Buck & Ruth Skinner dog training reviews

Buck & Ruth Skinner

Expert Dog Trainers, Buck & Ruth Skinner

See below for all reviews for Buck & Ruth Skinner, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Beth N Howell, Michigan | June 11 2019
Ruth was very helpful to my husband and myself on how to help Angel. Was a great experience. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Carol G BRIGHTON, Michigan | May 04 2019
The day of the lesson I saw results but was concerned it may have been because the trainer was there, however, the dog has continued to respond all week now. We have made significant progress in resolving the issues the most important one being the aggressive behaviors toward me since my husband died. I am very impressed at how well the methods taught have worked. Ruth, my trainer, demonstrated a high level of knowledge in evaluating & interpreting my dog's behavior & providing/demonstrating the associated way to change the dog's behavior in an appropriate manner. Ruth made sure that I understood the dynamics of the dog's behavior, what he was communicating, and how I needed to respond in order to demonstrate that I am the leader not him. I am so grateful to have found bark busters and Ruth to help me with my dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall
Trainer note from Buck and Ruth : Thank you Carol. So great to see you start to get your confidence back. It is good to see Angus get more relaxed and trusting of your leadership !!
Teresa H
Teresa H Howell, Livingston, Michigan | March 16 2019
Ruth was extremely kind and detailed. The behavior was already different by the time she left. Looking forward to seeing results after some time implementing ideas. I think us humans over complicate training dogs and she made it clear and concise. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Sibling rivalry
Alison B
Alison B Ann Arbor, Michigan | December 03 2018
I can't say enough good things about Bark Busters training, and Ruth in particular. Our dog Jake is a good dog, but a big puppy (now 85 lbs at 10 months), so the normal puppy things like pulling, shoving by us on the stairs, and jumping up on people were a problem. The change was immediate during Ruth's first visit, and she had Jake waiting to let us up the stairs before him, waiting on the rug while we opened the door to visitors, and well on his way to not pulling on our walks. The tools and resources she provided us, both in terms of knowledge and equipment, meant that we had what we needed to continue the positive behavior and keep Jake's respect going forward. This training is so welcome in contrast to treat-based training, which left us stranded (literally) when our dog would do things like lie down and refuse to leave the park when it was time to go home, unless we had treats with us to lure him home. I'm so happy we chose Bark Busters, and am very pleased with impact on relationship with our puppy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Buck and Ruth : Thank you Alison. Jake is definitely a big boy...and a GREAT dog. As always....don't ever hesitate to give us a call when you need us!
review image
Lue B Brighton, Livingston, Michigan | November 16 2018
I adopted my rescue sweetie on June 30, 2018; he is a poodle mix about 4-5 years old. We’ve been working with Ruth from Bark Busters for about four months. We needed help with greeting people, especially children, and appropriate leash behaviors. Bentley has come such a long way, and I have become much more confident in communicating effectively with him. From the initial in-home intake visit and training session, it was clear that Ruth’s kind and understanding approach was the one for both of us! The training, while comprehensive, is not a one-size-fits-all. It is tailored to an individual pet and owner’s needs at the outset and on an on-going basis. I appreciate the flexibility of being able to work with Bentley at our own pace and being able to schedule the next training session when it works for us. I highly recommend Bark Busters training! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Buck and Ruth : Thank you Lue. Bentley is luck to have you!! It has been great seeing him get used to his new home and become more happy, confident and relaxed !!
Stephanie S
Stephanie S Saline, Washtenaw, Michigan | October 09 2018
We had one 2 hour session today with Ruth. We already see noticeable improvement in Hugo. No lie. He is taking cues, responding to commands, and seems calmer. My husband and I are very inspired. We really thought it was hopeless. I'm so happy we found Ruth! Don't wait as long as we did to do this, Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry
April S
April S Howell, Livingston, Michigan | September 06 2018
Boomer and I have needed a lot of help for some time now with our communication and with our first baby on the way I knew that dog training was something that needed to be done and FAST. I found Bark Busters on Google and inquired through their website. The response time was AMAZING- Ruth got back with me after only half an hour and answered any questions I had about their programs. Ruth was so great to work with, so personable and our FIRST training session went so well. Boomer is already on his way to better behavior/manners, and I have a feeling him and I are going to get along a lot better. She gave me the tools I need to have the confidence in communicating with my him. Keep in mind this is only after ONE session. I cannot wait to keep doing sessions and keep seeing improvements! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Suellyn V
Suellyn V Mason, Michigan | July 26 2018
Nickel is a wonderful pet who barks loudly at other dogs and many people including our neighbors. I wanted help controlling some of this behavior without using aggressive or negative reinforcement techniques. I had previously been through other forms of training with Nickel. Ruth Skinner taught my husband and I how to communicate with Nickel in a way he understood and to change some behaviors without punishment or denying Nickel from his natural tendencies to be a dog. After only one session Nickel was calmer, more relaxed and related better to me at home, in the yard and on walks. He still is able to act out certain dog behaviors when we allow them but we can help him to stop other behaviors we don't want from him -- without treating him badly, yelling at him, or in any other way diminishing him. We are very pleased with the BarkBusters technique and Ruth's training; it is well worth what we paid. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
Adam S
Adam S New Hudson, Michigan | April 23 2018
My family loved Ruth and the manner she presented all of the information. It was a lot to take in but she had such a calm, relaxed approach it made my wife and kids feel very confident. The basic skills and knowledge Ruth gave us after our first session has produced great results. I am the dog person in the family, my wife doesn't have the experience or confidence when dealing with dogs. Until now! I have not only witnessed great results while dealing with Woodson but my wife has been stepping in in a greater role and handling him as well. I can see that the skills Ruth brought to us have built my wife's confidence too. My younger kids are taking a leadership role as well just at a slower pace but they are displaying increased confidence! This has been an amazing experience to this point after just one training session, I look forward to the future with Ruth and future training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
Trainer note from Buck and Ruth : Thank you Adam. It was wonderful meeting your family and Woodson is a beautiful pup!! We look forward to working with all of you in the future.
review image
Janna W Saline, Michigan | March 08 2018
I can't say enough about the great skills Ruth taught to Jerry, and Buster and I! We had a ten person dinner party this evening which was a complete success thanks to you Ruth! God bless you! Buster exceeded our expectations and was quiet the entire evening and even enjoyed a bit of petting! We gladly endorse Bark Busters and refer to anyone we know who could benefit from your amazing skill set. A big thanks! Buster is an accomplished student of Ruth! He has transformed into a wonderful host at parties instead of a nervous bark all night puppy! Grateful for Bark Busters! 💜🐾 Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Separation anxiety, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter