Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks dog training reviews

Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

Expert Dog Trainers, Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks

See below for all reviews for Howard, Marlene & Brandon Marks, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Licie M Chicago, Illinois | August 24 2015
In a panic with a new puppy, I reached out to Marlene and Howard at Bark Busters, who responded to me immediately and with much support and guidance. They provided initial training, followed up with check-in phone calls, and, when I unfortunately had to bring my puppy back to the breeder due to lifestyle challenges, they listened to my concerns, offered sympathy and understanding, and were nice enough to provide me a full refund despite having already worked with me for several hours. When I venture out to select a puppy again in the future, I will consult Marlene and Howard before I do anything else, and I will schedule our first meeting for my puppy's first week. They treated me with kindness, warmth, and respect, and I look forward to the day I get to work with them in training the puppy that is meant to be mine. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
review image
Laura S Wilmette, Illinois | June 29 2015
Howard and Marlene are amazing trainers. They have an innate ability to understand dogs and guide them to appropriate behavior. Thanks to their training, our puppy Millie is dramatically better at interacting with our children gently, and coming when called. They have also helped us get rid of annoying behaviors like begging during mealtimes, and jumping. Millie went from being a bit difficult to being a wonderful member of our family as we applied their techniques. They accomplished all this with a gentle approach, which was important to us. Howard and Marlene sincerely care about the dogs they train, and are very accessible and service oriented. I have already recommended them to friends, who have had similarly good experiences. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Digging, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Andrea B
Andrea B Chicago, Illinois | May 29 2015
I’m so so grateful for Bark Busters. After our move to Chicago, my dog, Jojo was barking constantly and was very anxious most of the time. We had one session with Marlene and I was amazed at all the positive changes he was making. Marlene taught me how to communicate with my dog in his language. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Great dog and owner!
review image
Rose Ann J Chicago, Illinois | May 29 2015
Brandon worked with my 6 month old puppy for about 2 hours...I couldn't believe how quickly his techniques worked. Brandon explained the philosophy of Bark Busters and taught us how to do it...I am so glad that I decided to use them for training ....I look forward to more interaction and help with Buckshot...thanks Bark Busters.. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Puppy management
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : Thank you Rose Ann. Buckshot is a great puppy! You will have a wonderful relationship with him.
review image
Lauren K Evanston, Illinois | May 27 2015
Marlene and Howard have been great! They have helped us to understand Franklin's behavior from his point of view, and to change the way that we communicate with him. They also gave us the tools to communicate effectively, to a better-quality leash. They have been responsive and accommodating, and have helped us work through the most challenging situations either over the phone, or in meetings at our home. We are so relieved that Franklin is listening better to our commands inside and outside of the house and that his stress/anxiety seems to be much lessened, but most of all we are grateful that we can finally feel more comfortable with him around our 11 month old daughter now that we are in control. My husband and I know that we are all a work in progress, but we are enjoying our pup much more now that we are on the same page with expectations and communication. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Jessica M
Jessica M Evanston, Illinois | May 22 2015
Howard and Marlene helped us so much with our pup. Within hours of our first meeting our barking machine became quiet and docile. We have since learned lots of ways to help him respond better to our commands, and we are a much happier family for it! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management
Patrick G
Patrick G Chicago, Illinois | April 05 2015
Marlene & Howard Marks did a superb job of presenting the important information in a professional, yet very family-friendly manner. My wife and I along with our three grade schoolers could very easily understand their message to us about how dogs think and act versus how us humans think and act. Hiring them was the best decision we made in terms of better equipping our family to teach Gracie how to behave and listen to us. A+!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
review image
Amy R Evanston, Illinois | March 23 2015
First let me start by saying, Marlene and Howard, you are ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! After a not so pleasant growling and ferocious barking match between Buddy and a neighbor dog, we researched recommended trainers and this is when we learned of Bark Busters. Buddy, my husband and I, began training with Marlene and Howard mid-February of this year. By first lesson's end, Marlene and Howard had addressed the barking and aggression when the bell rang and people entered. Needless to say, Buddy's aggression calmed and with their expertise of training, not only my husband and I now incorporate into our everyday training with Buddy, but our kids also use the same use of commands; which is wonderful because it sends a consistent message to Buddy. Our third and most recent session was to introduce Buddy and the neighbor;s dog in a controlled environment. WOW, is all I can say. The approach Marlene and Howard took at identifying and reprogramming Buddy's thought process when confronted with a dog he was so aggressive with prior was like nothing I had ever witnessed. No exaggeration when I say, Buddy was so calm and obedient. Not only the behavior exhibited but the simple methods used to train, confirmed that we can incorporate the same confidence of continued training while having immediate positive results hit an all-time high. We still have continued training ahead of us but after only three meetings with Bark Busters, Marlene and Howard have motivated us to work with Buddy and continue following their training plan. Each time we take Buddy outside, we see great improvements immediately. We HIGHLY recommend Marlene and Howard from Bark Busters. They both share their great knowledge and understanding of dogs, making it easier for us to understand the process and work toward the improvement. Their training methods and instructions are very thorough and easy to follow. Not to mention, both Marlene and Howard are always available to answer questions or make suggestions within minutes of calling. We look forward to our continued meetings with Bark Busters and are confident we have the well behaved and under control dog our family was hoping for. If you haven't called Marlene and Howard, you don't know what you're missing! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Katie L
Katie L Evanston, Illinois | March 16 2015
My experience with Bark Busters has been great. Marlene was so helpful with my Boston Terrier/Beagle mix, Ned, from the get-go. She answered any and all questions before I even wrote a check for services. She was honest about what I might need to provide for Ned, and was giving me advice over the phone before I had even committed! Ned has always been very comfortable with her when she has come to my apartment. We worked on issues for his separation anxiety right away, as well as little things like not jumping on the couch, walking on the leash correctly, and just making sure that Ned knew I was the one in charge. He is still improving and might never be perfectly content when I leave him. However, Marlene has given me some great advice for how to help Ned feel comfortable when I come and go that I can use for his whole life. He began with instantaneous barking, resisting going in a crate, destructive behaviors, and over-excitement when I would come home. Now he is much more comfortable with our routine, is able to remain calm when I let him out after work, and even my dog walker has noticed that his barking is minimal, if anything! I would recommend this service (and have to some of my friends with newly adopted dogs) to anyone that feels as though they themselves as well as their dogs need a confidence boost. My dog is much happier and less anxious knowing that I've got it all under control. While Ned is a very smart little guy, we definitely have benefited from Marlene and her quick-response advice and visits. Do not hesitate to just call and ask questions even if you are the slightest bit curious! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Nicole D
Nicole D Chicago, Illinois | February 09 2015
Our training sessions have been going great. Otis is very responsive to the training techniques and Marlene and Howard (so far!) seem to have a solution for every behavior. I'm learning that nothing happens over night, but with consistency and commitment, progress is absolutely evident. It is really reassuring that I can call Marlene, each time I have a question, or Otis develops a new behavior that needs to be addressed. Marlene and Howard are very flexible and supportive, and I know they really care about my dog and my satisfaction with the program, which is really important. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter