Buck & Ruth Skinner dog training reviews

Buck & Ruth Skinner

Buck & Ruth Skinner

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Brittany C Saline, Michigan | July 16 2015
I am very pleased with Ruth and what she has done for Mya. Thankfully Ruth has been able to explain Mya's anxiety in a way that makes sense! Mya responded well to the first training session and I can't wait to see what the future sessions bring. I liked that the training equipment is not harmful and Ruth did not push medications or excessive exercise as solutions to Mya's anxiety as so many other professionals and vets have. Now I am able to communicate with my dog in a way that she understands which leads to a more relaxing atmosphere. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
review image
Bob & Ellen D Ypsilanti, Michigan | July 13 2015
Ruth is very patient with both dog and owners. She understands issues very well and is confident in her techniques. She is very interested in resolving problems and behaviors with both dog and owners !! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Patti M
Patti M Howell, Michigan | May 07 2015
I am so grateful and in such SHOCK! I HIGHLY recommend Bark Busters for dog training and corrective behavior. I especially HIGHLY recommend Ruth Skinner. She is AMAZING! I'm exhausted. I just spent and hour and a half being trained myself then working with Onyx (my 2 yr old German Shepherd male). I was successfully able to have her knock & ring the door bell on two separate attempts and Onyx did not charge the door nor BARK. He even actually sat down once I opened the door & he could see her. INCREDIBLE! We went out back too. He did really well being corrected and allowed her to get near the fence about 5 feet away. She then got my neighbor to come out to test him. My neighbor and the trainer stood in my neighbor's yard near her house and Onyx did quite well. My neighbor even told the trainer that he's drastically different. Background on my dog Onyx, we were attacked a couple times by two different sets of two dogs that got out of their yard. At 7 months old, the first attack by two pit bulls happened. My pup at the time protected me and scared them off. He hasn't been the same since. He's always on guard whenever anyone is outside or comes to the door. Prior to that attack, he was very social and everyone could be around him even multiple (100's of people at a time) and he'd just be very relaxed and social and even lay down. I want that dog back and Ruth has made such a difference in just an hour and a half. God bless her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other
Jacci D
Jacci D Brighton, Michigan | April 21 2015
My rescue dog Dunkn came from a puppy mill, he was a stud that lived in a cage. He had no idea what the outdoors was like, birds, squirrels or stairs. When outside he would stare, and drink the entire bowl of water, pace & jump on my screens at wildlife. I called Ruth who changed my life within the first 40 minutes. Often a dogs behavior is due to the owner. Ruth teaches you to be the best owner/leader for your best friend! He listens to commands because of Ruth and she taught us how to go for a walk not have him walk me. She helped with potty training, barking and rewarding him with high praise not treats! She is very caring about my concerns and very responsive. Thank you for changing my life Ruth! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Debra R
Debra R Brighton, Michigan | February 25 2015
I was becoming increasingly worried about my dog's fear aggression getting worse and also afraid of having an incident resulting in a dog bite. I googled home dog trainers and luckily clicked on Bark Busters. After my first session with Ruth, I saw results immediately. Coincidentally, within minutes after she left, an appraiser came to my home and I used one of the techniques that she taught me and IT WORKED! We still have more work to do, but for the first time (and I've tried other training programs with no success) I'm really excited and confident Mac will relax and not be fearful and always on guard duty ~ Thank you Ruth! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
review image
Allison B Ann Arbor, Michigan | January 10 2015
We were extremely happy with the two training sessions, both during the actual session and the results of the sessions. Ruth's methods were very effective for our sensitive and slightly anxious dog (as well as the more outgoing dog) and they were easy to execute. We were happy with all the time Rut spent listening to our concerns and then helping us practice the training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Separation anxiety
review image
Cheri G Brighton, Michigan | August 15 2014
I absolutely loved Bark Busters. It was extremely beneficial to be at home, as this is where I see most of the behavioral problems. We already tried classes at a local store, but those are only great for learning basic commands. At home, we were having a different set of problems. Cat chasing, an aggressive neighbor dog, door rushing, etc. It was wonderful having Ruth here to witness these issues and help guide me in training. I saw results instantly; and I walked away with an extensive knowledge base to build on. It has been 2 weeks now, and most of our issues are almost completely gone. If you are having a hard time getting your dog(s) to listen, do yourself a favor and try this program. I am very glad I did! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Cris G
Cris G Hartland, Michigan | August 10 2014
I have a 6 year old, 110 pound German Shepherd who is very sweet and fairly well-trained, but who is anxious and a little unpredictable around children. He's a very loud barker, with no real off-switch. He's recently started mouthing and nipping again, which was very concerning to me. Within the first session, Ruth was able to identify a number of behaviors Oliver was exhibiting and how I could correct. The truth of the matter is the person at the end of the leash is really the one who needs the coaching, and Ruth has been exceptional at leading me through what I need to do to make sure Oliver is relaxed so that my guests aren't afraid or in any danger. By the second session, Oliver became relaxed and was amazing....he stopped barking the moment I communicated with him; he retreated to his bed and watched me conduct business with a stranger in my home and seemed perfectly happy to "watch" and not try to protect me. He is beginning to trust that I have things under control. Even his 12-year old "big brother", a happy-go-lucky lab is beginning to get with the program and listen to what I have to say. If you are on the fence about Bark Busters -- for whatever reason -- I've asked Ruth to give you my number so I can tell you personally to NOT wait. Your will see improvements immediately. Under Ruth's guidance YOU will become the leader your canine friend needs and deserves. That's my goal, anyway. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
review image
Carolyn C Ann Arbor, Michigan | July 07 2014
I was very close to finding someone that would take my male boxer pup and give him the structure I was obviously not providing. I had just about reached the end of the training rope. Then, a friend of mine, who had been successful working with Ruth Skinner suggested I contact her. I learned a lot and Bodhi is now better - I no longer have to look for a new home for him. Thank you !!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
review image
Katie H Fenton, Michigan | June 18 2014
I was very nervous before our first session - I was embarrassed that I had let things get out of control with Bella, but Ruth put me at ease right away and the training was fun. It works !! I feel more confident and Bella seems eager to please and so attentive to me. I wish Ruth could move in for a month !!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter