth very experienced, but she really cares about dogs and understands them.

    The training method is positive for the dog (not negative). It is not cruel and it is very effective. The goal is to train the people in the house to train the dog(s), which appealed to me. Ruth gave us some simple, yet effective tools to help us get the dog’s attention so you can communicate to them what you want them to do.

    Her communication is great. She takes the time to be sure you understand what she is explaining. She also strongly encourages clients to text or call her right away whenever there are questions or frustrations.
    it is not just lip service, she responds !

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Rex. I am glad that you and your dogs had a positive experience with us and that you feel
    comfortable to reach out to us if you have any questions.
  • Claire K.
    2 years ago — Lake Orion, MI

    We were so pleased with our time with Ruth! She gave us some great tips and was so encouraging. Colt is a pit bull living with three golden retrievers who are best of friends. He stays to himself most of the time but when they are in a group he can sometimes get aggressive. Ruth taught us to say “easy” to the goldens which calms Colt down from the activity and let’s him know he is not threatened. We are seeing results from this!
    I highly recommend Ruth to train your dog.

    • #Aggression
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Claire ~
    Glad to hear that things are going well. Colt is a beautiful dog and he just needs your
    reassurance when the energy level increases with your three beautiful Goldens!!
  • Amber T.
    3 years ago — Howell, MI

    If you are like me and looking through countless reviews before you schedule an appointment for your dogs behavior issues, I remember how overwhelming it felt but I truly believe you are making the right choice with Bark Busters. After my very first visit with Ruth at Bark Busters, I knew this was what my dogs were missing and my only regret was that I didn't reach out sooner because my house is so much more peaceful now.

    I decided I needed help of some kind when my three dogs started to get aggressive with each other out nowhere, or so I thought. Their behaviors were otherwise tolerable for our family, they jumped and barked a lot but I thought this was normal and it only bothered me when I tried to have guests over. Ruth has taught me though that I was overall just slacking as the pack leader by not showing my dogs what behavior was accepted and what was not. This led to chaos as my oldest dog was trying to be the boss and guard the household essentially and also led to aggression between the three because I didn't know how to stop them when they ganged up on each other. Ruth taught us simple ways and tools to take back the control and literally all the issues have been fixed because of that, no more sibling rivalry and aggression and my guests can walk in the front door without being mobbed by my crazy dog kids!

    I could not be happier with the training we recieved and that I didn't spend thousands boarding them at a puppy school like I origianlly feared I would have to. Ruth is so knowledgable and caring, always a text away with tips, and will make sure all your questions are answered and everyone in your house learns these skills and you and your dogs can find peace!

    Thank you Ruth and Bark Busters!!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Sibling rivalry
  • Susan B.
    4 years ago — Ann Arbor, MI

    I understand that there is already one Dog Whisperer, but I am convinced that Ruth is the Midwest's version! My Luna is a rescue dog and she is very anxious. She would always approach a situation with barking and aggressively pulling the leash to get to whatever has made her feel anxious. After two sessions with Ruth, Luna is already behaving less anxiously and aggressively. We had our second session today and we met at a park. Fortunately there were people, dogs and squirrels around to present the usual challenges we encounter everyday. I understand that both Luna and I have undergone this training, and honestly so far we are both doing so well. Ruth, and the Bark Busters program is very easy to follow and it works. That is the bottom line, this works. If you want to have the dog of your dreams, but need a bit of assistance getting there, Ruth and Bark Busters is really the way to go.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Michelle T.
    5 years ago — Lake Orion, MI

    I don't think I really realized how stressed and overwhelmed I really felt about my dogs' behaviors or my inability to effectively lead them until Ruth came to our home. I knew my dogs were anxious and I knew I needed to learn how to help them, but I didn't know much more than that. Every time I thought about someone coming to my home, I would become tense. I dreaded having friends or family over. Anyone who came to our house knew how the dogs barked, jumped, and created a sense of chaos, and I didn't know how to make it better. Ruth saved the day. After five years of stress, she turned things around in one visit. I've learned how to keep my boys back from the door, quietly waiting for me to signal that they can come to greet our guests. I wouldn't have believed it if you had told me, but they are like new dogs. Calmer, happier, and more confident. I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone, and Ruth specifically. She was kind, confident, and patient, taking in a lot of information very quickly and teaching three members of my family how to work effectively with three dogs. It was a lot, but she managed it beautifully. Thank you, Ruth, for giving us hope and relief. We look forward to more sessions with you, so we can continue to learn and help our boys.

    • #Barking
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    I am glad that you are starting to get your confidence back and your house back :-) You are a very strong pack leader and you all did a great job. I look forward to our future sessions.
  • Beth N.
    5 years ago — Howell, MI

    Ruth was very helpful to my husband and myself on how to help Angel. Was a great experience.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Carol G.
    5 years ago — Brighton, MI

    The day of the lesson I saw results but was concerned it may have been because the trainer was there, however, the dog has continued to respond all week now. We have made significant progress in resolving the issues the most important one being the aggressive behaviors toward me since my husband died. I am very impressed at how well the methods taught have worked. Ruth, my trainer, demonstrated a high level of knowledge in evaluating & interpreting my dog's behavior & providing/demonstrating the associated way to change the dog's behavior in an appropriate manner. Ruth made sure that I understood the dynamics of the dog's behavior, what he was communicating, and how I needed to respond in order to demonstrate that I am the leader not him. I am so grateful to have found bark busters and Ruth to help me with my dog.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Carol. So great to see you start to get your confidence back.
    It is good to see Angus get more relaxed and trusting of your leadership !!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7