Bark Busters Greater San Diego Reviews

Reviews

139 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Arah S.
    15 days ago — San Diego, California

    There aren’t enough words to express how grateful I am for Justin’s help with training Ranger. Here’s a bit about Ranger when we first started:
    - He was 90 lbs and pulled on a leash, even with a prong collar.
    - He was extremely reactive and could not contain the malamute in him. He just HAD to say hi (bark) at every person and dog to meet them.
    - He was constantly on high alert, and his solution for every situation was the craziest solution.
    Walks were unpleasant for both of us, I would constantly just yell and be frustrated and he didn’t have the correct guidance.

    The first session with Justin, he was able to get Ranger to loose leash walk next to him in 5 seconds. That’s when I realized, it’s not Ranger. It’s my fault and our miscommunication. I didn’t know how to tell him properly that he shouldn’t be pulling on the leash. I didn’t know how to tell him that he has to be calm to be able to great people and dogs.
    We’ve only had about 4-5 sessions, 30 mins each. His teaching style is very clear and super EASY! Ranger and I now have better communication and work better as a team. Ranger is now my service dog in training, he comes to my classes with me every week and flies with me. He can now:
    - Loose leash walk, and heel properly.
    - Ignore people and dogs when we’re out
    - Be CALM everywhere we go.
    - Realize the difference between play time and work time.

    Justin doesn’t teach service dog tasks, but he WILL make sure your dog can become calm and confident. He was able to help me turn my reactive dog into a service dog. I am so so grateful for everything Justin did for us!
    I highly recommend BarkBusters. This is the best decision we ever made! Both Ranger and I now have a better and happier life with better training and communication.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Kathryn P.
    15 days ago — San Diego, California

    Photo of Last evening we were able to have dinner out with friends and leave Wally at home without worry…a first in the year since we adopted him! Thank you Justin for your help with Wally’s separation anxiety!

    This sweet 8-year-old little dog would always want to be near us, but could be skittish, shy, and somewhat distant. He was quiet, calm, and well behaved until left alone. Then the separation anxiety caused non-stop barking and howling and we would return to find him wide-eyed, panting, and agitated. Our activities became limited to those that could include Wally, basically avoiding and likely worsening the problem.

    Justin spent nearly 3 hours at our initial visit, listening patiently to our worries and frustrations and evaluating Wally’s behavior. He explained his approach and demonstrated some techniques, then left us with a solid plan for the coming week. Justin participated in these “homework assignments” via text or phone call and we saw immediate steady improvement in the first week - Wally went from barking & howling to a little whining & panting. Now three weeks out we hear a quiet sigh or moan in the first few minutes and that’s it. He’s happy to see us when we return and he settles down quickly.

    An unexpected benefit of this work on Wally’s separation anxiety has been a reduction in his general anxiety. He’s no longer skittish, doesn’t run after us if we leave a room, and has become a lap dog. We can’t thank Justin enough and recommend him highly. His work is not just about solving an annoying problem – it has created a whole new much healthier dynamic for this little dog family and we are so grateful!

    • #Barking
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Joe M.
    34 days ago — San Diego, California

    Sharing some tail-wagging success I’ve had with my fur son, Maverick (Maviboy) and our dog behavioral therapist, Justin! Maverick was a bit of a wild child (rescue pup -- got him @ 8 weeks old) with his barking, crazy walks (zig zagging all over the place), and his knack for turning every greeting into a jumping party. Spoiler: Justin came in and worked some serious magic.

    First off, let's talk about the barking situation. Maverick is an excited pup and would 'play bark' at almost any dog that was bigger than him (50lb Boxer Pit) to get their attention, but Justin gave us the tools to dial this down tremendously.

    Secondly, our walks… Maverick really bodied the, "I'm gonna pull you everywhere on our walks" mentality. Justin came with a game plan that turned our strolls into a focused dog walk that didn’t involve any pulling (on our very first session). Night and day difference.

    Lastly, when it comes to Maverick’s greetings… he is a big lover and would jump on every guest that entered the house. With a bit of ‘pawsitive reinforcement’ and some corrections (‘Bah’s and throw pillows’), now Maviboy greets our friends without turning everyone into his personal launchpad.

    But what really sets our therapist apart is the ‘Scher’ love he has for animals/genuienly wanting to understand ‘YOU’ and your furry friend as individuals and a team. It's not just a job for Just; it's a passion, and you can tell. He is truly a dog whisperer.

    So, if your fur baby needs a behavior boost or if you just want to understand how to communicate with your pup best friend, Justin is the man, hands down. Thanks for all that you do for pups, Justin! Big licks from Maviboy.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Alex
    34 days ago — San Diego, California

    The team at Bark Busters is truly unique in all aspects of their training. The in-depth understanding of canine behavior and the connection to the training method is why all these reviews are so great. We realized very quickly that this process was going well below the surface level symptoms, identifying the root causes and then utilizing the techniques to change the behavior. The amount of nuance and insight applied to every detail is remarkable.

    Justine, JD and Jenna are 100% committed to solving the issues, making the pup happier and empowering the owners through knowledge and tools. Their communication and availability is superb and if you commit to doing the work, the results will bring a smile to your face. This is an investment into the relationship you will enjoy with your dog for a lifetime and without a doubt would recommend Bark Busters.

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
  • Bryan G.
    5 months ago — San Diego, CA

    I had the absolute pleasure of working with Jenna and Justin, and I cannot recommend their services highly enough! From start to finish, they ensured that my experience was absolutely exceptional. Their kindness and compassion were evident from the very beginning as they took the time to answer all of my questions and explain their training methods in a way that made sense to me. With their deep understanding of dog behavior, I saw incredible results right from our first session together.

    What truly sets Jenna and Justin apart is their ability to create a positive learning environment for both myself and my beloved dog, Benji. They employ effective techniques that build trust, respect, and cooperation between us. Never once did it feel like we were using harsh or punishing methods on Benji - instead, it felt like we were finally speaking his language! They effortlessly understood each of Benji's unique quirks when it came to his reactivity towards other dogs, tailoring their approach accordingly for maximum our success.Not only did Jenna and Justin address specific behavioral issues such as dog reactivity but they also equipped us with valuable tools for maintaining harmony inside and outside our home. It was abundantly clear from day one how much they genuinely cared about both Benji's progress as well as mine!

    Their ongoing communication has been outstanding too! After our initial session ended, Jenna immediately asked about my availability so we could schedule follow-up sessions with both her AND Justin present - talk about dedication! She even provided me with her personal phone number encouraging me to not hesitate reaching out if any questions arose between sessions. And let me tell you - she followed through by messaging daily just to check up on Benji's progress! The level of support continued after subsequent sessions when she initiated a group chat including Justin so they could stay updated on how things were going. They also quickly followed up with a third session the following week! If you are looking to be ghosted by your trainer, LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE. They checked in like clock-work from my morning walks to my evening walks and I never felt alone during the whole process. When they say unlimited sessions, they mean it whole-heartedly - it’s not just a marketing ploy!!!

    Jenna & Justin are true professionals who mean business when it comes to helping dogs reach their full potential. If you're searching for a top-notch dog trainer who combines expertise with compassion, look no further than Jenna and Justin at Bark Busters. Working with them has been an absolute joy, and I am incredibly grateful for all the work they've done with Benji. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
  • Mickey R.
    6 months ago — Carlsbad, CA

    Justin Scher is amazing. Enough said.

    I moved to San Diego temporarily for work, and was looking for training for Leo, my rescue pup. I was desperate to find help for Leo since his separation anxiety was inhibiting us from living a happy life. He couldn't stay in the house for more than 5 minutes alone before howling at the top of his lungs. As a pup, he destroyed my books, and plants. Justin trained us to guide Leo and empowered him from feeling safe and happy at home alone. With Justin's help, we are able to leave Leo to go to the grocery store and run errands as well as date nights! I've contacted Justin for follow ups and he's always available for me for advice to guide and empower
    Me to help Leo live his best life. Justin and Barkbusters is hands down the best choice I made since rescuing Leo. Thank you so much Justin!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Denise H.
    7 months ago — Encinitas, CA

    I contacted Bark Busters after seeing changes in my Frenchie that weren't resolving, regardless of what I tried. It seemed my girl was probably experiencing some type of anxiety. She had admittedly been spoiled along the way. She had become aggressive on a leash, frequently barking at the door, jumping up & down during her food prep & acting out when she didn't get what she wanted. Walks had become stressful, as I found myself regularly apologizing for her behavior.

    I'd be lying if I said I wasn't initially a bit skeptical. I appreciated the time Justin took to talk me through why their methods were successful, as it really helped reassure me. I also appreciated that Justin didn't blame me for what was happening. I felt enough guilt as it was.

    It was truly amazing seeing how quickly CoCo responded! Within an hour of Justin arriving, she was responding well to my cues. She immediately walked well, with no leash aggression. She now sits quietly at my side as I prepare her meal. It's rare for her to bark at the door.

    The greatest outcome has been seeing CoCo more relaxed! Frankly, I'm more relaxed. It's also incredibly reassuring that Justin is a text or phone call away! He's been very supportive.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Juliana De B.
    7 months ago — Vista, CA

    I am astonished! My trainer JD accomplished a miracle within the first three hours (1st visit). I have 2 behemoth american bulldog puppies weighing in at 220lbs total at 18 months--strong willed and protective. Pre JD, they walked all over me: I wasn't able to take them in my car, go on hikes with them, or walk them together.
    I am in control now of their barking and behavior. Today, my dream of walking them together at Calavera Lake came true--3 months later. I am so grateful for JD teaching ME how to be the alpha and thereby giving them more than a backyard life.
    juliana de beers, vista I am astonished! My trainer JD accomplished a miracle within the first three hours (1st visit). I have 2 behemoth american bulldog puppies weighing in at 220lbs total at 18 months--strong willed and protective. Pre JD, they walked all over me: I wasn't able to take them in my car, go on hikes with them, or walk them together.
    I am in control now of their barking and behavior. Today, my dream of walking them together at Calavera Lake came true--3 months later. I am so grateful for JD teaching ME how to be the alpha and thereby giving them more than a backyard life.
    juliana de beers, vista

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Abbie D.
    7 months ago — Encinitas, CA

    Our 5 yr old rescue, Rav, is a VERY anxious pup who is especially fearful of strangers (men in particular), cars, and loud noises. She started demonstrating fear based aggression, even going so far as nipping people when she was feeling especially afraid. Whenever we'd have guests over, we'd have to put her away in another room, where she would bark and cry until everyone left. We would try practicing taking her out to public places, but she would be so visibly stressed and scared that we worried we were actually doing more harm than good. We felt overwhelmed and lost about what to do!

    We worked with various trainers over the years, but nothing comes close to the progress we've made because of BarkBusters. Jenna has been so kind, patient, and knowledgable. In just two sessions, we've seen major improvements and we continue to practice the skills and exercises she taught us. Together we worked on Rav's leash reactivity, keeping her in the "green zone" when guests are over, and stopping her resource guarding when it comes to our house. Shortly after our second session, we had friends stay at our house for several days. Ordinarily, we would have to hide Rav away the whole time, especially because one of our friends is male. However, Rav was able to keep her distance and actually lie down comfortably in the living room while we all socialized together-- something that wasn't even possible before!

    I actually considered Bark Busters a few years ago when I was researching different training options, but balked at the price. Now, having tried several different programs, I can wholeheartedly say the cost is absolutely worth it. It's so comforting to know that we can continue to train with them for the rest of Rav's life, which has undoubtedly improved by leaps and bounds because of the progress we've been able to make so far. Thank you Jenna, and thank you Bark Busters!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Mia Y.
    7 months ago — Escondido, CA

    Back in February, I rescued Maple, my 3 year old pitbull mix from Mexico. She is the sweetest dog and loves humans, but immediately I noticed her anxiety and aggression towards other dogs. She was making accidents in the house daily, growling/pouncing/air- biting at other dogs on our walks and would jump on people when they tried to say hello. After multiple complaints of her behavior from my neighbors, I was at my wits end- frustrated and extremely anxious especially when I would take her out, scared I was going to come into contact with other dogs. I found Bark Busters on Yelp and connected with them immediately. The intake process was extremely thorough and I was set up to work with Justin a few weeks after I reached out.

    To be honest, I had no idea what to expect when I booked the appointment. The reviews on Yelp seemed promising so I was hopeful, but still very worried that Maple wasn't going to be receptive of help. I. Cannot. Rave. About. Justin. Enough. I don't think there is anything I can say that will explain how grateful I am for him. JUSTIN IS BEYONNNDD INCREDIBLE. Not only is he one of the most personable people ever, but he took time to explain to me the psychology behind Maple's misbehavior. I was able to understand what was going on and why my other attempts in correcting her behavior weren't working/ why what he was about to teach me was going to be successful. Justin exudes confidence and made me feel empowered when modeling how to redirect her. He was patient with the both of us, encouraging and validating all my anxieties though the whole process, the list goes on... He is clearly so knowledgeable about his craft and I honestly do not know how I got so lucky to be paired with him. In just two days, I have noticed major improvement. She no longer lunges at dogs and she walks right next to me on our strolls. I know it may sound absurd that he was able to create this much change in just a 2- hour session, but he is a MIRACLE WORKER!! I am just blown away!

    Thank you, Justin for being so passionate and helpful with us. You changed our lives!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14