Bark Busters Chicago Reviews

Reviews

119 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Karen K.
    10 years ago — Chicago, Illinois

    I want to thank you and Howard for coming out yesterday. We have already seen a huge change in Roxy's behavior. We went to dinner last night and when we came back she barked once.....I did the bah, and she stopped and didn't bark again. Oliver started jumping on Roxy when she was trying to sleep and Shawn did the bah, and he stopped!

    Shawn and I will practice what you wrote down daily. I wish I would have contacted you years ago. We will send business your way, every opportunity we have. I already called My Vet to let them know how your program has helped Roxy, and I contacted the dog walkers and dog sitters I have used.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
  • Elyse S.
    10 years ago — Chicago, IL

    When I moved to the city from the suburbs my dog was very aggressive and barked at everyone. I was afraid to take her anywhere and the elevator was so stressful I was afraid she would bite someone. I was so upset and didn't know what I was going to do. I loved her so much, I could not think of giving her up. On one of our very stressful walks I saw the Bark Busters car and called that same day. After a reassuring talk with Marlene Marks I set up appointment. At the end of our first visit Marlene had given me the tools to help Izzy and me become true partners in our new life and are now stress free. Additional training has helped us both in all aspects of our new adventures. Thanks to Marlene and Bark Busters we are enjoying our new lives together.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Amy S.
    10 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Howard and Marlene, Thanks for helping to train ME to be a better owner to Chela. As you know, she was a rescue and my first pet. I did not know much about her but did have several behaviors to correct. Your guidance was invaluable and Chela and I work together every day to practice what you taught us. The fact that you came to my home made it so easy to use your services and your follow-up was great. I will not hesitate to recommend you to people in my building.

    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
  • Carolyn A.
    10 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Photo of Lily Marlene and Howard exceeded our expectations. We've been able to easily implement their suggestions on a daily basis.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
  • Jackie V.
    10 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Photo of Nova Marlene and Howard provided excellent service. They are professional, courteous, and adeptly skilled in the art of dog/human training. They are warm, obviously compassionate trainers who truly care about their clients - people and dogs alike.

    In the brief 1/2 hour time span at the front of our session, they taught me an entirely new way of understanding how dogs think and how best to communicate with them. They translated what dogs need to "hear" from us so they are responsive to our goals for their behavior which, in turn, makes the dogs happy. This training method aligns the interests of the dog and the human, so we get what we want and the dogs get what they want. A win, win for everyone.

    Nova, my 12 year old former racing greyhound, was terrified of staircases. I am moving to a walk-up condo in less than a month. In the first training session, to my amazement, Marlene and Howard had gently coaxed Nova into tackling the staircase in my current home 2 times! Boy were we all happy! Including Nova, who did a little victory play-bow dance at the prospect of having achieved what we wanted from him.

    This 2 hour session changed our lives, and we are so greatly appreciative.

    • #Other
  • Kiril D.
    10 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Photo of Oskar Marlene and Howard are nothing but short of miracle workers! I never thought my 9-year-old, stubborn Dachs Oskar will ever change his ways, but in just a few days and weeks I started seeing a difference. Two months in, he's a new dog, and my other dog has benefited from what I learned as well! He barks a lot less, obeys commands, walks with me instead of walking me, and is a whole lot calmer and less anxious. Contacting Bark Busters and Marlene and Howard was the best decision ever - no regrets, just a lot of happiness and gratitude! Thanks, guys!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Laverne B.
    11 years ago — Chicago, IL

    The training was a great experience. I couldn't believe how fast Tessie responded. Howard and Marlene Marks were genuinely concerned with Tessie's
    problems. The methods they taught me firm but not harsh. Barking was the biggest issue. So far she is no longer barking at my neighbors. Next was the
    pulling on the leash. I am now able to walk Tessie in front of my house without her pulling me. I am thrilled with what Howard and Marlene showed me. I am
    glad they will continue to help me.

    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Anonymous
    11 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Paige has been great! A few days of applying your techniques and she got it! Even when the tenant who she hated came home, it was one visit to the back yard, and he was able to pet her. She now only gives a "Woof, woof" when someone comes past the back gate or into the yard next door. If someone "invades" our back gate going through the garbage, she goes ballistic, which is fine with me. I want her to protect our property. She has stopped barking incessantly at neighbors or tenants who belong. Thank you.

  • Anonymous
    11 years ago — Chicago, IL

    I have a 10 year old ShibaInu named Foxy. Foxy had a severe phobia about wearing a collar and walking on a leash. He would freak out when you put a collar on him and he would not walk on a leash. My husband would carry him. Foxy weighs 45 lbs. We are moving to AZ and driving there with them. It became imperative that Foxy wear a collar and walk on a leash. I contacted Bark Busters because we failed miserably with Foxy. Thanks to Marlene's endless patience and expert guidance Foxy is wearing a collar and walking on a leash. I was walking my dogs and a neighbor commented on how well behaved they are. Thank you so much Marlene. Linda D., Chicago

    Trainer Note:
    Post Trip: We finally made it to AZ. left 6/14 6:30 am arrived 6/15 5:30 pm. I was worried about Foxy and the car trip to AZ. My husband picked him up and placed him on the backseat. He was a little stressed. I had Casper our pug. He was so good and stayed in the backseat. Marlene, Foxy has adapted to his new home. I would say he loves it. Thank you so much for help with Foxy. He is a dog to be proud of.
  • Anonymous
    11 years ago — Chicago, IL

    Photo of We highly recommend Howard and Marlene Marks! We called them after our almost-2-year-old French Bulldog, Mason, started barking when we left him alone. We live in a condo building in the city, so neighbors were complaining, and we knew we had to do something -- but we needed help! Howard and Marlene came to our home and met Mason, and from their first visit started to teach us how to work with Mason in a way that established our authority and made him feel more confident. With each visit, we learned more technique, and Mason's demeanor and behavior started to change. We still have more work to do, but we're happy to report that our neighbors no longer hate us, and Mason is quite content when we leave him alone. That's right -- no more barking!! Our main goal achieved, we are also seeing many side benefits, e.g., Mason is learning to listen better overall, he's a better walker, and now has great door manners ... and we are learning so much as well! Call Howard and Marlene if you need help! It's worth every penny and they are very kind, patient, and great people who genuinely want to see you succeed!