Donald Cohen dog training reviews

Donald Cohen

Expert Dog Trainer, Donald Cohen

See below for all reviews for Donald Cohen, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Liz L Havertown, Pennsylvania | October 03 2016
We have 2 dogs, both almost 6 years old. They've spent the majority of their lives slowly taking over the household. Now that we also have a toddler, we decided it was time to take back control where we could. Donald has been great in helping us in that journey. In our first session, he listened to the problems we face with our pups (which include jumping on the baby's highchair during meals, pulling on the leash during walks and whining incessantly until they get their way) and offered guidance, providing hands-on help and making sure we understood the techniques and implemented them properly. In addition to helping us address the problems we knew existed, Donald also taught us behaviors to look out for that indicate our dogs are actually "training" us, which has been incredibly helpful in recognizing and addressing issues we weren't aware existed. The training requires consistency, work and patience, but we have made so much progress since Donald's first visit and have much less stress when it comes to the dogs, now that we have techniques that actually work to correct their negative behavior. He checks in frequently and is genuinely interested in our success. We enjoy working with him! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Toileting
Larry & Flo D
Larry & Flo D Springfield, Pennsylvania | August 08 2016
After 3 weeks we are pleased with how Don Cohen has provided us with the proper methods to communicate with our dog Max. Max had barking aggression towards visitors to our home, we have been working on this problem and he seems to be getting better with our commands. Through Don's help Max is much better with walking on a leash. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Sima K Newtown square, Pennsylvania | July 14 2016
As first time dog owners we were overwhelmed and didn't know where to start with training our very energetic puppy. Donald is very knowledgable and it certainly helps that our puppy, Emma, really likes him (and responds to him). Donald is a great communicator and always checks in on us and our progress with Emma. Slowly but surely we can see the sweet dog that she's going to grow up to be! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Debra M Havertown, Pennsylvania | May 08 2016
Don helped us understand our newly adopted Pit Bull. Penny was found roaming the streets of West Philadelphia and while we have been dog lovers and owners for more than 35 years, we had no experience (good or bad) with this breed. It was comforting and reassuring to get his opinion and to gain tools to help Penny adjust to her new home. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Breanne H ardmore, Pennsylvania | April 18 2016
We contacted Bark Busters to help us with our 1-year-old rescue dog. We mainly wanted help with leash training, especially our pup's reactivity to other dogs. Donald has been very helpful and showed us many easy-to-use techniques to improve our dog's behavior both on and off the leash. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Breanne H ardmore, Pennsylvania | April 18 2016
We contacted Bark Busters to help us with our 1-year-old rescue dog. We mainly wanted help with leash training, especially our pup's reactivity to other dogs. Donald has been very helpful and showed us many easy-to-use techniques to improve our dog's behavior both on and off the leash. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Cathy B Havertown, Pennsylvania | April 01 2016
We got Tank when he was an 8wk old Bernese Mountain puppy. We knew that he was going to be a very large dog so we wanted to make sure that he was well behaved from an early age. I called Bark Busters because neighbors has great success with them a few years ago. We really liked the idea of Tank being in his home atmosphere while learning. It was and is very convenient, Donald is very flexible with scheduling and is always available by email or phone. Donald trained us how to train Tank and the correct way of rewarding and reprimanding him. We practiced multiple exercises while he was at the house and he gave us detailed instructions on how to practice them once he left. He always told us to reach out at any point. I have emailed Donald on multiple occasions about a specific problem and he quickly emails me back with a training video or chat on the phone on how to correct specific behaviors. Tank is still a puppy at this point but he is much better behaved and is still learning. We are very happy with the results that we have seen so far. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
review image
Robert E Newtown Square, Pennsylvania | March 16 2016
Don Cohen is a very personable trainer, who makes himself available via phone or email. He has been very flexible, meeting our schedule needs for Ubu's training. He has been well received by Ubu. Most importantly, Ubu is responding well to the training in just a few short weeks. He has a way to go still, but is mellowing quickly and responding well to his new commands. He has adjusted well to the new training collar on his walks. It doesn't require a lot of time to practice what Don has taught us. We are extremely pleased that our Vet referred us to Don. Looking forward to working on other behavioral issues with Don. I highly recommend Don. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Recall
review image
Katie F Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | March 07 2016
Donald was extremely helpful with training for my dog Pelham. He had previously worked with us when I had relocated back to the Philadelphia area in June, however I recently relocated to a new apartment in the city and wanted a refresher on our training. Donald was very accommodating with scheduling and was able to set up a time quickly. The biggest issue I have with my dog is his aggressive barking when visitors enter my apartment, as well as barking at noises in the hallway. Donald worked with us on these issues as well as leash walking. Pelham was very responsive to the training and I immediately noticed positive improvements. Donald also sent a timely follow up email reviewing the key points of what we had gone over and what items to practice which was very helpful. I would definitely recommend his training services!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
review image
Timothy M Lansdale, Pennsylvania | March 06 2016
We have seen great results thanks to Donald from Barkbusters on our rescue, Hopper. Donald has been patient with us and Hopper as we work on his aggression, barking, and walking issues. From the first session where the entire process was thoroughly explained to the multiple follow up visits and emails Donald has been great to work with at every step. We were given a lot of useful information that has really made a difference in Hopper's behavior. We are very happy with Hopper's progress! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter