Bark Busters Greater Los Angeles Reviews

Reviews

39 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Emma V.
    2 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Photo of Flynn and Suki I don't know where to start! Me and my husband and both our pups simply adore Kevin! He has the kindest, calmest energy, never judges us, and has helped us transform our eldest dog Flynn's behaviour. We decided to hire a new trainer when we got our second dog Suki as we knew we needed help with Flynn's separation anxiety and didn't want the issue to get worse! After seeing three previous trainers, reading every book on SA in existence and even asking the vet about medication, we were beginning to think there was no hope we'd ever get our lives back. Before hiring Kevin a few months ago Flynn couldn't handle thirty seconds alone. Our latest record? Four and a half hours!!! We still have some reactivity issues we're working through with Kevin's help, but overall Flynn is a much calmer and happier dog. Suki has also settled in beautifully and working through the training with both of them has meant that we've set up consistent and trusting relationships as dog parents. The first session was very intense and the first month or so was a lot of work but we'd do it again in a heartbeat! Thank you Kevin for all your support and encouragement! We don't know what we'd have done without you!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Carolina R.
    3 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Could not recommend Bark Busters enough.

    We called Kevin to help us with our blind 2 year old Aussie mix. He was getting the (wrong) idea that he was in charge of the house and neighborhood. Barking, lunging, pulling at the leash, guarding the front door. We were worried this would lead to a bite. Kevin showed up promptly and calmly. He efficiently sussed out the household. We have an elderly dog who is generally well behaved, but Kevin determined that we actually work with both dogs because we were basically a pack and the pack had no real leader. He taught us how to properly communicate with our dogs using dog language, and how to let them know that we are the ones in charge. The change seemed on the verge of a miracle and everything turned around for us after only one session. No crazy leash walking, no barking at dogs and humans. The house is calm and the dogs honestly seem happier. I recommend Bark Busters to friends who come over and wish their dogs behaved like ours!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Robert M.
    4 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Navigating the challenges of owning an 8-week-old Golden Retriever would have been incredibly overwhelming without Kevin's help! As first-time puppy owners, my wife and I were unsure how to handle all the different phases. Kevin provided invaluable guidance tailored to our specific situation that books and TV shows couldn't match. We are so grateful for his support!

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Kristan G.
    4 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Our dog had been untrainable prior to Kevin @ Bark Busters intervention. He had many bad habits, would not listen and could not be trusted with both people and other dogs.

    The main areas that Kevin addressed was how our dog showed up in our house and on our walks. Our house is far more peaceful without our dog constantly jumping up and barking at every dog and person who walk by.

    In addition, our dog has made great progress on our walks -- he feels more secure and less likely to act out.

    More than anything, Kevin has empowered us to be able to interpret our dog's intensity and demonstrate how to mitigate it. We highly recommend Kevin and Bark Busters - Greater LA.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Alexander U.
    4 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Photo of Koda Kevin at Bark Busters has been instrumental with our boy Koda. He's an Australian Shepherd that is extra. From day one he didn't like other dogs, didn't trust people. If someone looked him in the eye, he'd go for them. Just going for walk was an adventure. It was overwhelming to say the least. We've had several sessions with Kevin and it's been huge for us and him. We understand our Aussie so much more than I thought was possible. We're now able to pass other dogs on the same piece of sidewalk. I can't express enough what a massive step that is for our boy. It's a never ending journey, we have to keep up the work. But we're now able to enjoy our Aussie. Thank you Bark Busters! Thank you Kevin!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Sibling rivalry
  • Nick K.
    5 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Kevin and the Bark Busters team truly deserves a 5 star here -- Kevin has been supporting us with our border collie/pointer mix for the past year or so and we've made really great progress with his help! He's not only taught us more of the psychological aspect as dog owners, but brought a clear strategy to help our dog, Juniper, feel more at ease at home.

    If you're looking for a trainer that is deeply empathetic, tailors their approach based on the behavior/personality of each dog, and is always around to support you no matter what, then Bark Busters is it. I will also say their customer support team is amazing and incredibly responsive.

    Very happy we decided to go with Bark Busters!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Cheyenne
    7 months ago — Greater Los Angeles, California

    Big shout out to Kevin for his help with my boy Buddy! Kevin was kind and thorough from our first session together through our last. He listened to me with regard to Buddy's challenges and offered clear and direct recommendations for how to combat some of his behavioral issues, manners and walking habits. Kevin's assistance and simple guidelines for us to follow, along with the help of the Bark Busters harness, helped make a real difference in Buddy's walking manners, impulse control and overall behavior. Not to mention, Kevin developed a relationship with Buddy, occasionally in on us, and treating Buddy to special treats + lots of love when we'd see him. Now it's on me to maintain what we've learned and commit at least 15-20 minutes a day, really nothing if you think about it, for very impactful results. Really helpful and would recommend!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Elodie A.
    14 months ago — Los Angeles, CA

    Bark Busters is amazing! These trainers give you the instruction and tools to train effectively. They don’t use treats too heavily or clickers or shock collars. All you need is your voice, your presence, and your body language. I’ve seen amazing improvements in my pup since working with them. They are also so available for questions and concerns- they text back promptly and thoroughly. I would recommend to anyone looking for the best trainers. 10/10!!

    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Michael Z.
    15 months ago — Los Angeles, CA

    Absolutely would recommend! I have a two and a half year old Labrador with a ton of energy. Specially, I was looking for help with my dog to not pull when on his leash, not excitedly greeting guests at the door, not jumping on people, keeping his attention on me when outside, and communicating better with my dog overall. In just one session with Kevin we made serious and lasting improvements! Kevin gave us tailored training exercises to do daily that are clearly having a positive impact. I’ve really appreciated Kevin’s approach to uniquely understand my dog, which has allowed for a highly personalized training program.

    On top of all the good behavior the training sessions have brought, I can tell that my dog really enjoys them and the daily exercises with me. It’s all led to a deeper bond with my dog.

    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Aimee Z.
    18 months ago — Los Angeles, CA

    It is no exaggeration to say that Kevin from Bark Busters literally changed my and my dog's lives. I absolutely cannot recommend him enough.

    Holly has always been an anxious dog, but after the pandemic, this got even worse. She became very fearful and aggressive towards any people she didn't know. She is very cute and eye-catching, so people are always wanting to pet her. But when she starts barking, she's so loud and scares the heck out of people.

    She would bark at any person who approached her, anyone jogging, anyone carrying things -- and sometimes at random people who did nothing at all. She even started nipping at their heels, and tore someone's pant leg. She did the same thing to any new person who tried to enter the house, too. It got to the point where I couldn't take her anywhere without fear, and I couldn't have anyone come to my house unless I had her locked away.

    I was terrified that she was going to bite someone, and I felt awful that she was so anxious all the time. None of the training techniques I tried worked! I saw several trainers, and did research on my own as well. The problem is that Holly isn't very food motivated, and isn't toy motivated either. Positive reinforcement just wasn't working, but I didn't want to be cruel to my dog either. I was starting to think that I'd have to make her wear a muzzle or a shock collar.

    I found Bark Busters, and though I was hesitant to spend so much for training up front, it has paid off tenfold. Kevin is amazing. He really understands how a dog's brain works, and he taught me how to communicate with Holly in a way she can understand (but not in any BS "alpha dominance" kind of way).

    The training helped INSTANTLY. Within days of our first session, I was able to bring someone new into the house without her scaring them away. Now that she understands what I want from her, and that she can rely on me to handle any uncertain situations, she has become so much more relaxed. Walks are a breeze now, and I can let her off leash in the park with no trouble.

    I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone, but especially if you have a dog who doesn't respond to "traditional" training that's only reinforced with treats. I promise you will not regret it!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking

1 2 3 4