Greg Kleva dog training reviews

Greg Kleva

Expert Dog Trainer, Greg Kleva

See below for all reviews for Greg Kleva, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Yilun C Jersey City, New Jersey | February 06 2016
Very effective training! Immediate results in the first lesson! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Chris D Westwood, New Jersey | February 05 2016
Greg did an amazing job teaching us how to properly communicate with our dogs in a way that they already understood. I couldn't believe the difference in just a few hours! I was able to regain role as the leader and will continue to practice the easy yet effective exercises to make both our dogs life's and ours more enjoyable! This training works! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Neil B Ramsey, New Jersey | February 01 2016
We had Greg come to our house to help us with a few aggression issues we are having with our 6 month Springer Spaniel. Greg was very detailed and explained and guided us on how we can get the best behavior from Beckham. Within no time the jumping on visitors, going for the garbage and jumping up on the table subsided. Not 100% but this is only our second day after the training. The tips and advice are fantastic and really work. It's amazing how quickly a dogs behavior can change if you know how to guide them (and react appropriately). Understanding why a situation comes up allows us to better react to it. The last 2 nights were the first 2 nights in a while since we were able to sit at the dinner table without having to worry about a mouth slipping in-between us trying to take our dinner :-) It's still earlier days but if we do the homework that Greg left us with, I don't see any reason why the great behavior would not continue. I looked at a variety of dog trainers before selecting Greg and I am glad I took the time to make the right decision. Greg will be coming back in a couple of weeks to work on some other things with us. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management
Stacy G
Stacy G Bayonne, New Jersey | December 30 2015
I called in Greg for my dog Bella, whose behavior problems included jumping up on her human family and friends when she would see them. After a two hour visit with Greg she has stopped jumping up on people. We are practicing every day. During a recent visit, my aunt said, "Bella is so good now"! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling
Penny P
Penny P RiverVale, New Jersey | November 11 2015
Greg has been wonderful helping us train our 4 year old shih tzu who thought she had to be the protector of the family. Coco would make it to the door before us and bark uncontrollably at our guests. No one could hug me or get close to me because Coco would try to attack them. Greg taught us how to control Coco's need to protect and realize that she is only 10 pounds. We were able to correct this behavior and now Coco realizes that we are in charge and are capable of decision makers and leaders. Thank you Bark Busters!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other
Ashley R
Ashley R Hawthorne, New Jersey | November 06 2015
BarkBusters is great! Greg helped us with our dog Lennon, who was having behavioral problems and some anxiety. Greg gave us great tools and tricks to use for Lennon, and it's like we have the dog we always knew he could be! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Joanna H
Joanna H New Milford, New Jersey | November 05 2015
Finally, dog training that just "clicks" and makes sense!! Greg was so welcoming from the very first time we spoke to him via e-mail. My fiance and I contacted Greg because our 3 year old rescue pitbull, Lola, had started to chew on furniture and various items around the house when we would leave her alone. After a lot of research, we decided to set up a meeting with Greg. He asked us a few questions before meeting with us which I thought was very beneficial because he already had the story of what exactly was happening and what we had done so far to attempt to correct the behavior. He came to our house and spent 1.5 hours with us, talking to us and explaining what he does and why it works and then we went through the various techniques with Lola. She responded right away to his techniques! My fiance and I are so relieved that we now have great advice and have been taught techniques to help Lola make positive decisions versus making bad decisions and chewing on furniture! We also told Greg about our issue with toys, Lola chews all of them and they only last about a couple of hours before we have to put them in the garbage. He showed us the toy from Bark Busters called "Game Changer". Lola has been playing with it for hours and she is not able to destroy it yayy!! We highly recommend Greg to anyone looking for some extra support and help with their dog. He was professional, nice, and very educated! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Separation anxiety
John R
John R Wood Ridge, New Jersey | November 01 2015
Greg helped my girlfriend Elissa and I with two different dogs. Our first, a three year old border collie/black lab mix rescue named Bear, was having trouble adjusting to his new home, and we weren't sure of how to exercise leadership best. Greg walked us through basic behavioral training, and not only demonstrated clearly to us how training techniques should be applied, but really taught us how to consistently and effectively apply each individual technique. Bear was having trouble with pulling on the leash outside, jumping up on guests, disobeying commands, as well as with general anxiety within the home. Since working with Greg, Bear is now practically the perfect companion! He's very attentive, and Greg's lessons in leadership and maintenance have consistently allowed us to reinforce positive behavior. He no longer pulls on the leash, and walks soundly next to us like a dream. He used to jump on every person he met; now, it's barely ever an issue-- and what little of it is left, we're able to correct out of him. He's responsive, eager to please, and perhaps most importantly, just as loving and affectionate as he was before training. Our second, an eight year old rescue pug named Oliver, was brought into our household from his old home. His previous owner was dealing with rather complicated medical issues, and felt they were no longer able to provide Oliver with the care he deserved. Oliver transitioned into our home well, but in moving from one loving household to another, he still experienced some stress. He was eager to jump onto furniture, couldn't be left alone, and would whimper constantly if he didn't have his way. Additionally, he hadn't been trained in obedience, and we needed to learn how best to address disciplining an older dog. Greg easily walked us through the steps, and taught us a few new techniques to use to help Oliver to relax, ease into his new space, and to recognize and follow our leadership. We only just recently adopted Oliver, but after one session with Greg, we've already seen marked improvement! He no longer whines and cries, but is instead fully obedient and patient. We've been slowly teaching him new commands and tricks, which he's been responding well to. All in all, Greg has been an excellent help with both of our dogs. He's responsive and easy to coordinate with, and he always shows up eager to help. He's provided us with a number of lessons, as well as supplemental equipment, and is always willing to further recommend other products and services that may help. His lessons are easy to follow, hands on, and have always shown immediate effectiveness. We've learned a lot from him, and will definitely continue to! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Christine F Dumont, New Jersey | October 31 2015
I don't even know where to start. My husband and I adopted our then 7 month old potcake from NSAL who was fearful and reactive. This is my husband first pet and the 2nd dog I've had. At the shelter his fearfulness and re activeness wasn't as obvious, we knew we would need to work with him but we didn't realize how much until about the 2nd week we had him. I had trained my previous dog on my own and thought I could with Hunter but I quickly realized we needed help, so we got a trainer. Hunter would bark at anyone and everything, try to nip (especially visitors at home), he would whine constantly, potty training was a struggle (he was house broken but would only go on walks, not in the backyard in a specific spot), he chewed 2 pairs of shoes and a coffee table, jump on the sofa only when we weren't home, was scared of the AC or heat turning on, would pull on leash and bark at everyone and everything, and who can remember what else... So the trainer told us to give him treats ALL THE TIME..When people would come over - constant treats - during walks - constant treats - when he barks - constant treats!! TREATS TREATS TREATS.. as you could guess it didn't work. He would vomit from so many treats and it wasn't good for his health. I literally followed every instruction the trainer gave us perfectly to avoid any issues, I was crazy about it (my poor hubby!!). He and I would argue over Hunter. After about 3/4 months no real changes, living with Hunter was a nightmare and he and I didn't know what to do. We couldn't enjoy walks, have friends or family over, or enjoy our new home! I wanted a dog to bring joy to our lives, I wanted my husband to experience the love a person can have for a dog and a dog towards a person. I had such a wonderful experience with my first dog, also a rescue, that I wanted that again. Needless to say my husband was sick and tired of being sick and tired of Hunter, and honestly, I was getting there too. The shelter told us he was adopted once before and returned because the new owners couldn't deal with him, I remember thinking what a**holes would do that .. and now I was thinking of doing the same..I figured lets try one more trainer and if that doesn't work there was nothing else we could do, we could at least say we did our best. I had to convince my hubby to spend money yet again on training, not an easy thing to do! We both agreed it was the last chance. After our first session with Greg all 3 of our lives changed. I honestly can't say enough good things, he changed everything for us. Hunter is happy and healthy, and we love spending time with him. We now go on hikes, long walks, play in the back yard, have friends over, all without worrying! He went from barking whenever a guest would stand up to go to the bathroom, to waiting by the couch as they entered and then greeting them! He will never be that super friendly dog (which we are ok with) but we can have friends over and not worry. He even stayed with my parents for 2 weeks while we were out of the country and they had NO problems with him! Not to mention they always have people over their house! The best is that Hunter can relax and enjoy his life, he doesn't have to be fearful, and we are so proud to be part of the change in him. I once feared he would bite someone and we would need to put him down..That is not a worry anymore. I know how to be best pet parent for him and what he needs, my husband and I know how to help him navigate through the world. We rescued him but Greg helped us save him. I know this is a long review but we had a tough time and this was our last shot. I honestly can't thank Greg enough. The change has been incredible and it has only been a couple months, people aren't kidding when they see changes in day 1..We didn't think we would but holy cow, instantly we saw a change. And with more work the change continued. We are still working for him and will always have to but even friends say "he is a completely different dog". We finally have the happy little family we wanted. THANK YOU GREG Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Toileting
review image
Valerie K Old Tappan, New Jersey | October 11 2015
We adopted Bear, a 3 year old shelter dog with fear aggression and behavior issues, and had tried another trainer with no success. A friend recommended Greg at Bark Busters and we are amazed at our results! After just one session, Bear was no longer jumping up on us, waking us up during the night, and would come inside when called. He also tolerates guests in our home rather than growling at them! We also noticed an unexpected but very welcome side effect --Bear seems happier and more confident- he is a more playful, tail wagging, happy dog!! Hard to believe it only took one session! Thanks Greg!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter